We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Southern Ambiance”
Review of Mayhurst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayhurst Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
ctaffy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Relaxing Southern Ambiance”
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Gracious hosts,nice comfortable rooms and outstanding breakfast.Very helpful with sightseeing and dining suggestions.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
236
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We spent a couple of nights with Pat and Jack to celebrate our anniversary. What a wonderful choice! The house is steeped in Virginia history, with just enough changes to provide modern comforts. Our room was used by several general officers during the Civil War, but they didn't have the gas fireplace or insuite bath. To ensure everyone is welcome, the hosts have wine and cheese with the guests nightly in the library. They also provide great tips on dining and sights. Although it was a little cold in Feb, the grounds were beautiful and provide a great opporunity for quiet reflection. We will return and highly recommend the Mayhurst.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DK6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

This was a perfect romantic weekend getaway from DC! Mayhurst Inn is a gorgeous historical plantation house, and the rooms are beautiful. Jack & Pat were extremely helpful (providing us with maps and suggestions of things to do in the are) and cooked nice, homey breakfasts. Mayhurst Inn is also very well situated to explore the nearby wineries and historical attractions. If you're going to dinner in the area, we highly recommend Foti's -- delicious gourmet food, reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jollyrancher80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2009

My husband and I have stayed in many bed and breakfast type inns and The Mayhurst Inn is in a completly different category to itself. Jack and Pat are so friendly and knowledgeable! They not only provided a wonderful experience at their inn but also guided us through sightseeing, winery touring and fine dining. The inn itself is wonderfully done with historic charm but modern amenties (the bathrooms are amazing!). Breakfast was superb and Pat packed a gourmet picnic lunch for our day of signtseeing. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed our experience and will come back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afwlpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2009

The Mayhurst Inn is a very nice Inn on a beautiful piece of property. The rooms are quite nice, but can be matched by other Inns. What sets this place apart is the friendliness and service provided by the owners, Jack & Pat North. They are always willing to assist with whatever you may need. Being there to have a glass of wine and chat with their guests in the evening makes a comfortable experience for all. We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank member310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2009

We are regular visitors to the Charlottesville area and the Mayhurst Inn is where we stay assuming I've booked far enough in advance. It's a spectacular plantation house with wonderful light, high ceilings, beautifully restored and set on 35 acres.

Innkeepers Jack and Pat North are delightful and are a mine of information on places to visit and dine at, be it the historic homes of the founding fathers or local restaurants and wineries.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmvj100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We had a great weekend and Mr. and Mrs. North made it all possible. They are very kind folks who are easy to talk with. They went the extra step to make our weekend wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBweekenders09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.8 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
241 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
0.5 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayhurst Inn

Property: Mayhurst Inn
Address: 12460 Mayhurst Ln, Orange, VA 22960-2847
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayhurst Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayhurst Inn is a luxurious Virginia Bed and Breakfast located in Orange, VA and near Charlottesville. The stunning 156 year old 9200 sq. ft. Plantation Manor House and our eight unique guest rooms and suites will enchant you and provide the ideal back drop for a perfect getaway or vacation. Situated on 37 acres of the rolling Virginia Piedmont, surrounded by manicured lawns, multiple gardens, old growth trees and fields, you will be transported away from today's day-to-day stress to a time and place where relaxation was a way of life. You will be pampered with luxury, fine Virginia Wines, exceptional service and sumptuous breakfasts while surrounded with romance and history. Your stay at Mayhurst can be as relaxed as you want or filled with adventure and the many exciting things to do and places to visit that surround us. Come take pleasure in the "Plantation Experience" and enjoy some true Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mayhurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayhurst Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing