We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Perfection!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We just eloped at Chestnut Hill Bed and Breakfast yesterday!!! We cannot say enough wonderful things about Troy and Kathleen. They made our wedding perfect all the way down to the smallest detail. They both really cared about us and our wedding. You don’t find people like that every day. They made us and our few guests feel extremely welcome and at home for our entire stay. Troy and Kathleen both made it a point to ask us exactly what we wanted and how we wanted it done and they MADE it happen. My flowers were gorgeous, the cake was delicious, ALL the food was out of this world delicious. It was a beautiful stress free day and that is exactly what I wanted. Everything ran smoothly and seamlessly. My five year old daughter was following the house keeper around and kept coming back with little cookies or cut up apples just for her. I also found out later that my daughter was helping the house keeper with laundry. They all were extremely kind to her.
When we went to dinner that night the restaurant had our names and “Congratulations” printed inside the menu! When we got back to our room that night our bed was covered in rose petals with our left over cake and champagne chilling by the bed. Details, details, details. My husband and I are by no means millionaires but we sure did feel like we were the past few days.
We stayed in the Alexander Daly Suite and it was beautiful and so luxurious. I did not want to leave!! My parents stayed in the room down the hall and my father wanted to load the bed up into his car somehow and take it home with him. He said it was just perfect in every way imaginable.
I would recommend getting married here to every person I know. It could not have been more perfect. I cannot think of one negative thing to say. Drive to Orange VA to get married at Chestnut Hill Bed and Breakfast!!!!
Stephanie Peters

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
233
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast last weekend because it came highly recommended. We were blown away with our experience. When we approved we were given free wine tasting passes to multiple local vineyards. When we came back from the wineries, Troy had prepared a seafood trio for us and wine and beer was available for all guests. The rooms were beautiful and immaculate. The breakfast the next morning was out of a dream. Kathleen and Troy do an excellent job of making you feel at home, though giving you plenty space. We are on a budget, but this is one indulgence we will plan for again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citorigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Chestnut Hill Bed and Breakfast is the nicest bed and breakfast that we have ever stayed in.
The proprietors are friendly and are concerned with the welfare of their guests. They provided breakfast in their "Downton Abbey" dining room, but also appetizers at 5 p.m.
This is a very special place. We will go again and again. Orange County Virginia is spectacular, so staying in such a nice place makes the trip totally worthwhile.

Room Tip: If you go with another couple, choose the downstairs English basement (2) rooms. It's like bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sh0tsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Partlow, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I were given a one night stay at the Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast as one of our wedding gifts. My father and his wife stayed there and loved it. I had been to numerous bed and breakfasts before, but this was my wife's first time. We booked a second night to round out the weekend prior to our arrival. Our stay was 11/16-11/18.

The House:
It was beautiful! This place was very clean and well decorated with antique furniture. Every room has its own charm. The yard is very beautiful and well maintained, with seating and a waterfall pond.

The Room:
We stayed in Alexander Daley’s Master Suite. It was the perfect size and felt like home. It had a nice bathroom with Jacuzzi and fireplace and a separate shower. There was also a fireplace in the bedroom. The sheets were the softest sheets I’d ever slept in and the pillows were so soft!

Food:
Breakfast each morning was wonderful! It was healthy and delicious. And the light meal in the afternoon was great, as well. They really go above and beyond. The meals were planned out perfectly and they even changed my meal slightly to accommodate for my wife's distaste in fish. It really makes my day when someone can pay so much attention to detail and make you feel at home and at ease.

Troy & Kathleen:
My wife is not a very social person and she was a little leery about having to eat with other guests and the possibility of being given so much attention by the hosts. Her worries were quickly abated, though. Everyone, including the guests, were so nice. Kathleen & Troy get to know their guests and can tell each guest's preferences. They both made sure that all of our needs were met.

Our overall experience was fantastic! We will definitely stay there again. We are even thinking of sending my wife's parents here for a weekend. We recommend that everyone stay at the Chestnut Hill B & B. Not only is the place beautiful, but the area is great as well. Lots to do, great restaurants (we recommend going to the French restaurant, Pomme), and lots of antique stores to check out.

Room Tip: Make sure to stay more than one night so you get a chance to check out the surrounding area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

There are two great places to stay in Orange. We've tried both, and Chestnut Hill is the winner. The hosts are attentive, but do not crowd you. The rooms are so well done with spotless bathrooms attached. And I won't even start a report on the breakfasts. It would take way too long!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harmonysailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I have been visiting B&B's throughout the U.S. for over 30 years and The Chestnut Hill B&B is one of the best we've ever visited. The property was recently 100% renovated so the entire building has the latest modern amenities while also maintaining its old historic charm. The decorating is impeccable and first class. The owners, Troy and Kathleen are wonderful energetic hosts who cheerfully cater to your every need. When is the last time an innkeeper called you IN ADVANCE to ask you what kind of wine you liked, (included as part of your stay), or how you preferred your duck appetizer cooked, (also included), for when you arrive?! That is the level of hospitality you will receive from Troy and Kathleen – they are incredible! It simply doesn't get any better than the Chestnut Hill B&B - we will come back over and over again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

My boyfriend planned a weekend away for us at the Chestnut Hill B&B in Orange, VA. I had been extremely excited about it, but I had no idea what we were in for. As we drove up the driveway lined with gas-lit lamps, the beauty of the house took my breath away. Walking into the house it felt like we were walking into a home of a close friend. It was warm, inviting, and smelled of incredible creations. Troy welcomed us and immediately filled our wine glasses and took us to our room. The room was immaculate: chandeliers, lovely linens, beautiful furniture, handmade soaps, and our personal favorite, the over-sized jetted tub. Breakfast both days was equivalent to our favorite swanky place in DC with very creative dishes that completely satisfied us. On Saturday we toured three vineyards with people from the B&B and had an amazing time. Troy picked out the vineyards for us to see and gave us vouchers for free tastings and food! That evening hor d'oeuvres, wine, and socializing with our new friends was wonderful. We walked to dinner where Kathleen had made reservations for us at Elmwood at Sparks and had the best filet mignon either of us had ever had. The quality was amazing and the prices were great! Our last morning waking up we were both a little sad that this amazing dream we were both having would soon come to an end. Thank you Kathleen and Troy for making our little romantic weekend getaway seem like an entire vacation far away from our busy everyday lives. We are already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
22.2 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 236 Caroline Street, Orange, VA 22960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1860, Chestnut Hill has been skillfully renovated to preserve the master craftsmanship of this renowned historic home and professionally decorated to provide our guests with an opportunity to appreciate the past while enjoying the comforts of the present. There are only two guest rooms per floor and each room offers a private bath with hairdryers, quality personal amenities, pillow-top beds dressed in triple-sheeted superior quality cotton linens, lush cozy spa robes, HD flat screen televisions and WiFi Internet access. Extra special touches may include fresh cut flowers, bottled flat or sparkling water and home-made confections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing