We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Inn earlier this month. It came highly recommended from friends as well as this site. I really can't add anything new that other reviewers haven't already said. Exceptional hospitality from Kathleen, Troy, and the lovely woman we chatted with each night as she prepared the snacks and tidied up the rooms (I feel bad not remembering her name!). The bridal suite was large and extremely comfortable with its separate sitting area and small kitchenette. The claw foot tub was relaxing and the spa products divine. Breakfast each morning was delicious. They really pay attention to their guests, getting to know everyone by name, little things like that. I look forward to returning with the girlfriends for a fun weekend in the future. Don't forget to eat the cookies they put out each evening! I had multiple requests to bring them home for former guests but they never made out of the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeliMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
231
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Chestnut Hill for a not-long-enough weekend this month. After booking on short notice, we couldn't believe how lucky we were to get a room. Apparently, a wedding group had canceled about three weeks prior, letting us and 4-5 other last minute couples swoop in despite the late notice. Chestnut Hill usually books up far in advance with both weddings and regularly returning guests and for good reason. The experience of staying there is amazing. Shortly after booking, Kathleen contacted us to let us know about several restaurants in the area, for which they made our reservations. They also provided great information on horseback riding and kayaking (though it rained through our stay, so we opted out of both)/ We arrived in advance of check-in to drop our bags, so Troy took a significant amount of time to talk us through wineries in the area and providing us with free tasting tickets. Both Troy and Kathleen are very deliberate about finding out what you like and targeting their recommendations. We stayed in the Bridal Suite- without a doubt, surpassing any hotel room I've been in. Fully stocked complementary drink fridge, sitting lounge, huge comfy bed, and a gorgeous bathroom with a claw-foot tub and glass shower. Downstairs, there are 6-7 bottles of wine always available (complementary) for guests and appetizers are served 4-6pm each evening. While we were there we had a small plate of spaghetti with meatballs and chicken fingers with great homemade dipping sauce. Breakfast is two courses, with great coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice. Our first morning was a mango cream starter and a sun-dried tomato/sausage omelette with potato. The second morning was a baked tortilla filled with sweetened yogurt and berries (amazing) and brioche french toast with goat cheese asparagus and sweet & spicy bacon. While we were there, another guest had an egg allergy that it seems her husband forgot to mention when booking, and they whipped up an egg-free alternative for her on the spot.

Just cannot recommend this place enough- if you're lucky enough to find availability, snap it up!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had the absolute pleasure of having our wedding weekend at the Chestnut Hill bed & breakfast with Troy and Kathleen. For months beforehand they worked with me and my husband to make sure we had all the details for our wedding taken care of. They are nice, delightful people with a beautiful inn. The rooms are luxurious, the cleanliness is superb, and the food absolutely delicious. Even when there was a problem the evening of my wedding I didn't know about it until much later because they took care of it. Everyone at the wedding said what a beautiful venue it was. I also can't tell you how hard it is to find an affordable venue with people who actually care. Troy and Kathleen truly care about the couples that have their weddings at their Inn and they will do what they can to make sure it's a perfect day.
Thank you again to Troy and Kathleen... if they are reading this :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at Chestnut Hill for three blissful nights for our elopement. The owners Troy and Kathleen made our wedding and our stay memories to cherish forever.

We stayed in the bridal suite, and loved it! A very comfortable and luxurious room that was perfect for our needs. It had a a lovely bedroom area as well as its own living area.

The Bed and Breakfast itself was well decorated and lovely. It had a few common areas for all the guests in the house to use - a study and parlor on the first floor, and a bar area and large TV on the basement level. The breakfast served every morning was perfection, always delicious and plenty of food. They served appetizers in the evenings that were also delicious.

I think what makes this place so wonderful are the owners Kathleen and Troy. They are kind people and attentive the needs of their guests while remaining focused and professional. The other employees at Chestnut Hill were also personable and professional.

For those considering this as an elopement, you cannot go wrong. Troy and Kathleen took care of all the little details for us so we could remain as stress free as possible. The flowers provided were beautiful, the cake delicious, they had engraved champaign flutes for us, and even had the top of the cake wrapped up so we could take home and freeze for our one year anniversary.

We had an amazing experience staying here, and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and well appointed, but if you are looking for a little more space and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelChick531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millers, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We just returned from a lovely two night stay at this charming B and B in Virginia's Wine Country where the hospitality couldn't have been better. From owner Troy's Dinner recommendations (Vintage and Elmwood at Sparks) to the warm welcome supplied by his wife and co-owner Kathleen this B and B knows how to provide exemplary hospitality. We were welcomed by a gorgeous tray of appetizers accompanied by Virginia wine. You don't expect prosciutto-wrapped Manchego. Greek olives and 16-20 count Shrimp on your average "nibble" tray. This was followed the next day by an amazing Peking Duck starter. Breakfasts are superb and include many gourmet touches such as the pineapple topped with pistachios, crème fraiche and blackberries. Rooms are tastefully decorated and the whole house has a welcoming and warm feel. The B and B is conveniently located just minutes from James Madison's Montpelier and a short drive away from Monticello. You can't go wrong by choosing this amazing B and B for your next Virginia getaway.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a group opt for the downstairs rooms which are adjacent to a lovely sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed one night at the Chestnut Hill B&B and were very impressed by the friendliness of the owers (Kathleen and Troy) and the staff. They offered us a complimentary appetizer and Virginia wine. We would normally expect cheese and crackers but they surpassed all expectations with a Duck with Asian black rice along with exceptional Potomac wine!

Breakfast was equally exceptional and surpassed all expectations! we will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodmaven92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Belvoir, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The food was great, the rooms were beautiful and Troy and Kathleen we the perfect host! We had a great time and cannot wait to find a reason to go back;)
The town of Orange is quaint along with the surrounding areas. We were able to plan our outings with the help of the owners who were more than willing to give us great recommendations. Great antiquing in the area as well
Our breakfast each morning was delicious and made to order with a great variety. The oatmeal cookies left out were amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
22.3 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 236 Caroline Street, Orange, VA 22960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1860, Chestnut Hill has been skillfully renovated to preserve the master craftsmanship of this renowned historic home and professionally decorated to provide our guests with an opportunity to appreciate the past while enjoying the comforts of the present. There are only two guest rooms per floor and each room offers a private bath with hairdryers, quality personal amenities, pillow-top beds dressed in triple-sheeted superior quality cotton linens, lush cozy spa robes, HD flat screen televisions and WiFi Internet access. Extra special touches may include fresh cut flowers, bottled flat or sparkling water and home-made confections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing