We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good”
Review of Elmwood at Sparks - CLOSED

Elmwood at Sparks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We visit Orange occasionally for R&R and always try to eat at Elmwood at Sparks once during our visit. It is consistently good and one of our favorite Virginia restaurants. The menu selections tend to be limited to a relatively few items, but they span the scope of practically anything we would want, so that is fine. Some of the selections change to allow for some creativity and variation in items. The wine selection is broad enough to find something good. Food preparation is normally excellent. Portions are of a good size, not too large as at some places.We tried a different dessert this time, a superb rhubarb crisp with ice cream.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank psj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    46
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband and I visited the restaurant for our five year anniversary. We were surprised and impressed to see our names and a welcome message to us at the top of our menus! Very sweet :o) Everything we ordered was cooked to perfection. We will definitely visit this restaurant again! Thank you!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The service and ambiance were great. Not fancy, but nice. The fillet steaks were phenomenal. The salad was great too. We didn't have dessert. A very nice experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great for lunch and dinner”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Have been here twice for lunch and dinner. They have limited hours and days but a causal but elegant space with very friendly staff. All the food has been excellent and as we visit orange several times a year we consider it one of the better restaurants in the area when do not eat in at the willow grove.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank frank r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
255 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stopped in with a family member for lunch, delicious salad & quiche, staff very welcoming, spotless restrooms.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kesh_grammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elmwood at Sparks also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing