We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Mayhurst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayhurst Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
GLEN ALLEN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Every thing was perfect-cannot say enought-we will go back. The innkeepers are great and
know the places to eat and area history, very helpful. I would highly advise any one to give
this B&B a try. We went in the fall and want to go back again around the same time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2whitecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
236
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smith Mountain Lake
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a wonderful experience. Jack and Pat were fabulous hosts and made us feel so welcome. The wine and cheese reception was particularly wonderful and they abounded with information on the home's history and the many activities and destinations nearby. Their recommendation of Pomme Restaurant resulted in a not-to-be-missed dining experience. If you are considering a B&B in this area, this is the one for you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judilyjudily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was our second trip to the Mayhurst and we'll be back. From the arrival to the departure Jack and Pat made us feel just like part of the family. They really go all out to make you feel welcome. Whether it's the welcoming glass of wine with cheese, the gorgeous breakfasts or just the elegance of the rooms, you won't be disappointed. Jack and Pat are ever ready with suggestions for exploring the surrounding area or just engaging in conversation. Don't miss this one!

Room Tip: - Rooms are all quiet and the inn is set back 1/3 of a mile from the main road. - All the room hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

A clean sweep -- the innkeepers, property, food, and location make this B&B a terrific place to stay. Jack and Pat are highly knowledgeable about local history, local wineries and other attractions, and are great cooks and bakers. They had excellent wine and cheese available each evening (for free!). The house dripping in history, which only adds to the ambiance and significance of the residence. (Ask to see the photoalbum in the library to view the remarkable transformation of the Inn after Jack and Pat took ownership of the house.) We took a wine tasting class offered by Jack at the Inn, which was not only highly enjoyable but also very informative. The Inn is conveniently located just minutes from some of Virginia's best wineries, civil war battlefields (Cedar Mountain, the Wilderness, and Spotsylvania), and good-to-excellent restaurants. Jack keep menus of several local restaurants he recommends to his guests. By the way, the breakfeast served by Pat and Jack is truly outstanding!

Room Tip: Request a room with a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borntoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I surprised my boyfriend for his 50th birthday by taking him here for a Civil War vacation. Jack and Pat made sure everything was taken care of....from the tours, the breakfasts, dinners, wine and cheese reception, everything. Even when we had a little down time, they were there for recommendations and directions. The whole trip was relaxing and perfect. We can't wait to go back and explore some more. Thanks for everything, I couldn't have pulled this off without you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigger1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I love history and the Mayhurst was a unique experience. We were able to stay in the same guest room enjoyed by Stonewall Jackson in 1862. The home is an architectural treasure and the grounds are beautiful. A delicious breakfast was served in a formal setting that reminds one of the South's grander days. We were extremely pleased with our room and with all of the amenities provided to make our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We drove from Pennsylvania to Orange Virginia to meet with old friends from South Carolina that we had originally met on a river cruise a few years ago. They had stayed at the Mayhurst Inn a few times and loved it. Everything that they had described to us was exactly as they had said. The Inn is truely a national treasure. Jack and Pat North, the owners, greeted us on Friday evening, helped carry our bags to our room and described the room's theme (we were in the "Madison" room) and the reason the wall paper was a deep red. As Jack had said, "Dolly Madison said you could have any color...just as long as it was red! The following morning Jack and Pat served a breakfast that most of us had not seen at our own home in a long time...think the holidays! Jack then got us tickets for Monteplier to visit James Madison's home as well as complimentary tickets for a wine tasting. Later in the day, he made reservations for us at a local restaurant. I believe it was called the Meander Restaurant...incredible experience! Sunday, after church, we traveled to Charlottesville to visit the UVA campus. We arrived back at the Inn just in time to sit on the back porch and have wine and cheese with Jack and Pat (as they usually do each evening at 5:30)...toasting another beautiful day! The inn sits on a hill surounded by 37 green-filled acreas, The only sounds you may hear are the birds chirping and the stair case creaking as you try not to wake anyone early in the morning as your walk through this magnificient home. When you think of what the perfect bed and breakfast should look like, feel like and expereience-like...think of the Mayhurst Inn. We hope we have the opportunity for a return visit with Jack and Pat and enjoy the Mayhurst Inn once-again. One other note: the fellow visitors that we had the pleasure of meeting were great. It was so enjoyable to sit, have some wine and cheese and listen to the introductions of our fellow visitors. Each couple had their own stories each interesting unto itself.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Madison room. It looked out over the front of the home. For some reason, I really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.8 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
241 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
0.5 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayhurst Inn

Property: Mayhurst Inn
Address: 12460 Mayhurst Ln, Orange, VA 22960-2847
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayhurst Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayhurst Inn is a luxurious Virginia Bed and Breakfast located in Orange, VA and near Charlottesville. The stunning 156 year old 9200 sq. ft. Plantation Manor House and our eight unique guest rooms and suites will enchant you and provide the ideal back drop for a perfect getaway or vacation. Situated on 37 acres of the rolling Virginia Piedmont, surrounded by manicured lawns, multiple gardens, old growth trees and fields, you will be transported away from today's day-to-day stress to a time and place where relaxation was a way of life. You will be pampered with luxury, fine Virginia Wines, exceptional service and sumptuous breakfasts while surrounded with romance and history. Your stay at Mayhurst can be as relaxed as you want or filled with adventure and the many exciting things to do and places to visit that surround us. Come take pleasure in the "Plantation Experience" and enjoy some true Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mayhurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayhurst Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing