We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Restore Your Spirit”
Review of Mayhurst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayhurst Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 11, 2009

My husband and I took a weekend to celebrate our 20th Anniversary in this charming B &
B. Arriving after a grueling drive to get out of the DC traffic, we were met with smiles, wine glasses, and scrumptious cheese. After visiting with the owners, we tried their suggestion for a local pizza place that hit the spot. Our hosts knew that we hoped to cycle that next day and had a wonderful album of possible bike routes for our pleasure. When we realized that our water bottles were moldy, not only were they replaced with cold water bottles from the host's fridge, but our own soiled bottles were thoroughly washed for our use upon our return. The breakfasts were tasty and plentiful; the Inn utterly "homey" and elegant; and the owners warm and friendly. This place is a gem in a bucolic setting. We went there to celebrate (and, that we did) but also found the afternoons spent reading on the back porch and naps in the hammock helped restore our spirits.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MASL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 321 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2009

The Mayhurst Inn showered our extended family, ages ranging from 16 months to 94 years old, with the utmost care from the beginning of graduation weekend on Thursday until we departed on Sunday afternoon. Not only was the Mayhurst Inn able to provide excellent customer service, they were well set-up to handle handicapped-accessible accommodations for our 94 year old great grandmother in the Garden Room, and provide a quiet haven in the Schoolhouse for my brother-in-law's small family that included a 16 month old daughter. If that was not enough, we also hosted a cocktail party at the Mayhurst Inn on Thursday night for the parents of our son's graduating class. The Mayhurst Inn made a beautiful backdrop for such a lovely nighttime event. The Innkeepers, Pat & Jack North, could not have been more gracious. All in all, the Mayhurst Inn is what every B & B should be - well done in every way!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Spent 3 nights at the Mayhurst with family and friends and could not have asked for a better respite from the busy times associated with a wedding which was also held on the propery.. The food was excellent , the property was gorgeous and the owners of the Inn could not have been more accomodating. We will definietly rerurn again when we have a chance to relax and enoy the beautiful setting. The town of Orange is quaint.
I highly recomend this Inn as a must , if you are looking for a great and peaceful getaway. in Virginia.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wannnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Pat adn Jack helped coordinate the wedding of my niece this past weekedn and the experience was magical. We had our family together for teh entire weekend at teh Mayhurst. . The accommodations were wonderful, the breakfasts out of this world and the atmosphere was spectacular. I would recommend the Mayhurst Inn to anyone wanting to hve a wedding reception in a beautiful envioronment or for a wonderful romantic getaway. Pat and Jack are fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tickenchewyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Jack and Pat were wonderful hosts, and we enjoyed their knowledge of the area, and their suggestions. We thoroughly enjoyed the wine and cheese reception in the evening. Jack served local wines, which we found to be excellent, and our conversations were fun. Great place, beautiful, and I wish we would have had more time to wander the grounds

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalleryGali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

This home is fascinating and in amazing condition. You are only 5 minutes away from numerous restaurants and conveniences but once on the huge property you feel miles from everything. You can walk all over the property so if you enjoy walking or running take tennis shoes although I wore sandels and had no issues.
We arrived before everyone else so I looked at all the rooms.The rooms are all cozy and perfect for a nap. We were in the General's Room which I loved with the huge windows and views of the lush property.
Breakfast was decadent! The first morning started with a delicious baked apple and then eggs benedict with roasted potatoes. A huge berry parfait and french toast with sauteed apples the next! Various juices, breakfast cakes and really good coffee.
Pat and Jack make this place and are completely mellow and seem to really enjoy having people in their home.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Mayhurst Inn the week after Easter for a 3-day get-away and to celebrate our anniversary. I must admit that I am torn in writing this review, as I would like to keep this little gem of a B&B to myself and not share what a truly beautiful home with gracious hosts that we experienced. The breakfasts were delicious and decadent, and all the amentities promised exceeded my expectations. The location is conveniently situated amongst a host of wineries and antique stores, as well as only a 35-40 minute drive from Charlottsville, VA

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
2.9 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
0.5 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.8 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
246 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn at Westwood Farm
Inn at Westwood Farm
#3 of 8 in Orange
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greenock Manor
Greenock Manor
#7 of 8 in Orange
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayhurst Inn

Address: 12460 Mayhurst Ln, Orange, VA 22960-2847
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: $181 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayhurst Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayhurst Inn is a luxurious Virginia Bed and Breakfast located in Orange, VA and near Charlottesville. The stunning 156 year old 9200 sq. ft. Plantation Manor House and our eight unique guest rooms and suites will enchant you and provide the ideal back drop for a perfect getaway or vacation. Situated on 37 acres of the rolling Virginia Piedmont, surrounded by manicured lawns, multiple gardens, old growth trees and fields, you will be transported away from today's day-to-day stress to a time and place where relaxation was a way of life. You will be pampered with luxury, fine Virginia Wines, exceptional service and sumptuous breakfasts while surrounded with romance and history. Your stay at Mayhurst can be as relaxed as you want or filled with adventure and the many exciting things to do and places to visit that surround us. Come take pleasure in the "Plantation Experience" and enjoy some true Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mayhurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayhurst Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing