We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first class privacy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Willow Grove
Ranked #3 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ponte vedra beach, Florida, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“first class privacy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

my wife and i stayed at the inn thanksgiving day and after and were lucky enough to be in the "butler's cottage". the decor, comfort and amenities here were equal to any other similar places we have stayed such as post ranch inn and meadow wood in california. our personal butler, gene, was true gentleman and quite expert on when to engage and when to leave us ample privacy. airport pickup by gene in a porsche sedan was that extra touch only the best places in the world think to offer. the owners, charlene and david are supremely gracious and their taste is exquisite. the comfort of the dining room, with fire pits and fireplaces seemingly everywhere you decided to sit, as well as the delicious menu and preparation made all meals enough to never want/have to leave this property. the bar is one of the most comfortable and luxurious drinking rooms imaginable. this place will not be a secret for long.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbykunkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    16
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
38
218
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

We spent our weekend at the completely renovated 1778 grand Inn at Willow Grove. As a world travellers we have been to many places before and this one is over the top and will be for years to come as you can see the commitment from the Inn's owners to transform this historic plantation into a destination. Five stars amenities, amazing decor and surrounding, staff trained with mastery and grace. There was nothing about our trip we did not like. Thank you for Gene our Buttler du Jour for making our visit so memorable. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

What a wonderful treat as a way to celebrate our anniversary! We were warmly greeted and shown around, then taken to our beautifully appointed room in the main Inn building ("Interior" room). The lighting and decor were just beautiful, not only in our room but throughout the entire Inn. We enjoyed a drink in the cozy bar, hors doeuvres in the salon, and had an excellent meal at the restaurant, Vintage. The bar and restaurant were busy all evening, but the service was excellent. When we returned to our room after dinner, there was fresh ice in the ice bucket, along with a tray of tea and cupcakes, which we were too full to even taste. And in the morning, coffee and absolutely sinful fresh hot beignets were delivered to the room, along with the Washington Post. We were very happy to have a room in the main inn on this cold wintry day, but would love to go back and stay in one of the cottages with their own porches when the weather is nicer. We will definitely make a return visit!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Lover2008_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast US
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

This is a gem in the horse country of Virginia. It is lovely and has terrific food. The romatic charm is great for couples. The quiet is great for firends to talk. Nice bar that is a perfect place to meet friends. The overnight rooms are over the top. Perfect!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hokie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

The Inn at Willow Grove is really is heaven on earth. From the stately main house that takes you back to antebellum days to the charming cottages to the UNBELIEVABLY wonderful staff, every experience is a delight.

My fiance and I went spent our engagement weekend there, and we were both blown away by the setting and the service. Liz and Lita both made wonderful recommendations for local hikes and followed up with printed out maps and directions. Patrick and Glen treated us like royalty (which we never expected!). And the owner David was heavily involved in all operations---in the very best way possible. You can tell that the people of Willow Grove care deeply about the guests' experiences.

And holy cow, I'll need an entirely new page for my praises of the restaurant, Vintage. It's in the main house, and the food is OUTSTANDING. We ate 4 out of 5 meals there. And would have eaten lunch there if we weren't on the hiking trail. Every single dish was delicious! Not to mention beautifully presented and extremely creative. Am I using enough adverbs here? The decor was great--stylish and modern, yet so comfortable and inviting. And the service in the restaurant was just as wonderful as the hotel service! The bar was great, and the FIRE PITS just made it all the better. Patrick surprised us with complimentary champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries by the fire pit to celebrate our engagement.

They've really taken every detail into consideration--down to the heated towel racks and heated floors in the bathroom, the fireplaces everywhere, the rocking chairs and porches and luxurious bedding. I cried when we left. Seriously. Full disclosure, I'm a crier...but honestly, this was the best hotel experience I've ever had. I can't wait to go back. And maybe have my wedding there....

So there is a ton I'm leaving out, but all in all, the views are gorgeous (especially with the leaves turning), the cottages are fantastic, the restaurant is out of this world, the location is ideal (very close to Charlottesville and awesome hiking trails), and the people transform it from a very nice hotel to an ultra-special, personalized, I'll-remember-this-trip-forever types of trips. Well done, David and team. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristenM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

I'm reluctant to write this review, because I like the idea of WIllow Grove being a secret place only we know about. BUT, the place is too good not to share. We got engaged the evening before we arrived, so it was a weekend we wanted to remember, and this place delivered. The people were really friendly and made us feel at home. The people may have been the best part. Then again, our room was perfect. We stayed in the Weaver Cottage and it was just perfect for us. Of course, all the rooms in the inn and the cottages were great. They've thought of everything. Then they have the fire pits and outdoor sitting areas. Really relaxing. Lastly, the restaurant is awesome. Great food that's tasty and indulgent and just plain good. Willow Grove is a special place and will be part of our plans as we celebrate special events in the years to come.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JedD10019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

This place is fantastic. The property is beautiful, and the service is the best around. We spent four nights in the Tenant House. We rented both the upstairs and the downstairs rooms. I recommend that you take both rooms for the extra privacy. That way the wraparound porch is all yours. Ask for Gene to be your majordomo!! He knows everything about the area and is very well read in many subjects. On top of that he will bring coffee and hot beignets in the morning. At night you receive hot tea and a dessert to end the day.

Breakfast was delicious. We didn't eat in the restaurant, however we did a walk thru and it looked great. I predict this place is going to be full all the time once the word gets out. I have already planted the seed of going back for our anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
21.9 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
2.9 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Willow Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Willow Grove

Property: The Inn at Willow Grove
Address: 14079 Plantation Way, Orange, VA 22960-2261
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn at Willow Grove 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn at Willow Grove, an elegant boutique hotel in the heart of Virginia wine country. Nestled on a private 40-acre estate in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, our historic 18th century plantation house and surrounding cottages feature a unique blend of chic and elegant “urban meets plantation” style, exceptional world-class amenities and gracious southern charm. Relax and unwind in any of our 14 luxurious rooms and suites, or join us at Vintage Restaurant for a mouthwatering farm-to-table meal. We are the perfect destination for romantic weekenders, countryside tourists, wine-enthusiasts, history buffs… anyone at all looking for a luxurious, relaxing and truly unforgettable escape.Our critically acclaimed property has enjoyed outstanding reviews from The Washington Post, Southern Living, Wine Enthusiast, Departures Magazine, DC Magazine, and Washingtonian Magazine, among others. Escape. Unwind. Indulge with us at The Inn at Willow Grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Willow Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Willow Grove Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing