We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Mayhurst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayhurst Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 24, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank N0str0m0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 321 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2007

For history lovers there is no better place to stay then Mayhurst Inn. The beautifully restored historic home once had property that was contiguous with James and Dolly Madison's nearby Montpelier. It is the the perfect location from which to explore the Madison home, Charlottesville and Monticello, Civil War battlefields, and surrounding towns like Culpeper.
The property itself is beautifully decorated, and each room has its own distinct charm. We were thrilled to be the the Generals room on the main floor. It was in this room that General Robert E. Lee stayed when he was a guest of the Willis family. A.P. Hill and Stonewall Jackson were also guests at this house.
Each room has a fireplace, and I have never slept on a more comfortable bed with softer sheets than during my stay at Mayhurst. Even my husband commented on them.
Breakfasts were fabulous and included Eggs Benedict and Belgium waffles. Our hosts were wonderful sources of information for area attractions and restaurants. Although we did not explore them, other guests enjoyed wine tasting at the various vineyards in the area. In the evening we were served a claret that was reminiscent of the one Jefferson tried and failed to grow at Monticello. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dianne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2006

This is a top-notch B&B. We stayed at the Mayhurst for one evening in September. It was a quiet time at the Inn with about 3 of the rooms occupied.

The Mayhurst is a beautiful property. Its a great place for a romantic getaway. It's a perfect place for a wedding as the outside grounds are as beautiful as the inside of the house. The owners, Jack and Pat, have done a great job decorating and maintaining this historic home. They are very proud of their Inn and are more than happy to give you a tour of all the rooms and to tell you of its history. They are very friendly, but they do not overwhelm you with chatter. They do a good job of reading you and discerning when you want to be left alone and when you would like to be 'hosted." They have owned of the Inn for about 3 years and have not yet become jaded or burnt out by the business. They seem to genuinely love entertaining.

We stayed in the Southern Charm room. It's a beautiful room--very large and quite light. They have maintained the traditional historic fixtures (fireplace, wood shutters, etc) but have also renovated the rooms to have very nice modern amenities (large jacuzzi tub, wash basin in room, separate toilet room). There are many fine little details in the room, including a log to light the fireplace, chocolates, robes and slippers.

Everything at this Inn is spotless. I am really picky when it comes to accommodations and everything here is very, very clean and very tasteful. The bathrooms are spotless. No worries here.

Breakfast is served downstairs in the basement dining room. It's a beautiful little room--again well done. Breaksfast is also very nice.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay here. Don't forget to ask about the AAA discount. It's 10%--not huge, but enough to take care of some of the taxes.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lichfield, England
12
Reviewed April 18, 2006

We stayed at the Mayhurst over Easter this year (actually for 10 days in all) for an Easter break from the UK.
Jack and Pat have created a real magical "Home from Home" atmosphere at the Mayhurst and we were all under their spell from the moment we entered the house.

No room keys needed here - this is staying with "Friends" rather than staying in a B & B.

Wonderful breakfasts, lovely rooms, friendly people in a location to die for - what more could you ask for?

We didn't ask for anymore, but we got it! - 5pm wine and cheese everyday included, tea, coffee, soft drinks all day/night included - nothing was too much trouble for Jack and Pat.

As I already said, our visit was during Easter and another "special touch" from the Mayhurst was an Egg Hunt for my kids, an Easter Egg each and to top it all a special invite on Easter Sunday to share their family Easter Dinner with them!

Words just do not do justice to the wonderful time we had at the Mayhurst.

We went to Virginia and the Mayhurst not knowing what to expect and came away having found some new friends and a very special "Home from Home"

You owe it to yourself to spend a little time at the Mayhurst; I guarantee you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Honolulu
110
Reviewed May 24, 2005

I had just finished a conference in the Washington, DC area and wanted to relax. My brother suggested we find a bed and breakfast inn in the wine country south of DC. After browsing the internet and a wine magazine, we decided to stay at the Mayhurst Inn in Orange, Va, a very small town.

We were very pleased that we did. Our first impression was a beautiful, historic home, set among tall, stately trees, and surrounded by an immaculately manicured lawn and colorful flower beds. We found out later that Mayhurst played a part in the Civil War as General Ambrose Hill, commander of the III Corp of Lee's Army was headquartered at Mayhurst Inn, owned by the Willis family at that time. As we walked toward the home, one of the innkeepers came up to greet us in a very friendly manner. She was very nice and answered any question we had about the history of the mansion, or the premises.

We were given the Piedmont Suite, a two bedroom suite in the renovated attic of the house. A bathroom was shared by both rooms. This is an excellent choice for families - the children can watch TV while the parents rest in the other room. A gas burning fireplace made the atmosphere so warm, and cozy. Needless to say the furnishings reflect the Victorian era. There were magazines and books in the room, and throughout the house. Several windows still bare the etchings of Confederate soldiers.

Downstairs in the sitting room is where the 5:00 pm wine tasting is held. The innkeepers are there liberally pouring the wines, some local, others from California. The innkeeper is an expert on the wines of the area as well as a very good socializer, trying to have the guests meet each other and talk about their experiences. He even calls the restaurant when the hunger pangs set in. And if you want directions to the wineries in the area, he gives you a map.

The morning brings the beautiful sunshine that pours through the skylight in one of the rooms. At 8:30, breakfast is served. Before the main course, a wine glass filled with yogurt, and assorted berries was served - just to tease you. This morning the main course is egg omelet. I requested it filled with fresh mushrooms, onions, and cheese, but other fillings were available.

The rest of the property is just 37 acres of beautiful trails, forests, and a pond where you can go fishing (bait is provided). We had a wonderful time there, and will definitely visit again.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
225
Reviewed May 22, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two days and chose this Bed and Breakfast because of the excellent reviews the B&B received. When we arrived at the Mayhurst, the reviews were better than expected! We are from NY and came down to Virginia for my 21st Birthday and we had the time of our lives, all thanks to the beautiful Mayhurst. The Generals Room was perfect for us, so clean, and the bed was extra comfortable!! The breakfast in the morning was outstanding. Jack and Pat are fantastic Inn keepers, very accomodating and helpful to us considering it was our first time in Virginia. We recommend you taste the wine and cheese served in the evening. We also went down to the lake, which is part of the Mayhurst, where my boyfriend and I found fishing rods awaiting our arrival. Jack was pleasant enough to give us live bait! Overall, the Mayhurst was everything we expected and more, stay here if you ever have the opportunity!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2005

I stayed at the Mayhurst Inn in Orange, VA, April 24 - 27. I have frequented many B&B's in the past but found this to be the most wonderful of all. I went to get away from the hustle and bustle of Washington, DC life and I returned home fully refreshed and relaxed. The innkeepers, Jack and Pat are most hospitable. I truly felt like family when I was there. The inn is kept in perfect shape and if you're a historical buff, you'll love this place. I loved walking the beautiful 37 acres and cherished quiet times by the pond which my room overlooked. The afternoon wine and cheese time was an awesome touch. After our chat time over wine and cheese, I'd retire to "my" hammock outdoors overlooking a beautifully kept garden. I would highly recommend this treasure find of an inn.

5  Thank SF_Herndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
2.9 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
0.8 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Inn at Westwood Farm
Inn at Westwood Farm
#3 of 7 in Orange
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#5 of 7 in Orange
246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greenock Manor
Greenock Manor
#6 of 7 in Orange
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayhurst Inn

Address: 12460 Mayhurst Ln, Orange, VA 22960-2847
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: $186 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayhurst Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayhurst Inn is a luxurious Virginia Bed and Breakfast located in Orange, VA and near Charlottesville. The stunning 156 year old 9200 sq. ft. Plantation Manor House and our eight unique guest rooms and suites will enchant you and provide the ideal back drop for a perfect getaway or vacation. Situated on 37 acres of the rolling Virginia Piedmont, surrounded by manicured lawns, multiple gardens, old growth trees and fields, you will be transported away from today's day-to-day stress to a time and place where relaxation was a way of life. You will be pampered with luxury, fine Virginia Wines, exceptional service and sumptuous breakfasts while surrounded with romance and history. Your stay at Mayhurst can be as relaxed as you want or filled with adventure and the many exciting things to do and places to visit that surround us. Come take pleasure in the "Plantation Experience" and enjoy some true Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayhurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayhurst Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing