We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of Holidays”
Review of Vintage Restaurant

Vintage Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Featuring regional American farm-to-table cuisine "with a twist", The Inn at Willow Grove's Forbes Travel Guide Four Star-rated Vintage Restaurant is open both to Inn guests and the public. Our award-winning culinary team keeps things fresh by changing our gourmet menus regularly to highlight the freshest, most authentic flavors of the season, and our special Wednesday "Tapas Night" and weekly "Three on Thursday" special prix-fixe tasting menus feature our gourmet cuisine at incredible prices. Join us for lunch, dinner, cocktails or Sunday Brunch. Reservations recommended but not required.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of Holidays”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We were attending Montpelier holiday candlelight tour and decide to have dinner at Willow Grove. This was a first visit for everyone in our party and I think I can speak for all four in saying it won't be our last. The inn was beautifully decorated and our table next to the fireplace was cozy and comfortable. Service was friendly, attentive, but not intrusive.
The food was delicious. We can't
wait to try brunch!

Helpful?
Thank Ruansh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
We’re so happy that you enjoyed a special dinner in Vintage Restaurant during the holidays. You are in for a treat when you visit us for our decadent Sunday Brunch! Thank you for sharing and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    22
    11
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Locust Dale
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best Hamburger in Virginia”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

First I must admit I have tried this hamburger several times before saying it is the best I have ever had. I have eaten gourmet hamburgers up and down the east coast from mom and pop diners to high end restaurants and Willow Grove's signature burger is just exceptional to include its house sauce. I ordered mine medium and it came to me with a hot pink center. These are plump homemade meat paddies nestled on a kasier roll with aged chedder and garnished with fresh accoutrements. The house special sauce gives you first a semi sweet taste then lingers in your palate and ends up with a smokey like hickory flavor that begs you for more. If this is not enough, you have a full basket of light crispy cumin onion rings to compliment the burger. Again my hats off to Willow Grove and its personal! Lisa D.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LRD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Owner at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you, Lisa, for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to see you in The Pub. - David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent upscale pub menu”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Halibut tacos were wonderful! Friendly staff, beautiful setting, historic interest. I ate in the pub on a Sunday night and loved it.

Helpful?
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We're so happy you enjoyed your experience. Thanks for stopping by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Dale, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Our party of seven looking forward to the Pub Menu and Tapas”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

It was a little chilly--about 30 degrees when I called to make a reservation for seven in the bar for burgers and tapas. No one picked up--message came on that they were busy and couldn't answer, also added that they were open in the bar on Wednesday, Thursday, etc. I left a message anyway. Also looked up their website which confirmed what I knew since I had been there dozens of times (I live just a few miles away)--open on Wednesday for food.
Much to our surprise the entire place was dark at 730 PM--no cars, no nothing on a night that they are always advertising that they're open. Not sure the seven of us will ever gamble on the Willow Grove again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Owner at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Another one, Donald? This is now your third terrible review (and we hope the last), and this time without actually receiving any of the food, drink and service that you’re so quick to criticize! We did close early to give our hard-working staff some time with their families after a bustling, non-stop holiday season. The closure was posted on the restaurant’s webpage and was broadcast in emails; we overlooked the voicemail announcement, which was admittedly a mistake on our part, but there was a sign on the door for any passersby. We didn’t get your voicemail until the next morning, since you left the message for us while you were in the car driving the few miles from your house to our door (note: leaving a voicemail requesting a reservation is more effective when left more than five minutes prior to the time that you have requested for the reservation.)

To be honest, the whole situation is baffling to us. In your first disparaging review, despite your praise of the food and service, your criticism of our “outrageous” wine prices left you saying you would never return until we lowered them… Well, we didn’t. But you returned. Then you left another zinger on Tripadvisor saying you would never return until we served draft beer in the Pub… Well, we didn’t. (Incidentally, your wife’s follow-up review praising our establishment was very appreciated by us all) You have returned again! And, surprise! Another 1-star review from Donald. It appears that this has become personal with you. Please, don’t take the trouble of “gambling” on us in the future… just don’t come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Restaurant for a Special Meal”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This restaurant is part of the B&B (Inn at Willow Grove). It is a very nice restaurant. It is the place to go when celebrating something special. We had a Chef’s Tasting, which I believe was 7 courses of small dishes. We provided our allergy information and preferences to the Chef weeks before. When we arrived, I expected to see our menu, but we were told to sit back and relax because each course was a culinary surprise. The server described each dish only as it was served to us. If you choose a Chef’s Tasting, I suggest you arrive with an empty stomach and be prepared for more like 9 courses (some much larger than expected) and because dessert is not included. Every course was prepared with such care, not only did the courses look exquisite, they tasted great! I was truly impressed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobertKruszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Chef’s Tastings are a truly special culinary experience! We couldn’t agree more with your advice to show up with a (very) empty stomach and sit back and enjoy the show. Chef Daniels’ custom-crafted masterpieces are sure to surprise and delight! Thank you for posting, and we hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintage Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vintage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing