We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A view of the Blue Ridge Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Orange
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2008

This hotel is on top of a high hill overlooking beautiful farms and the Blue Ridge Mountains. The pool is outside where you can enjoy the scenic views. The hotel looks like new but the staff told me it is already 8 years old. The rooms are huge for a family of 4 and includes a micro and fridge. Very clean. The staff also told me they are adding rooms on to the hotel and an indoor pool, because they often turn people away. This is the nicest HIE I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CathyfromFonduLac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 210 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2008

This hotel is the located in the most peaceful setting I have ever experienced. It sits atop a hill away from traffic and you can sit outside to view sunrise/sunset over rolling hills. The staff was friendly and efficient. Room was adequate but clean. Small fridge and microwave. Good breakfast area with typical hot & cold selections.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank retiredtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

On three successive nights during our travels, we stayed at a Springhills Suites Marriott, a Courtyard Marriott, and a Holiday Inn Express. We booked the first two in advance because of our general satisfaction with Marriott properties, and then stumbled on the Holiday Inn in Orange. Guess which was the best all around experience? Yup. Holiday Inn Express.

This property is 8 years old but looks brand new. Housekeeping carts have step stools on them which tells you something about the cleaning -- they even do above their heads routinely.

Everything had been done with guest comfort in mind. Despite a lack of granite and flat screen TV's, this was the best stay of our trip.

They have a rural setting on a hill, but it was manicured impeccably with lots of different outdoor seating, and lots of views from indoors.

Nice breakfast and business center.

Signage and information was great throughout, from an explanation of what channel the TV guide was on, to guest book with AZ, to handouts on area restaurants at the front desk.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank willtravel12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

They couldn't have picked a better spot to build this hotel. The view from the back is simply amazing. Props on the lobby, too: it's comforting and cozy and spotless.

Also, it's nice to see local art on the walls instead of the usual framed doilies. The rooms are spacious and the linens are crisp.

It's a pricey place to stay - probably because they're really the only game in town (the Red Carpet Inn's no competitor). The hotel's often full, too, so you may hear a little more door slamming at night than you'll like. They're adding on to alleviate the problem.

There are no restaurants within walking distance but there's a new CVS right down the hill.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HoboSoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

Our family stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Orange for the Thanksgiving holidays and I must say it was a great experience. I dont know when the hotel was built, bit it seemed brand new. The room was spacious and clean.......The staff was attentive and helpful and the breakfast was good......and free! Also, Virginia is just beautiful this time of year with the mountains just bursting with fall colors.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank philipk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

This hotel is surprisingly wonderful. We were visiting Madison's home and Jefferson's Monticello. Montpelier is a few minutes away. Monticello and Charlottesville about 30 minutes. The Map Quest route to Monticello takes you through pretty scenery. We had a King room with a view. For a Holiday Inn Express, your impressed when you walk in. The hotel sits atop of a hill by itself. When we entered the lobby, we were greeted warmly. The lobby area was nice; warm cookies and coffee were offered. We were first given a room facing the front road, but we had paid for a room with a view. As soon as I notified the front desk, the problem was fixed. Our king room was at the end of the hall on the 2nd floor. We had picture windows in the back and on the corner wall, so we had lovely views of the Blue Ridge mountains. The room was a nice size. A comfy small sofa and wingback chair were in the king rooms. The hotel was exceptionally clean. It had a meeting room with a comfy sofa an chairs for gathering together right off the elevator on the 2nd floor. The pool was a nice size, and the patio area terrific. They had chairs across the back for sunset gazing. The hotel back is unfenced and faces farmland and a wooded area. We even saw deer under the trees across from the hotel. It is in the foothills of the Blue Ridge mountains, so the mountains offer a beautiful background, especially as the sun sets. Also, several nice patio tables and chairs are set up nearby the pool area for relaxing and watching the sunset. Also, the patio had a stainless steel B.B.Q. No one was using it, so I am unsure if it was for guest use, but I am assuming it was. The hotel had a list for restaurant options. The list was varied, but did include some nicer restaurants that required reservations. We were tired, so we opted for Country Cooking. It was down the road a few miles. It didn't look great from the outside because it was in a strip mall type area, but we were surprised. Dinners were mostly $6-9. Most of the steaks were $9, and all dinners included a nice salad bar with hot rolls and some hot side dishes. It was a great homestyle food place. I would recommend it for families. The hotel breakfast was good. I am not a big fan of hotel breakfast, but this one had biscuits and gravy and omelets. The relaxing atmosphere makes this hotel a really unique experience.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lavendergirl1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2007

The title of the review refers to the view as well as the generously sized room. Near Thomas Jefferson's Monticello and James Madison's Montpelier, the rolling hills seem endless! We ended up with an unexpected stay in this gorgeous part of the country, and were so glad we did. The staff was very friendly and caring. The variety and quality of the breakfast buffet was one of the best we've ever seen in a hotel with moderately priced rooms. This is the perfect place to stay in Horse Country!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TheresaInRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Best Western Culpeper Inn
14.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Culpeper
12.5 mi away
Shenandoah Crossing
Shenandoah Crossing
#1 of 1 in Gordonsville
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Orange

Address: 750 Roundhill Rd, Orange, VA 22960-2240
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orange
Price Range: $65 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Orange 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel, winner of eight consecutive awards. Visit our hotel and enjoy a serene view of the Blue Ridge Mountains, located on the north side of the Town of Orange, VA.We are minutes away from Woodberry Forest School, American Woodmark, American Press, Klockner Pentaplast, PBM Corporation, Plow & Hearth, Waugh Harley Davidson, Zamma Corporation and Meadows Golf course, and just 40 minutes from Charlottesville, home of the University of Virginia , Monticello and John Paul Jones Arena. History buffs will enjoy visiting Montpelier and Monticello, The Wilderness and Chancellorsville Battlefields and Barboursville Ruins. Skydive Orange is nearby, as are several vineyards & wineries. Wind down in our cozy sitting area with fireplace or enjoy a picturesque view from our breakfast bar area. Our outside pool and veranda allows you to relax and watch wildlife behind the hotel. Enjoy artwork created by local artists featured in our guest rooms and lobby.Our 2-room suites with Jacuzzi tub offer spacious relaxation and many rooms offer a view of the Blue Ridge Mountains.Our goal is to make each guest as comfortable as possible during their stay. We want our hotel to be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Orange Hotel Orange
Holiday Inn Orange
Orange Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing