We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“allows you to bring your own wine”
Review of Silk Mill Grille

Silk Mill Grille
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We serve American style food including our exceptional Baked French Onion soup, homemade Crab Dip and Spinach Dip, Hand cut 100% Angus Beef Steaks, slow cooked Baby Back Ribs, filling Pasta dishes, and daily specials. As of August 2009 we are a non-smoking restaurant inside with an accommodating outdoor patio smoking section. For fresh homemade food and a casual friendly atmosphere the Silk Mill Grille is the place to go. We offer lunch and dinner Tuesday through Friday and Dinner Saturday and Sunday. We look forward to your visit.
Frbg
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“allows you to bring your own wine”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Above average food with good atmosphere. A big plus is they allow you to bring your own bottle of wine for a $10 corkage fee.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    89
    42
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cute atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place is located in what used to be an actual silk factory, and showcases a bunch of local, historical decor. Prices were reasonable and the food was good, though my salmon was overcooked. My guest had the crab cake & shrimp and remarked about how good the crab cake was. The spinach and artichoke dip was very tasty. Our server was nice enough but didn't go out of her way to be friendly. Given how few restaurants there are in Orange, this seems like one of the better options. We had a nice meal here and would come back.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ARoomWithAReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Top, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Really cool building - pretty good food. Try the soup!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The restaurant is in an old factory building, really neat to look at. Lots of old 'tools' and implements around the dining rooms.

The meal was good - actually the pulled pork BBQ was pretty amazing. Previous reviews said the food was frozen -well, the BBQ sure wasn't. We also had a good cheeseburger platter (now to be fair, the fries were frozen - but still very hot and crispy).

One standout is the French Onion Soup (which we ate in July on a 98 degree day!). In a traditional crock bowl, the cheese was oozing over the sides and baked on. Great browning on the top, and the bread slice was very tasty. A real find for such a small town place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheGrandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food / service”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

On vacation in the Fredericksburg area week of June 16. Went to visit Monticello on the 17th and of course had to stop at the local Harley store. Talking with the IT guy and he recommended several places for dinner. We stopped at the Silk Mill Grille. Easy to locate. There were 5 of us of which 2 are picky eaters. Two of us had the same meal. Everything was very good. The fish was excellent (and that's from one of the picky eaters.) Our food was brought out in a very reasonable time. The salad was fresh not limpy as some places I've had; yuck! The food was hot, very good. We even had dessert. The cobbler/ice cream was wonderful. Waitress was attentive but not overbearing as some can be. She kept us in plenty of drinks (non-alcholic I might add). There is an outsde patio area which with the string of lightings I would imagine would look very nice at night. We were there about 6:30 pm. We had a great dinner, great experience, and would definitely go back again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not order seafood”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The atmosphere is not so bad and the service was okay. The food was aweful to say the least! Frozen, badly cooked seafood was what we received. It was the only place open on Sunday which is how we ended up here. We would never go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drewtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silk Mill Grille also viewed

 

Been to Silk Mill Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing