We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!”
Review of Inn on Poplar Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn on Poplar Hill
Ranked #6 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a beautiful Victorian style bed-and-breakfast with wonderful surroundings. Each bedroom is distinctly themed with Victorian furnishings.The hosts, Marty and Victoria, really make it a relaxing home atmosphere throughout your stay, and the breakfast was absolutely fantastic: we've stayed at luxury hotels that couldn't compare to Victoria's recipes and service. Four stars all the way. We can't wait for a return visit in the springtime.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomC845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Inn on Poplar Hill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 243 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was my 1st time at a B&B and it couldn't have been better! We were welcomed by Marty upon our arrival on Friday evening, given a brief tour of our room and the Game Room, then went off for dinner (review of Elmwood at Sparks on this site). Upon our return, we relaxed in front of the fire in the Game Room with good music and wine. The bed was so comfy in our room (not sure which one), and my dog was most welcome (a real ++ for us). Marty brought coffee & tea to the door in the morning, then we went to the Game Room for breakfast. It was AMAZING!! Victoria is a wonderful cook - lemon/blueberry souffle, baked apples, scrambled eggs with gouda & asparagus, cinammon raisin toast. Great conversation during breakfast.

We then walked around the trails to the pond, stream, maze and sat on the swing under the arbor. It was a beautiful day, so our plans to visit Barboursville were put on hold while we relaxed with Thomas, the black cat.

Our only regret was that we didn't get to take advantage of the spa/rain shower in the bathroom! Next time! We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendieW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

As a last-minute decision on a Fall three-day weekend, I booked a room at the Inn on Poplar Hill. I called on Saturday evening, and less than 24-hours later, my dog and I were relaxing in the Black Walnut room. As a young woman traveling alone and my first time at a Bed & Breakfast, I could not have asked for a better arrangement!
The room had a very deep tub -- perfect for soaking! The king-size bed and heavy quilts were very cozy. And my dog absolutely loved the day bed under a first-floor window (he likes to know what is happening outside). After visiting a dog-friendly winery (Marty's recommendation) and loading up on delicious local bbq (also Marty's recommendation), my dog and I curled up in front of the fire, laid out in the yard under the stars, and sat under a big tree full of tea lights. If only I had left time for the rocking chairs on the front porch.
In the morning, my dog and I wandered the 28-acre property, and apparently we walked almost 2 miles! Be sure to explore all the little paths -- you might find a hidden hammock or pretty creek! Plus, my dog made friends with Thomas the cat (who likes to sleep in the middle of the driveway, so be careful when pulling up to the house!).
Victoria and Marty are amazing hosts, and their love for the area is shown in their knowledge of things to do. Plus, the breakfast was one of the best I have ever enjoyed!

Room Tip: The Black Walnut room had a private entrance, which was perfect for taking my dog out!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzard639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We recently spent a weekend at the Inn in the Magnolia Room. Marty and Victoria were welcoming and so kind. They had wonderful advise about all of the local restaurants and attractions (especially the local wineries). The homemade breakfast was absolutely wonderful; you can tell they spend a lot of time planning and preparing such a wonderful meal. The property and grounds are gorgeous. There are trails you can walk, ponds you can spend time sitting around, and a game room for hanging out before bed. The only suggestion I would have is to update the shower in the bathroom. While the clawed tub has an awesome historical feel, showering in it was difficult, especially for a tall person or a person who has problems with hopping in and out. The room could also have used a bit of a dusting. Overall, a great experience and would definitely recommend to everyone wanting great service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BookJunkie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a great stay at the Inn on Poplar Hill. Marty and Victoria were such great host. Our room was nice and clean. We made good use of the walking trails that Marty has cut thru the property. Not only did we have breakfast each morning, but we HAD BREAKFAST. Victoria surprised us each morning with a great way to start our day. Both Marty and Victoria were great with things to do in the area and giving us good ideas for dinner. We cant wait to return again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaron279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We are a couple with busy lives at home and really wanted to get away from it all. Marty and Victoria spoiled us by attending to every detail. They were wonderful resources for Virginia wine country and great Boosters for their quaint town of Orange. We stayed in the garden room and We used the Mr steam shower daily! What a wonderful invention! SO relaxing and so easy to use.
Finally the food was to die for....Victoria gives you the best options but if you want it all half sweet ans half salty is always available. Beautiful antiques and comfortable beds PLUS fresh homemade cookies and brownies....what more could you ask for!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Olayinka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed with Marty and Victoria for two nights on our way to Washington DC. We stayed in the Magnolia Room which was spacious with a great roll top bath (with shower). Marty and Victoria are excellent hosts, nothing is too much trouble and they made our stay very special. There is an amazing steam shower in the bathroom for the Garden Room. Victoria is a wonderful cook and the gourmet breakfasts are so different and very tasty. On recommendation we visited two great local wineries (Barboursville - the largest and Reynaud Florence - the smallest). At the Inn there are lovely grounds, a games room and deck where we spent one evening watching the flora and fauna of North America including two of the family cats chasing each other and play fighting. All in all a very relaxed and enjoyable experience. We would definitely stay there again and will recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazrat92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.4 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Greenock Manor
Greenock Manor
#7 of 8 in Orange
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Poplar Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Poplar Hill

Address: 278 Caroline St, Orange, VA 22960-1541
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: $158 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on Poplar Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 28 acres in the historic town of Orange, Virginia. The 6 guest rooms are decorated with comfort in mind, amenities include: firm luxury bedding, private baths, whirlpool tubs, steam shower, hot tub, billiards, fire pit, and over 2 miles of walking trails through old growth and wild flower meadows. A bountiful breakfast is included with your stay. A short country drive to wineries, and James Madison’s Presidential Home, Montpelier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn on Poplar Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing