We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinner”
Review of Elmwood at Sparks - CLOSED

Elmwood at Sparks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This location had been recommened to us by the Mayhurst Bed and Breakfast. And we are so glad they did! We were in town on a "working vacation" and for our 26th Wedding Anniversary. This wonderful restaurant is warm and inviting. The staff was friendly and open to conversations. The food was just out of this world! The menu was what I would have expected at a top end restaurant in New York City! We were a late reservation, but were treated as extra special guests. We would highly recommend a stop here for dinner! Get the pumpkin ice cream! It is to die for!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    46
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Purcellville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small and Excellent- never a bad meal!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just love this restaurant. The cuisine is excellent and the service has always been great. We generally eat here for only special occasions as it is not inexpensive but I can honestly say I have never had a bad meal. Their menu changes frequently but you can pull it up on their website. I would rather enjoy one good meal here than a couple of less expensive ones elsewhere. The location and staff are friendly and quirky just like the people in Orange! Love the local artwork. Our waitress has been there for 4 years which is pretty unusual for the restaurant biz so that says something about the management! The food is fresh, creative and the portion sizes are perfect so go, enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annacabana1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Local Dining”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We eat lunch here often. Choose from items listed on the blackboard and you'll not be disappointed. 'Been here a few times too, for dinner. They go to some trouble to make the place cozy in the evenings with low lighting, cloth table linens and a great menu, so if you come for lunch you can be assured that the dinner atmosphere is even better. If you're in Orange - try this place. You won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eldie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent !!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of dining at this restaurant. Terrific food and great service. We took advantage of the Thursday night special 3 course meal which included salad, entre and desert. They kindly packaged one of the deserts (including sauce) to take home for later. A really pleasant surprise to find in Orange Virginia. We were there as a couple but the atmosphere would be wonderful to meet friends or parents.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CGA8401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordonsville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Amazing boutique restaurant in Orange, Virginia. Food is extremely fresh and AMAZING. Chef Randy is extremely creative and serves only the best. This is our favorite "white linen" restaurant around.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elmwood at Sparks also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing