We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Chef - Same Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vintage Restaurant

Vintage Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Featuring regional American farm-to-table cuisine "with a twist", The Inn at Willow Grove's Forbes Travel Guide Four Star-rated Vintage Restaurant is open both to Inn guests and the public. Our award-winning culinary team keeps things fresh by changing our gourmet menus regularly to highlight the freshest, most authentic flavors of the season, and our special Wednesday "Tapas Night" and weekly "Three on Thursday" special prix-fixe tasting menus feature our gourmet cuisine at incredible prices. Join us for lunch, dinner, cocktails or Sunday Brunch. Reservations recommended but not required.
Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
286 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“New Chef - Same Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

The new chef didn't miss a beat. Excellent food with wonderful seasoning and favors. Diver scallops were delectable, wonderful and tender pork belly, tasty rabbit and delicious chicken with brown sauce. Unique spinach salad started it all off. Carlos helped with the wine selection that went perfectly with the meals. Service was a bit slow.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
We agree, our new culinary team is just outstanding and hasn't skipped a beat! Thank you for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    22
    11
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“true gourmet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

food fantastic, farm to table. Menu changes every two weeks. service excellent, wait staff knows every dish on the menu and which wine to go with it. You will find yourself eating things you never thought you would eat after they explain how it is prepared. You are never rushed, we ate there three times in one weekend!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank crewcheifj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing! We’re so happy you enjoyed all three of your meals with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral, VA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Special Occasion Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We booked our 33rd anniversary dinner at Willow Grove and were blown away the moment we got out of the car. The building, with its high columns and upward seeping steps, dates back to 1778 but has been meticulously restored over the previous six years.
Inside, we expected a colonial motif but found the restaurant done in elegant modern that should have looked kitsch but worked beautifully apparently due to the talents of the owner.
We had two wait persons attending us: nice but could have done with just one. The menu was unique and both beautifully prepared and presented. We shared a relaxed evening, excellent fare and attentive service.
The Inn isn't your "let's go out for a quick supper this week" type of place, but for a special occasion, it is perfect. The prices aren't budget but the dinner was more than worth its cost.
We will be back next time we want to celebrate something special.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bschaeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for joining us for such a special occasion. We’re delighted you enjoyed a special 33rd Anniversary dinner. If you’re looking for a gourmet dinner on a budget, we do offer an incredible value on Wednesday night "Gourmet Tapas Night", where selections from our Dinner and Pub menus are available in bite-sized portions starting at $5 a plate. Thursday nights are also an incredible value: our “Three on Thursday” Weekly Chef’s Tasting features a custom-crafted three course prix-fixe meal for just $29.95! With gourmet dining at such an incredible value, it doesn’t have a special occasion to enjoy a special experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamong, New Jersey
2 reviews
“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

everything we ordered from the menu was outstanding. The menu is short but has a good variety. Service is personable and each meal is a dining experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

What a find in the middle of horse and wine country. This restaurant is as good or better than many DC establishments. The ambience is both modern and historic. Very nice and romantic. Started with a local cheese plate paired with a nice California cab. Short but very good wine list. Shared a smoked salmon and a crab cake appetizers. Followed with braised lamb and a braised rabbit. Both plates were unique and very good.requested the chef to share a side of his risotto with us for the rabbit and that was a great idea. Finished with a mixed berry dessert with a 30 year port. This was outstanding experience. Stacey, Derry and Carlos all took great care of us and made us feel welcome. Only way this could have been better was if we were staying at the Inn.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We’re so happy you enjoyed your experience with us and couldn’t agree more: the best way to enjoy a special experience at The Inn at Willow Grove is to stay as a guest and make your gourmet meal an incredible luxury getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintage Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vintage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing