We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amemorable week-end”
Review of Mayhurst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayhurst Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Potomac
1 review
“Amemorable week-end”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Everything about Mayhurst Inn is warm and inviting. Our hosts, Pat and Jack North, could not have been more welcoming and informative about things to do and see in the area. The inn is beautifully furnished, including all of the guest rooms, and the architectural appointments, inside and out, are unique and lovely. And their delicious breakfasts are not to be missed!

This is our third stay at Mayhurst and we will be back again.

Mary Jane R.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and beautifully furnished in period furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
233
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at Mayhurst for the first time this past Fri. 11/2/2012 and Sat. 11/3/2012, in order to see the Montpelier Races near Orange, VA. From start to finish, Owners Jack and Pat North made our stay an absolute pleasure. Very smooth process, very professional, warm and caring people. Genuine. We stayed in the Madison room, and slept like rocks both nights in the very quiet home. Breakfast both days was very, very good. Pat and Jack make it look easy, and what they do so well cannot be easy without a lot of attention to detail and a lot of thought about how to make guests have a relaxing visit. We just got home to Northern Virginia yesterday (about 80 miles from Orange) and have already made reservations at The Mayhurst Inn for next year's racing. Don't miss the two miles or so of mowed grass walkways through the property. There is a lot of beautiful scenery in the area. We've stayed in 'nice' B&Bs before in New England, Maryland, and Virginia, and cannot remember a place or hosts we liked better.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the Madison Room. Quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAngst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Managed to get a 3 night booking at very short notice and could not have been more delighted with our choice. From our moment of arrival Pat and Jack offered oodles of advice (supplemented by lashings of wine from local vinyards!) and continued as superb hosts throughout our stay. The house has been beautifully conserved with great attention to period detail. The bed and bedding proved particularly comfortable and luxurious and, after a great night's sleep, we were treated to a magnificent breakfast. It would be wonderful to find such a quality guesthouse closer to home as we would definitely be regular visitors!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We arrived on the evening of our 26th Wedding Anniversary. We had been traveling and came in later in the evening. We were warmly greeted at the door by Jack, the innkeeper. We arrived just in time for the wine and cheese reception in the parlor. Jack was very helpful. He helped us select a place for dinner and even called to make the reservations as we enjoyed our glass of wine and conversation with other guests. We stayed in the General's Room on the main floor. It was comfortable and charming. The house is amazing! If you are into history, it is a must stay if you are in the Charlottesville area. Breakfast was wonderful. We highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is THE place for a wedding! We had our wedding there in September. We loved everything about the venue and the owners. Pat and Jack were extremely helpful from showing us around the property even before we had chosen the venue to packing leftovers from the caterers so that we had a midnight snack after the wedding. Jack and Pat gave us tons of help with selecting the other aspects of our wedding. The suggestions made everything run smoothly. The house is one of a kind, full of history and elegance. The property is astounding as well. Jack does a wonderful job to keep the entire property pristine for the guests. Also Pat is a wonderful cook, the breakfast was to die for. We couldn't have asked for anything more!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A beautiful house just as one imagines an old plantation house to look like. Lovely large bedroom with great bathroom. No need for lunch after a fantastic breakfast. Wine and cheese in the lounge in the evening. Lots of information from the owners about local attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mayhurst for a short weekend away (two nights) in September. The inn is perfectly located for a hiking/wine tasting/weekend away - it took only 20 minutes to reach an area with 4 wineries located very close to each other. The innkeepers were knowledgeable about the area and even had tasting coupons that saved you a few bucks at the wineries. Cute little town within a very short drive (we liked not being right in town). Hiking within 40 minutes - we did White Oak Canyon.
Our room had a full bathroom in the room and a queen bedroom (king rooms were all booked). As with many old houses in the late summer, stink bugs were trying to creep in. But the owners did a good job of trying to keep them at bay.
And the breakfasts were the best we've ever had at a B&B. Coffee, mini scones to start each day, then a fruit parfait breakfast "appetizer" (I didn't know there were appetizers for breakfast), followed by blueberry pancakes. The next day was a baked apple "appetizer", followed by Eggs Benedict. Very well done. Just what we wanted in a B&B. I am sure we will be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vatravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
21.8 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.8 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
2.9 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayhurst Inn

Property: Mayhurst Inn
Address: 12460 Mayhurst Ln, Orange, VA 22960-2847
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayhurst Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayhurst Inn is a luxurious Virginia Bed and Breakfast located in Orange, VA and near Charlottesville. The stunning 156 year old 9200 sq. ft. Plantation Manor House and our eight unique guest rooms and suites will enchant you and provide the ideal back drop for a perfect getaway or vacation. Situated on 37 acres of the rolling Virginia Piedmont, surrounded by manicured lawns, multiple gardens, old growth trees and fields, you will be transported away from today's day-to-day stress to a time and place where relaxation was a way of life. You will be pampered with luxury, fine Virginia Wines, exceptional service and sumptuous breakfasts while surrounded with romance and history. Your stay at Mayhurst can be as relaxed as you want or filled with adventure and the many exciting things to do and places to visit that surround us. Come take pleasure in the "Plantation Experience" and enjoy some true Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mayhurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayhurst Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing