We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay..........”
Review of Mayhurst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayhurst Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 26, 2014

After reading some of the other reviews, I am going to sound like a broken record......The Mayhurst is a great B&B. The property is beautiful and the intial presentation of the main house after driving up the secluded access road is stunning. The hosts are very helpful with local information and a pleasure to deal with. Since we had a small dog with us, we stayed in the School House and found it charming and very secluded. Dogs are not allowed inside the main house, so we enjoyed the wine & cheese offering as well as breakfast on the front and rear porch respectively. Jack and Pat went out of their way to carve out time for us so we did not feel isolated (they join the guests for wine and cheese). They are also a treasure trove of information on the plantation history.

Breakfast was very good....eggs benedict, potatoes, muffins, etc. All made from scratch. Many B&Bs pay lipservice to the breakfast portion of the stay, but not this Inn.

Lots of antique shops and wineries in the area as well as other historical sites.....we will return.

Room Tip: If you are particular about the type of pillow you like, bring your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 321 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Mayhurst was a marvellous surprise Our First time in a ''Guest House' turned out to be one of the best things we have done in recent years Acquaint and absolutely beguiling building that grows on you by the day. Pat and Jack are there but not there always giving good advice and having menus from 50 miles about, they were really helpful Being US Civil Warbuffs it was another surprise and delight to discover the importance of the building to the Confederate Army staff. The accommodation caws in excellent order and really comfortable to stay in Breakfasts were fresh and hot and as much as you could eat. If we were not 3300 miles away I would use it often Pat and Jack thank you!... from the 4 Brits.

Room Tip: Stonewall Jackson Room WoW...!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnardini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Enjoyed a weekend getaway at the Mayhurst Inn. The owners were very knowledgeable about the area and helpful in setting up reservations, offering advice and directions. The house was originally built in 1859, but has updated plumbing and A/C. It is very close to a lot of history (Montpelier, Monticello) as well numerous wineries and excellent restaurants. Their breakfast was delightful with Eggs Benedict one morning and Pancakes and Sausages the other morning and fresh fruit. They will also cater to your food allergies. 5:30 pm was Wine and Cheese time in the library and you can learn all history of the house. Very relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the directions the Mayhurst will provide, do not turn on Mayhurst Lane!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeKStaffordVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

If I had to come up with something to make Mayhurst Inn sound not-perfect, maybe I could say the grass was too green and the sky was too blue.

You probably see what I'm getting at. Our stay was "perfect". We were out back in the "School house" and not in the manor house itself. This little cottage is pet-friendly and is equipped with a small kitchen which includes a small range/over, microwave, refrigerator (a small, full-size), and of course, private bath. You have practically a private little mini-mountain retreat right there!

I am unable to comment on the rooms in the big house, but the one I peeped into off the breakfast room downstairs was lovely. The public rooms are beautiful. The staircase is interesting for those who love stair-case design.

Our breakfasts (2 mornings) were delicious and well-served and in just the right portions for me personally.

Jack and Pat are surely are among the best hosts around. Helpful always. Gracious. Interesting themselves and interested in others. They are neither intrusive nor difficult in any way.

Mayhurst is just at the edge of Orange, Virginia, and easily found, although I don't think it is visible at all from the highway, unless it becomes so in the winter with no leaves on the trees.

Orange doesn't seem to be an upscale dining destination, but choices are available that are good, and serviceable and reasonably priced. Gordonsville has the upscale Pomme; Culpeper has dining options.

Mayhurst Inn gets my solid recommendation.

Room Tip: School House room (a separate cottage) is where we stayed and should be ideal for those wanting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful home. Owners working to refresh paint, but rain has delayed them a bit. Very friendly owners/in keepers!
Home is a little hard to find, even with GPS- just outside of town limits.
Stayed in the SchoolHouse - literally a one room schoolhouse of days gone by- very quaint! Great water pressure on shower. A/C works good too!
Stink Bugs are a problem in central and southern VA- you might find them hard to have in ur room when trying to sleep- we did!
Wine and cheese, along with soda, water and snacks laid out for evening,
Small town limited dining options and times- close up earlier than we were accustomed to. Unfortunately, we had to depart before breakfast was served - no opinion on food!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kymmi-On_The_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Amazing place and beautiful house/rooms. The owners are so friendly and give good tips on restaurants. Great snacks available all day. Nice wine tastings with good cheese. The best breakfast. We often talk about our visit which turned out to be a highlight on our trip from Denmark. We hope to return sometime.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonusmater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Celebrated New Years Eve here and the Inn and Pat and Jack (innkeepers) met every expectation! The mansion was still decorated from Christmas and just made it that more charming. Pat and Jack hosted wine tasting and cheese in their parlor where you could really understand their passion for the Inn and making all the guests feel at home. Many of the couples had reservations that evening for NYE and Jack called ahead to verify the time and gave precise directions. Breakfast was amazing with eggs benedict and poached apples with this cinnamon-sugar glaze. Mayhurst Inn is located near many wineries as well and its a beautiful part of Virginia!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RV3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
2.9 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
0.5 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.8 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
246 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn at Westwood Farm
Inn at Westwood Farm
#3 of 8 in Orange
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greenock Manor
Greenock Manor
#7 of 8 in Orange
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayhurst Inn

Address: 12460 Mayhurst Ln, Orange, VA 22960-2847
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: $181 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayhurst Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayhurst Inn is a luxurious Virginia Bed and Breakfast located in Orange, VA and near Charlottesville. The stunning 156 year old 9200 sq. ft. Plantation Manor House and our eight unique guest rooms and suites will enchant you and provide the ideal back drop for a perfect getaway or vacation. Situated on 37 acres of the rolling Virginia Piedmont, surrounded by manicured lawns, multiple gardens, old growth trees and fields, you will be transported away from today's day-to-day stress to a time and place where relaxation was a way of life. You will be pampered with luxury, fine Virginia Wines, exceptional service and sumptuous breakfasts while surrounded with romance and history. Your stay at Mayhurst can be as relaxed as you want or filled with adventure and the many exciting things to do and places to visit that surround us. Come take pleasure in the "Plantation Experience" and enjoy some true Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mayhurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayhurst Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing