We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Reigns Supreme”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Millers, MD
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hospitality Reigns Supreme”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We just returned from a lovely two night stay at this charming B and B in Virginia's Wine Country where the hospitality couldn't have been better. From owner Troy's Dinner recommendations (Vintage and Elmwood at Sparks) to the warm welcome supplied by his wife and co-owner Kathleen this B and B knows how to provide exemplary hospitality. We were welcomed by a gorgeous tray of appetizers accompanied by Virginia wine. You don't expect prosciutto-wrapped Manchego. Greek olives and 16-20 count Shrimp on your average "nibble" tray. This was followed the next day by an amazing Peking Duck starter. Breakfasts are superb and include many gourmet touches such as the pineapple topped with pistachios, crème fraiche and blackberries. Rooms are tastefully decorated and the whole house has a welcoming and warm feel. The B and B is conveniently located just minutes from James Madison's Montpelier and a short drive away from Monticello. You can't go wrong by choosing this amazing B and B for your next Virginia getaway.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a group opt for the downstairs rooms which are adjacent to a lovely sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
239
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed one night at the Chestnut Hill B&B and were very impressed by the friendliness of the owers (Kathleen and Troy) and the staff. They offered us a complimentary appetizer and Virginia wine. We would normally expect cheese and crackers but they surpassed all expectations with a Duck with Asian black rice along with exceptional Potomac wine!

Breakfast was equally exceptional and surpassed all expectations! we will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodmaven92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Belvoir, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The food was great, the rooms were beautiful and Troy and Kathleen we the perfect host! We had a great time and cannot wait to find a reason to go back;)
The town of Orange is quaint along with the surrounding areas. We were able to plan our outings with the help of the owners who were more than willing to give us great recommendations. Great antiquing in the area as well
Our breakfast each morning was delicious and made to order with a great variety. The oatmeal cookies left out were amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a sweet home... and that's what it feels like, being a guest at a friend's place. All staff and fellow guests, even the dog & cat roaming around, were nice and friendly. We ate breakfast together, and it was almost too pretty to eat, and delicious. They are very accommodating with any dietary preferences. The room was gorgeous and the cleaning staff did an amazing job. Even straightened up the items thrown around in the bathroom. They gave us a complimentary upgrade to VIP, which allowed us free reign at the bar. Lots of wine that weekend! And the surrounding area is cheerful country. We enjoyed the horse back riding and wine tastings. Extra treat if you go during a bull riding event in town. Thank you Chestnut Hill, for an unforgettable weekend!

Room Tip: I would imagine the bottom floor rooms to be the noisiest, as it's on the same level as the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MetalChelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA18078
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have travelled quite extensively and this B&B is the best, bar none, that we have ever visited! When it comes to southern hospitality, Kathleen and Troy surpass others. The restored home is exquisitely decorated and appointed. We have never had unlimited, complimentary wine or beer or cold drinks and hors d'ourves (Peking duck!) offered at any other B&B. Also, homemade cookies for a bedtime snack!

Breakfast was a culinary masterpiece!

We will surely be back to stay again and will recommend that our Florida snowbird friends stay when they are returning to PA as a half way resting place!

Room Tip: We loved the Four Quarters room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lainies0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Chestnut Hill is a first class B & B. Kathleen and Troy go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. They are superb innkeepers and go to great lengths to cater to your needs.They pay great attention to detail. The breakfast and appetizers are divine and taste as if they are from a gourmet magazine.This is truly a warm, friendly and beautiful B & B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We drove up to Orange, VA to celebrate our 53rd wedding anniversary. When we arrived at the Chestnut Hill B&B, we were warmly greeted by Kathleen, the Owner/Innkeeper and Teresa, her wonderful assistant. Once the room was ready, we couldn't lift a finger, even to take our luggage up to the second floor. This was handle by Teresa & her daughter Haley. A bottle of wine was brought up to the room with some home-baked snacks. Red roses were set by the bed side table. The bedroom was large, with a wonderful & comfortable Queen-sized bed. Plenty of sunlight shined through the windows offering a great view of a well landscaped & large backyard. A Jacuzzi room with an adjoining modern bathroom were part of the Daley Suite.

As soon as we unpacked and got acclimated, it was time for our daily afternoon treat-surprise hors d'oeuvre, created every afternoon by Troy. Needless to say, they were outstanding. In the basement of the B&B, was a well stocked bar with a nice variety of wines, beers and soft drinks on the house! A very nice touch.

Breakfast was served in a lovely dining room and was not to be missed. Each breakfast was specially prepared and was absolutely delicious. Kathleen was always there to greet us and the other guests with a big smile.

Once we got ready to explore the area and sample some of the wonderful area restaurants, Troy and Kathleen were ready with personalized recommendations. Troy provided us with a Google map and marked the areas of interest with recommendations for lunch and dinner. All were spot on.

We spent four days at the Chestnut Hill B&B and were pleasantly spoiled. We hated to leave. Troy and Kathleen, were in our estimation, the "best-of-the- best." They have a great eye for detail and regard for the comfort of their guests. Their assistants, Teresa and Haley reflect the pride of the Inn & Innkeepers.

We have just made our return reservations for next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedskinRod38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.4 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
0.5 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 236 Caroline St, Orange, VA 22960-1541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1860, Chestnut Hill has been skillfully renovated to preserve the master craftsmanship of this renowned historic home and professionally decorated to provide our guests with an opportunity to appreciate the past while enjoying the comforts of the present. There are only two guest rooms per floor and each room offers a private bath with hairdryers, quality personal amenities, pillow-top beds dressed in triple-sheeted superior quality cotton linens, lush cozy spa robes, HD flat screen televisions and WiFi Internet access. Extra special touches may include fresh cut flowers, bottled flat or sparkling water and home-made confections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing