We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Orange
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express for two nights while visiting Monticello and Montpelier. It is located just outside of Orange, VA, on top of a hill, which gives beautiful views of the nearby Blue Ridge Mountains. A beautiful sunset can be seen from the back patio of the hotel, and the same view in the morning featured mist in the valleys. A large window on the second floor of the hotel offers the best vantage point.

The room was comfortable and clean. The bed contained several pillows, so you should be able to find one that is perfect for you. The bed itself was harder than some others I've had in other Holiday Inn Expresses, but it didn't keep me from sleeping! There was a small refrigerator, which was quiet, and a microwave. The AC/heating unit was typically noisy, as they seem to be in most hotel rooms.

There was a lot of variety at breakfast, including biscuits and gravy -- my guilty pleasure. The breakfast room overlooks the mountains and is well-supplied and maintained. In the afternoon, cookies and coffee are available.

Everyone on the staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. All in all, I enjoyed the stay and would definitely stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Orange, VA again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the hotel have the best views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaSoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 213 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on the 9/9/13. I booked this hotel after reading reviews on TA and no regrets. Arrived very late at night and check-in was quick and easy. I had requested a room on the second floor which I did get but not the views I had expected. Instead of views of the rolling hills our room over looked the car park so make sure you specify that if you want views of the hills. Main reason to stay in the area was to visit Charlottesville. It was a half hour drive so bear that in mind as we were under the impression its very close. The views are lovely!! They serve complimentary breakfast which was basic but good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Afshan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I travel over 100+ nights a year for my job and it's was so nice to find an amazing Holiday Inn Express virtually in the Virginia countryside. I was a little concerned booking a hotel in rural Virginia, but my concerns were put aside when I was greeted when I walked in the door and went upstairs to the 2nd floor. The views were amazing. This hotel has huge windows on the backside for an amazing view of the mountains and countryside.

My rooms with kitchenette was great because it was fully stocked with plates, silverware and glassware. Made my one night stay a little easier since I brought food along for the trip.

Rooms were comfy, clean, fairly updated. My biggest complaint is the low wattage light bulbs hotels are using in the rooms now. Since it was fairly dark at 7pm due to the rain I had to turn on at least four lights to even read a magazine. So room lighting is POOR!

There are some places to eat nearby and the hotel front desk had all the menus available for viewing and to help you make a choice.

I would stay here again if I am in the area.

Room Tip: If you are there for more than one night, request a room on the backside of the hotel (even numbered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orreo5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our trip to Virginia to visit Monticello and Mt Vernon. This was a great place to stay and relax after a day sightseeing. We were able to visit the 1st, 3rd and the 4th presidents home form this location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelby30375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I am an event designer and was in Orange to do a wedding at one of the local inns. When my biz partner told me she had booked us rooms at the HEI bc there was not enough rooms at the inn, I did not really expect to be "wow"ed, but this particular location has stunning views, very clean rooms, a friendly staff, and a great breakfast. Several wedding guests also stayed here and I only heard good things from them as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdo47802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We checked in around 11 pm so did not know at all where we were. What a surprise to wake up the next morning and look out our window to see a lovely view - a beautiful field with corn rows off in the distance. The pool also was part of this setting and would be lovely to be able to use it during the warmer weather - so pictureresque! The hotel was very clean, very friendly staff, a good breakfast. Couldn't have asked for more. With so much to see in this part of VA would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Hotel only has 2 floors - ground floor we found to be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jam620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel sits on the top of a hill and has a commanding view of the area. It is well laid out, is comfortable, clean, and the staff is extremely helpful. Every room has a view! The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The breakfast area also has a commanding view of the area. We are fairly hard to please but we are here to say that we loved this hotel! We will return to spend more time there and to tour things in the area.
While there if you are looking for an upscale dining experience, we would recommend the Inn at Willow Grove - just a mile from the HIE.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2008floridatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
14.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Culpeper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Best Western Culpeper Inn
21.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,422 reviews
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Orange

Address: 750 Roundhill Rd, Orange, VA 22960-2240
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orange
Price Range: $107 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Orange 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel, winner of eight consecutive awards. Visit our hotel and enjoy a serene view of the Blue Ridge Mountains, located on the north side of the Town of Orange, VA.We are minutes away from Woodberry Forest School, American Woodmark, American Press, Klockner Pentaplast, PBM Corporation, Plow & Hearth, Waugh Harley Davidson, Zamma Corporation and Meadows Golf course, and just 40 minutes from Charlottesville, home of the University of Virginia , Monticello and John Paul Jones Arena. History buffs will enjoy visiting Montpelier and Monticello, The Wilderness and Chancellorsville Battlefields and Barboursville Ruins. Skydive Orange is nearby, as are several vineyards & wineries. Wind down in our cozy sitting area with fireplace or enjoy a picturesque view from our breakfast bar area. Our outside pool and veranda allows you to relax and watch wildlife behind the hotel. Enjoy artwork created by local artists featured in our guest rooms and lobby.Our 2-room suites with Jacuzzi tub offer spacious relaxation and many rooms offer a view of the Blue Ridge Mountains.Our goal is to make each guest as comfortable as possible during their stay. We want our hotel to be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Orange Hotel Orange
Holiday Inn Orange
Orange Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing