We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Get-Away!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn on Poplar Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on Poplar Hill
Ranked #6 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome Get-Away!!!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Although we live close, it was far enough away to call it a great break for the weekend. Marty and Victoria made sure we had everything we needed and even made some recommendations for places to visit. He also called and made a reservation for us at a local restaurant. It was a quaint place for a quick get away at a reasonable price. My wife and I had a GREAT time. Oh, and the "game room" is a must visit!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GreysenJamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    33
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
153
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had a great stay in the blue willow room for our weekend elopement! Marty and Victoria were fantastic and made the weekend stress free and memorable. The food and service was wonderful, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanieElana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This was our first stay at a B&B and we will be back. Marty and Victoria are absolutely wonderful hosts that made us feel welcome the moment we walked through the door and sad when we had to say good-bye. The Inn had all the quaintness and charm we had hoped to find. We enjoyed the walking trail on-site and it served as a great launching point for the Montpelier grounds. We attended the wine festival on 03 May and opted for the picnic lunch the Inn offered. The picnic was so plentiful we could not finish it, but so tasty, we made every effort to get one more bite. The breakfast both days was also well beyond expectations. My wife and I cannot say enough good things about the Inn, the Innkeepers, or our stay; please join them and experience the wonders of Inn on Poplar Hill first hand, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, the blue willow room is closest to the road and may not be the best choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The Inn is beautiful and has very nice surroundings. The innkeepers are very friendly and breakfast was exceptional. There's a nice 3/4 mi. trail on the property. Our room was very nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable. The restaurant they recommended was within walking distance and the food was delicious.

Room Tip: We loved the Rose Room which also had a sitting area on the outside that was part of the room area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed at the Inn on Poplar Hill this past weekend (3 May - 4 May) with my girlfriend after attending the VA gold cup races. She and I had a wonderful time at the B&B. The house is beautiful and sits on 20-something acres with walking trails and hammocks. The owners are wonderful and accommodating. They greeted us with cupcakes and gave us a tour of the house and grounds. Later they recommended a place nearby for dinner, which was fantastic. Between the restaurant and breakfast the next morning, they made our stay memorable at this beautifully quaint inn. I'd stay there again and have recommended this b&b to my friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had a fabulous visit at the Inn at Poplar Hill! The history of this Inn is amazing! The rooms are beautifully furnished with period antiques and the host and hostess are beyond friendly and welcoming. They go out of their way to make you feel at home and welcome. Breakfast was amazing - the best we have ever had at a B & B. The game room was an added bonus as we enjoyed the possibility of playing pool and watching a large screen TV to catch the final 4 basketball games. The grounds are lovely, inviting a stroll through lovely paths or just sitting by the pond and enjoying the view. We loved this place and plan to go back for another visit!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Marty and Victoria are great hosts, the rooms are beautiful, comfy beds, a nice game room for entertainment, a hearty gourmet breakfast, and it is located in a very quaint town with lots of great wineries nearby.There are several trails on the 28 acre property for hiking. Also, the home of James Madison, Montpelier, is only a few miles away and is a very interesting place to visit.

Room Tip: (No fitness center or swimming pool)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
0.5 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
0.4 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Poplar Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Poplar Hill

Property: Inn on Poplar Hill
Address: 278 Caroline St, Orange, VA 22960-1541
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on Poplar Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 28 acres in the historic town of Orange, Virginia. The 6 guest rooms are decorated with comfort in mind, amenities include: firm luxury bedding, private baths, whirlpool tubs, steam shower, hot tub, billiards, fire pit, and over 2 miles of walking trails through old growth and wild flower meadows. A bountiful breakfast is included with your stay. A short country drive to wineries, and James Madison’s Presidential Home, Montpelier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Inn on Poplar Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing