We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem - a definite return visit”
Review of Mayhurst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayhurst Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem - a definite return visit”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I spent the Thankgiving weekend at the Mayhurst Inn this year and it was a fantastic time. The rooms are large and comfortable and the hosts, Pat and Jack, make you feel right at home with their fantastic breakfasts, the cordial wine and cheese in the evening and their knowledgeable conversation about the house, the area and the places to see and visit. Due to the holiday weekend, the guests were constantly changing - from a newly wed couple, a couple trying to get away from the house after hosting a full spread for their family, to returning couples who make the Inn a regular getaway from their too full workday lives. The restaurant suggestions were right on target and Orange and the nearby towns have fantastic cuisine and choice, with kitchens that rival those found in major metropolitan areas. My only fear in posting this review is that too many people will find out about Mayhurst and I will have trouble making the next reservation to this hidden gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
234
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Washington, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Mayhurst Inn is absolutely beautiful. From the moment my husband and I arrived, the owners made us feel right at home. Wine and cheese each afternoon and fabulous breakfasts! We used the Inn as a homebase for a weekend of wine touring in VA, which was perfect.

We stayed in the Southern Charm room. King-size bed, whirlpool tube, fireplace. Everything you need for a romantic weekend. The sound-proofing in the Inn was also quite extraordinary. I did not hear one peep all evening. I asked the other guests in the morning if my taking a bath after 10pm kept anyone awake and no one even heard the water running.

I cannot wait to return to this beautiful Inn and connot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Southern Charm room was perfect if you like a king-size bed. Most of the rooms have queens, I believ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather20744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Pat and Jack are a phenomenal team! They are happy to help with anything and everything you might need, yet manage to be quietly unobtrusive. Breakfast was delicious! We had the special wine paired dinner for two and it was perfect! We also had the packed picnic lunch which was great. The room was lovely. And we enjoyed the nightly wine and cheese socials with other guests. I would highly recommend this!

Room Tip: We peeked i the unoccupied rooms. They are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieSMaryland_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife and I highly recommend the Mayhurst Inn. Jack and Pat North offer a warmth of welcome and a great deal of helpful information about the fascinating vicinity surrounding the Inn. Exploring local historic sites and terrific scenic drives gets off to a great start each day with a delicious and hearty Mayhurst breakfast!

We stayed for two nights and wished we had booked for longer. Next time we will for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Wonderfully historic accomodations! Perfect host and hostess full of history and local information. Beautiful landscape and superb layout. Stayed in the old schoolhouse with my wife for the weekend and they gave us one night free for being U.S. Army veterans. Unbelievable wine and cheese every night and breakfasts were awesome. Listen to their recommendations for eating, sightseeing and shopping. Or just hike and enjoy the grounds of Mayhurst. Will definitely go back. And climb all 65 stairs to the top of the cupola! Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Jack and Pat are the owners and simply a great spot. If you are a history buff this is a must. An authentic 1860 built house that hosted civil war generals. Awesome stay. This is a great spot for a getaway or visiting Woodberry Forest and the price was reasonable. Very welcoming.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bradylteague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Mayhurst Inn for two nights in late September, as part of a touring holiday of Virginia. The beautiful house has an interesting history and is set in extensive grounds, complete with a multitude of birds. A lot of thought has gone into making the rooms very comfortable and welcoming, and Jack's wine and cheese tastings are not to be missed - he is an extremely generous and knowledgeable host. Last, but certainly not least, Pat's delicious home-cooked breakfasts are guaranteed to get the day off to a superb start. Many thanks from two very satisfied guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajsblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.5 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
239 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayhurst Inn

Property: Mayhurst Inn
Address: 12460 Mayhurst Ln, Orange, VA 22960-2847
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayhurst Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayhurst Inn is a luxurious Virginia Bed and Breakfast located in Orange, VA and near Charlottesville. The stunning 156 year old 9200 sq. ft. Plantation Manor House and our eight unique guest rooms and suites will enchant you and provide the ideal back drop for a perfect getaway or vacation. Situated on 37 acres of the rolling Virginia Piedmont, surrounded by manicured lawns, multiple gardens, old growth trees and fields, you will be transported away from today's day-to-day stress to a time and place where relaxation was a way of life. You will be pampered with luxury, fine Virginia Wines, exceptional service and sumptuous breakfasts while surrounded with romance and history. Your stay at Mayhurst can be as relaxed as you want or filled with adventure and the many exciting things to do and places to visit that surround us. Come take pleasure in the "Plantation Experience" and enjoy some true Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Mayhurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayhurst Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing