We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What more can we say?!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
“What more can we say?!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

What a memorable night! We truly enjoyed ourselves with your hospitality and "the story." I could not have picked a more perfect gift to share with my wife on our wedding anniversary. This place is truly amazing and, now, due to Troy and Kathleen making us feel so special, it will be part of our yearly anniversary tradition!!! We are counting down the days until we can return and continue to add memories to our new tradition. We will tell everyone we know about their wonderful place and the gracious hospitality that they provide. We feel very special and are thankful that our paths have crossed

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsakhnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
231
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
falls church
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

Chestnut Hill is a place where you can go to relax and enjoy yourself. Everyone is so nice and there is no "I don't know you - awkward feeling." I love good food and the food here was some of the best I've ever had. We stayed here because my mom was having her wedding here and the wedding and reception were beautiful and went off without a hitch! Also, it was the best night's sleep I've ever had!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjiFallsChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

The hospitality was incredible, the inn is so charming and exceeded our expectations. We fell in love with Troy’s meatballs and ate entirely too much! Everything from the rooms to the landscaping has been done with so much thoughtfulness and it really shows. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happygirlatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

Thank you both so much for this experience! It was our first time at a bed & breakfast and we’re sure it won’t be outdone! You’re both amazing at what you do and added the most unbelievable and very much appreciated details from the cake and champagne to celebrate my birthday, sharing stores about the “tobacco man” ghost,, toasting our engagement, calling Foti’s Restaurant to check on us (and helping them add a special touch to our dinner) to the amazing hospitality and beautiful room with the most comfortable bed and sheets. We truly enjoyed every second of our stay. Thank you and we look forward to returning! Julie & Chris (soon-to-be Stevens) J Troy – thank you for providing challenging conversation with Chris.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJulieAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

We were looking forward to celebrating our 28th wedding anniversary in style – and this was the best! HOT: we spent a spectacular evening arranged by the innkeepers, Troy & Kathleen, on a HOT Air Balloon ride. The thrill of a lifetime concluded with champagne toasts by firelight. Troy also recommended a superb HOT restaurant location and attractions to enjoy. WARM: The inn is extremely luxurious yet WARM with intimate gathering places both indoors and out. We will never forget the friendly, WARM conversations and smiles shared during our stay. COOL: Perfect for summer, we enjoyed the obvious – a delicious variety of ice cold beverages but what might come as a surprise is how Troy and Kathleen remember the tiniest detail of our likes and dislikes after our first stay six months ago. They are totally COOL innkeepers!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildlifePics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

We came to the B&B to celebrate our one year anniversary. From the moment we drove up the driveway, we were amazed with Chestnut Hill. The house is beautiful, the property is gorgeous… everything was beautifully decorated and renovated. The scrapbook of the renovation on the house was nice to see – a nice touch. They also went the extra mile to make our anniversary SO very special. It was unbelievable how thoughtful and detail oriented they were. They personally had surprises for us and organized surprises that George had for Elizabeth. They always had good recommendations for places to go. Also, the food needs to be mentioned because WOW it was great! We look forward to returning again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizL41378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

No detail has been neglected at this luxury B&B! It’s hard to summarize, but I’ll do the best I can!

Rooms/Property:
We stayed in the Alexander Daley master suite (2nd floor) and were very happy with the quality and comfort of the room. Elegant sheets, plush robes, two fireplaces, two person Jacuzzi tub, and beautiful furnishings were the best we’ve seen in a B&B. The home has everything you could ever want, including a lovely new patio, koi pond, and fire pit complete with plentiful outdoor seating (we actually ate outside one morning). The lower level has a stocked bar, comfortable leather seating, pub tables, an entertainment center, and was the perfect spot to relax with other guests.

Hospitality:
From our pre-stay communications to our good-byes, Kathleen and Troy bent over backwards to make our anniversary stay a special one. They learned our likes and dislikes regarding meals and planned accordingly (what other place does that?) Troy was very knowledgeable regarding the local wineries and the best/most scenic routes to take to get there. We discovered two gems that we probably would have missed had it not been for his guidance. They are very engaging innkeepers and that made our trip that much more special.

Food/Drink:
Breakfast is amazing experience at Chestnut Hill! One morning we were spoiled with a delicious fruit cup with homemade whipped cream, Grand Marnier French toast, fresh OJ, and local peppered bacon. The next we enjoyed fresh grapefruit, cheese grits, and a spectacular egg dish with fresh spinach and tomatoes, and Virginia pork sausage. We loved that they used local ingredients, too! Another perk of staying at this B&B is the complimentary drinks, snacks (jars of M&M’s scattered throughout!), and hors d’oevres served in the wonderful common area each evening. We enjoyed a glass of wine in the company of other guests and the innkeepers both nights.

Bottom line:
Kathleen and Troy have created a perfect home base from which to work when exploring the many assets of Central Virginia. We’re already looking ahead and hope to plan another trip in the fall/winter. Book this B&B as soon as you can, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CosioFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
22.3 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 236 Caroline Street, Orange, VA 22960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1860, Chestnut Hill has been skillfully renovated to preserve the master craftsmanship of this renowned historic home and professionally decorated to provide our guests with an opportunity to appreciate the past while enjoying the comforts of the present. There are only two guest rooms per floor and each room offers a private bath with hairdryers, quality personal amenities, pillow-top beds dressed in triple-sheeted superior quality cotton linens, lush cozy spa robes, HD flat screen televisions and WiFi Internet access. Extra special touches may include fresh cut flowers, bottled flat or sparkling water and home-made confections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing