We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th Wedding Anniversary Dinner 4-26-14”
Review of Elmwood at Sparks - CLOSED

Elmwood at Sparks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
mechanicsville,VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“25th Wedding Anniversary Dinner 4-26-14”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This place is amazing! Elmwood at Sparks was recommended to us by the innkeepers at the Inn on Poplar Hill. They made the reservation for us. When we arrived, our menus were custom printed at the top with "Happy 25th Anniversary, Stacie and Jeff". What a nice surprise!! They gave us the menus to take home as souvenirs. The atmosphere was wonderful, service was great, and the food was to die for! I had the filet, which you didn't have to cut and it melted in your mouth. Perfect! My husband had the tile fish and fried oysters. All of the flavors in both entrees complimented each other so well. It was just delicious!! We are still talking about how everything was so good! My husband even called them to tell them how much we enjoyed everything!!! I would highly recommended dining at this establishment and we hope to go back again soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goldngirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    46
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manistee, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We dined at Elmwood at Sparks just a few hours after getting married nearby. We were very surprised by the congratulatory message on the menus! The service was attentive but not overbearing, and the dinner was phenomenal. The restaurant is small and intimate, and priced extremely reasonably. We'll return when we're back in Orange!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and I spent several days touring the Charlottesville, Virginia area and stayed in Orange. I honestly don't know how we found Elmwood on Sparks but however we arrived there we couldn't be more grateful or delighted. A friendly staff welcomed us and the wait staff was knowledgeable, well trained and the service was excellent.. Food presentation is always a nice touch and at Elmwood at Sparks each dish was beautifully plated and very attractive. But, of course whenever you visit a restaurant the food is key to a wonderful dining experience and this time it was fabulous, We so enjoyed everything we ordered and wished we could have tried more of the offerings! It was certainly a matter of coveting thy neighbors dinner. We have traveled and eaten in restaurants all over the world, but for our money Elmwood on Sparks is second to none. We hope we can return one day soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dfl406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Meal!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My mother and I visited Orange, VA for an extended weekend and asked several locals to point us in the direction of a good restaurant. The first recommendation we received was for Elmwood at Sparks, and we were blown away with how delicious the meal was! On Thursday evenings they boast a 3 courses for $35 special which is fantastic! My mom and I both ordered the Filet Mignon and it was DELICIOUS! Great wine list, as well as delicious desserts. Highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tunismills13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A gem for a quiet dinner out or a private party.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have eaten here a number of times for special occasions and special events. The service is lovely and the good surpasses that of other restaurants in the area in the same price range.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelrookie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elmwood at Sparks also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing