We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Tea”
Review of Vintage Restaurant

Vintage Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Featuring regional American farm-to-table cuisine "with a twist", The Inn at Willow Grove's Forbes Travel Guide Four Star-rated Vintage Restaurant is open both to Inn guests and the public. Our award-winning culinary team keeps things fresh by changing our gourmet menus regularly to highlight the freshest, most authentic flavors of the season, and our special Wednesday "Tapas Night" and weekly "Three on Thursday" special prix-fixe tasting menus feature our gourmet cuisine at incredible prices. Join us for lunch, dinner, cocktails or Sunday Brunch. Reservations recommended but not required.
Herndon, Va
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“High Tea”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The rating is average because of the high expectations created by location and price. The plantation-style house was attractive, but the interior was furnished with modern furniture. To my taste, this detracted from the experience. The tea provided a reasonable selection of teas and an amount of food that was more than enough to substitute for a meal. Having been to a number of teas in the UK, we were not convinced that the menu item were actually authentic to either the early american or UK tea menu, but all the items were tasty and attractively presented. Service was adequate with minor issues, such as failing to provide the jam and clotted cream with the scones for our table and another until the waiter providing those items realized that he had not provided them to us.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rldonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Wow, this is a first! We've never before received an average rating because of our decor. We are not Early American and never intended to be. In fact, we take great pride in the fact that we are not one of the many "Ol' Virginie" establishments out there. We strive to be different, and we can attribute much of our success to it! We appreciate your compliments on our tasty food and beautiful presentation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    22
    11
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna VA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Rate Dining Experience in Orange VA at Vintage Restaurant”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Vintage Restaurant is housed in The Inn of Willow Grove in Orange VA where you can combine a stay with dining or enjoy a singular dining experience for lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch. We highly recommend the Sunday Brunch which features delicious food and attention to detail in the entire eating experience. Courteous staff from the hostess who seats you to the wait staff that serves you set a high standard for excellence and meet each mark. The Inn is exquisitely decorated and you may ask for a tour after brunch. This is a first rate dining experience and one can also host a party or special occasion at the Inn's multiple rooms and also in other buildings on the grounds. Outdoor seating at the restaurant is also available. It is a delight to see the owner's attention to detail at this Inn and the emphasis on impeccable service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenViennaVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bumpass, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“excellent food and impeccable service”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Had lunch there prior to a wedding planning meeting. The ambiance is outstanding. The food (cave aged burger and tempura shrimp) was excellent. All fo the staff were very friendly and outgoing. Our server, Amy, was outstanding. She made us feel very welcome and provided excllent service. In a very short period of time during lunch we met the owners, the restaurant manager and the property general manager.They all went out of their way to introduce themselves. From the restaurant to the main building to the outlying cottages the facility is beautiful and very tastefully decorated.
Our wedding planning meeting with Alice left us sure we were in good hands and that our guests would be amazed. Don't miss them gem.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunrisetm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“25th Anniv wkend”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great gourmet food. Excellent service. Fireplace was cozy, tables clean, and over all very high end.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladiva1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for posting! We look forward to having you back this Spring - and be sure to ask your Butler for our adorable pig-shaped Ipod speakers (I know, they sound strange but they're incredible), which are available at the front desk for guests to enjoy during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapidan, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wednesday Small Plates Night is Best Bargain”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The food and wine are good, but pricey. However, on Wednesday nights they serve $5 tapas (the menu condescendingly tells you this is pronounced "ta-paz"). These are not just olives or bread sticks, but small bites of the entrees on the regular menu and are artistically presented. The Inn is a lovely yellow mansion with white columns, but if you are expecting old Virginia decor, you will be disappointed. The style is New York glassy. The overall rating is down due to very uneven service which eventually they may work out. However, the Wednesday nights are a good deal and they even let you cork and take home any unused wine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts so candidly. With gourmet cuisine from our seasonal menu available at just $5 a plate, Tapas Night really is a spectacular value. Just as the food is the same on Wednesday nights, so too is the menu design. The Vin-tage logo and menu also provide a pronunciation key and dictionary description of the word "vintage" at the top. As you mentioned in your first five-star review from November, we are not Ol' Virginny and we never intended to be. Our owner/designer was born and raised in New Orleans and has brought a New Orleans flair to this historic Virginia landmark. The resulting "urban meets plantation" style is unique to the area. We are a boutique hotel with a Southern flavor that takes pride in providing our guests with elegant high style, luxurious world-class amenities and truly five-star personal service. If your experience with our service was uneven, please feel free to call our General Manager with specific details and we will use your constructive feedback to improve our guest experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintage Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vintage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing