We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most welcoming B&B in Orange, Virginia”
Review of Inn on Poplar Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on Poplar Hill
Ranked #6 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 18, 2008

We celebrated our 30th anniversary with a trip to the lovely town of Orange, Virginia, located near Charlottesville.

I had chosen a B&B located close to town with a beautiful historic home on many acres. We were not disappointed!

Marty welcomed us when we rang the bell and showed us upstairs to our room, the Victorian Rose. It was late afternoon and he offered menus and suggestions for dinner and offered to make reservations. He also invited us to have some homemade cookies and a cup of tea or coffee.

Breakfast the next morning, prepared by Victoria, was a delight!
Oatmeal souffle and fresh juices and fruit was followed by a choice of 2 hot entrees, and we chose to have half portions of each, as many guests do! Victoria is a very creative chef!

Breakfasts the next two mornings were delicious as well. We ate outside once more and one morning ate in the lovely dining room.

Our room was very comfortable and private, with a sitting area outside the room.

The Inn is well located for visiting the renovated home of James Madison, Montpelier, and the inn offers a discount on the tickets.

Victoria was eager to share suggestions of antiquing in the area and I was especially happy with her suggestion of Ruckersville, only a few miles away:)

All in all, it was a very pleasant and relaxing stay and we plan on visiting again.

Al and Carol, Arlington, Virginia

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ladynred240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 246 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2008

We spent two nights at this lovely inn during U of VA graduation weekend. Victoria and Marty went out of their way to create lasting memories. Their property, tucked away in the town of Orange, was convenient to many tourist attractions. We'll never forget the oatmeal souffle and broiled grapefruit served in front of a working fireplace. The kids have moved on now, but we just found another excuse to travel to this breathtaking countryside!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolor53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

The Inn on Poplar Hill was a terrific place to spend our Labor Day Weekend! The house sits on several acres of property and has extensive walking trails and beautiful scenery.

We were greeted promptly upon are arrival by Marty and Victoria and received dinner recommendations for that evening -- they even made us a reservation!

The house is lovely with endless locations to relax -- whether it be in the hammock, in the hot-tub, on the front or back porches or the various benches throughout the property.

Breakfast was AMAZING; endless variety and served piping hot with top notch service.

We enjoyed chatting with our innkeepers and fellow travelers, playing pool in the game room, visitng local wineries (all very close by); spending a day at nearby Lake Anna and seeing James Madison's home, Montpelier.

We highly recommend the Inn on Poplar Hill to anyone traveling to the Charlottesville area!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cahillgoecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

My mother and I stayed at the Inn on Poplar Hill for two nights while exploring historic sites and wineries in VA en route to NC; it was our first stop on a two-week trip, and we could not have been happier with our choice.

Victoria's breakfasts were amazing -- especially all the berries from the property! Marty was an excellent host, giving us tips on local things to do, and providing us with directions that would take us down the most scenic of routes. The Inn is perfectly situation for exploring not only Montpelier and Orange, but also Charlottesville, Monticello, etc.

I've already told a friend from DC that she and her husband should plan a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emblebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at Poplar Hill. We were there at the peak of berry picking season and I had to stop myself from picking too many berries. It was great!

I do wish that I had been more attuned that our room's private bath was only accessed by an outside hall, so we didn't have as much privacy as I had thought.

The breakfast was great and the hosts warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank martylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

We have just returned from a lovely weekend in the Virginia Wine Country around the Charlottsville area. We stayed at the Inn on Poplar Hill in Orange run by a wonderful couple, Victoria and Marty. It is a unique B & B experience which offers the comforts and elegance of a beautiful old mansion with the addition of a large game room with a pool table and games ( Wii was alot of fun ) Victoria and Marty are warm, gracious hosts ( fabulous breakfasts) who made our stay special. Thanks
Carole and Ken

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TitaPicasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

This was our first experience together at a B&B although we each had had this experience some years ago in our "other life", that is, before we were married to each other. For my husband, breakfast is the key to a good hotel, and certainly that would be a selling point in this case.
Victoria and Marty were excellent hosts. We had interesting conversations with them several times during our stay. It is obvious they love being B&B hosts!
We were given a choice one morning of mushroom-and-gouda omelets or whole-grain French toast. This was served with crisp link sausage. Yummy! This was preceded by fresh apricot bread (served hot) and cantaloupe with blackberries. The coffee was excellent (my husband said) and for me, the tea drinker, I had my choice of about a dozen different teas. The second morning we were given a banana-nut muffin, crispy on the outside, and not overwhelmingly banana (for which I was very glad), followed by fresh (!) pineapple with honey-lime sauce. Then we had a choice of blackberry pancakes or eggs any style. These came with crisp bacon (5 strips for the two of us). Needless to say, my husband was a happy camper, or should I say a happy B&Ber!
This Inn was built in 1891 and belonged to the granddaughter of Thomas Jefferson. While it has been used many different ways through the years, Victoria and Marty have furnished it with period furniture yet modern conveniences (such as king and queen sized beds and delightful bathrooms), made the front porch inviting with rocking chairs, swing, and even cats to pet! We loved our weekend there and will certainly return!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SunnyFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
15.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.4 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Poplar Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Poplar Hill

Address: 278 Caroline St, Orange, VA 22960-1541
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: $159 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on Poplar Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 28 acres in the historic town of Orange, Virginia. The 6 guest rooms are decorated with comfort in mind, amenities include: firm luxury bedding, private baths, whirlpool tubs, steam shower, hot tub, billiards, fire pit, and over 2 miles of walking trails through old growth and wild flower meadows. A bountiful breakfast is included with your stay. A short country drive to wineries, and James Madison’s Presidential Home, Montpelier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Inn on Poplar Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing