We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway weekened all due to the service of the Norths.”
Review of Mayhurst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayhurst Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
DC
1 review
“Great getaway weekened all due to the service of the Norths.”
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We had a great weekend and Mr. and Mrs. North made it all possible. They are very kind folks who are easy to talk with. They went the extra step to make our weekend wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBweekenders09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
233
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2009

A last minute business trip took me to Orange, Virginia (near Charlottesville) on historic Rt. 15. I was able to make a reservation at the Mayhurst Inn on a few hours notice. Though I arrived late (10:30 pm), the Norths were there to welcome me and right away I felt at home. Elegant but comfortable charm. Old world with all the newest amenities. I would recommend the Mayhurst Inn to anyone who wants to slip back into time, see a lovely Italiante Colonial from the inside, and be treated to the warm hospitality of Pat and Jack North. Very highly recommended.

  • Liked — The warmth of the Norths, and the historical atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Liked everything!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DSL49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

We had been to the Mayhurst in the summer and couldn't wait for a chance to return. We were not disappointed. The room was wonderful. We especially enjoyed the fireplace. Pat and Jack continue to be the best of hosts; welcoming, helpful and knowledgable. The Inn itself is beautiful and gracious. We arrived stressed and worn. We left two days later relaxed and refreshed. The breakfasts are wonderful and the wine and cheese offered in the evenings are a delight. Once again our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Liked — The large beautiful room, adjoining sitting room with fireplace and large jacuzzi.
  • Disliked — There was nothing wrong to dislike.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Phonehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2009

We first visited The Mayhurst a few months ago when we were looking for a site for our wedding. After a long and difficult search, it only took a brief conversation with Jack North and a tour of the Mayhurst to convince us both that we had found our site.

A few days ago we went back to the Mayhurst for one day so that we could meet some wedding vendors. We were even more impressed the second time. Jack and Pat were incredibly gracious hosts and gave us invaluable advice about our wedding planning. the room that we stayed in (The Southern Charm Room) and everything from the fireplace to the whirlpool tub to the music (cd's) and chocolates that were waiting for us made it the perfect place to relax after an exhausting day.

Breakfast the next morning was outstanding (and the coffee is the best that I've had in a long time) and completely unhurried.

I can't recommend the Mayhurst highly enough, whether it's for a weekend getaway or for the your big day.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jhenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

On short notice we picked The Mayhurst from the Internet. The reviews were rated Excellent, which grabbed my attention. From our experience it is no accident that Jack and and his wife Pat , the owners, get uniformly Excellent ratings. We stayed in the Southern Charm room, which was nice and very interesting. We had a super time, Jack and Pat were wonderful hosts, the mansion itself perfectly kept, even the breakfast was outstanding. You will enjoy The Mayhurst.

  • Liked — The hosts.
  • Disliked — I can't think of any negatives.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank novajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2008

Mayhurst Inn resides in historic Orange, VA where history from the Revolution on is minutes away. Jack and Pat North are the most dellightful hosts that you will ever meet. We used their "Southern Charm" room which lived up to its name. You can not go wrong staying at the Mayhurst Inn!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — What was not to like
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveGVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2008

This was my first experience with a B & B and I must say that Jack and Pat North exceeded all of our expectations. We stayed in the Italian Suite which was beautifully decorated and included a gas fireplace and large jetted tub. The service that Jack and Pat provide are without equal. We arranged for a hot air balloon ride via a package deal on their website. They made all the arrangements and all we had to do was show up at the right place. In the evenings Jack and Pat put out wine and cheese for their guests in the library, giving us a chance to socialize. They have menus from the local restaurants and are happy to recommend the perfect place. Jack is quick to pick up the phone and make reservations for you if the restaurant requires. Breakfast - oh my goodness! They serve breakfast in a beautiful dining room at the bottom level of the house. This is no waffle house breakfast. We're talking gourmet! They even have their own house blend of coffee which is excellent. Unfortunately we could not experience a walk on the expansive grounds because we were pressed for time and it was cold but it is supposed to be a pleasant experience.

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vtxpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
21.8 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.8 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
2.9 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayhurst Inn

Property: Mayhurst Inn
Address: 12460 Mayhurst Ln, Orange, VA 22960-2847
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayhurst Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayhurst Inn is a luxurious Virginia Bed and Breakfast located in Orange, VA and near Charlottesville. The stunning 156 year old 9200 sq. ft. Plantation Manor House and our eight unique guest rooms and suites will enchant you and provide the ideal back drop for a perfect getaway or vacation. Situated on 37 acres of the rolling Virginia Piedmont, surrounded by manicured lawns, multiple gardens, old growth trees and fields, you will be transported away from today's day-to-day stress to a time and place where relaxation was a way of life. You will be pampered with luxury, fine Virginia Wines, exceptional service and sumptuous breakfasts while surrounded with romance and history. Your stay at Mayhurst can be as relaxed as you want or filled with adventure and the many exciting things to do and places to visit that surround us. Come take pleasure in the "Plantation Experience" and enjoy some true Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mayhurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayhurst Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing