We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”
Review of Inn on Poplar Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn on Poplar Hill
Ranked #6 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We went here for a girl's weekend and enjoyed the delicious food, exceptional customer service, and enjoyable game room. There were a couple quirky things that you might expect from a 100+ year old house, but for the price, they could be overlooked. Marty and Victoria shared the many large, cozy common rooms (game room, living room, and dining room) and very generously had chocolate chip cookies available all day, plus a delicious chocolate cake for dessert one night!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    33
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
154
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Five of us stayed the weekend at Marty & Victoria's Inn on Poplar Hill. Definitely a delight and welcome retreat. We were able to hang out together in the pool hall area, scrapbooking, relaxing, etc. Although, the nearby wineries were such a treat, and as an added bonus, they provided passes to nearby wineries, saving some of the tasting fees (well appreciated!) The food was delicious and the beds, so comfortable. Great night sleep and the steam shower - FABULOUS!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I spent Valentines weekend at the Inn. The room we occupied was the Library room. The bed was the best part of the room, nice linens and very comfy, however the shower/bathtub is located in the corner of the room and it was odd. There was ants in the toilet area . The room was sparsely lit and the TV was very small, but who goes to an Inn to watch TV? The breakfast served was eggs Benedict with strawberry crepes, both were cold. I expected that the breakfast should have been exceptional. Marty and Victoria were very pleasant, maybe it was the season.

Room Tip: maybe the upper rooms were cleaner and well lighted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrantfah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My sister and mother were interested in a Bed and Breakfast that was close to wineries. We were so lucky to have stayed at the Inn on Poplar Hill. Being the first time any of us had ever gone wine tasting before, we were clueless. Marty helped us with everything. He even mapped our trip out for us. His hospitality was superior! The Inn was precious and the breakfast was delicious! We are looking forward to another trip back, and we will be staying at the Inn on Poplar Hill. The Magnolia Room was charming and big enough for the all three of us. We had an amazing time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mfjackso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was an absolutely WONDERFUL trip! The room was fantastic, the hospitality of the owners was beyond superb, and the breakfasts were delicious! Will definitely be going back again for another stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Inn on Poplar Hill is a wonderful place to stay. Marty and his wife are always ready and attentive with any requests/questions you may have. Great location-easy walk to downtown Orange. Take advantage of this terrific B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have read a few reviews, and while I agree that the job of running an Inn is a huge undertaking, not everyone wants or needs to stay in the "perfect" place. Marty and Victoria are friendly, try to help people plan their stays, and succeed remarkably well, given that is is just the two of them. My room, the Rose Room, had a small sitting area and a bedroom and a private bath attached. I also saw the other rooms, which were nicely done - especially the bedding and art quilts. The weather turned cold while I was there and my room is on a separate system of heat but Marty made sure I was warm, and arranged one day for me to tour the house next door, my Grandparents house from mid 1930 -1970. I also had spent time in the house they made into an Inn, and can honestly say, given the age of the houses, that both places looked a LOT better and in no way exude being run down to me - perhaps shabby chic, though even that is stretching it. It is an OLD house. Victoria is a very good cook, and I concur the egg/gouda/asparagus dish for breakfast is wonderful. Think of this a a visit to a friendly family place, not a showplace - and it is priced accordingly.

Room Tip: The Magnolia Room fits families - the pictures and descriptions on the website are accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.5 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.4 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Greenock Manor
Greenock Manor
#7 of 8 in Orange
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Poplar Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Poplar Hill

Property: Inn on Poplar Hill
Address: 278 Caroline St, Orange, VA 22960-1541
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on Poplar Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 28 acres in the historic town of Orange, Virginia. The 6 guest rooms are decorated with comfort in mind, amenities include: firm luxury bedding, private baths, whirlpool tubs, steam shower, hot tub, billiards, fire pit, and over 2 miles of walking trails through old growth and wild flower meadows. A bountiful breakfast is included with your stay. A short country drive to wineries, and James Madison’s Presidential Home, Montpelier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn on Poplar Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing