We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Willow Grove
Ranked #4 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Relax and unwind”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My fiance and I just celebrated our anniversary here. It was exactly what we needed. Luxurious and welcoming. The staff was amazing and the amenities were wonderful.

We stayed in the overlook, which as the name implies overlooks the property and has an incredible view of the rolling meadows and farms. It was quiet and secluded. At first we could not get to our room because the road was blocked for a wedding. The staff took it upon themselves to wine and dine us on the house while we waited the few minutes for the wedding to finish up.

We had dinner in the restaurant, and let me say it was delicious. The tuna was out of this world and they had a great selection of local wines (we drank two bottles).

I can't recommend this place enough, just simply incredible. We will be going back every year for our anniversary and are already planning on going again before the end of the year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillandshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you! We’re delighted to be your annual anniversary destination and look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    18
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
39
224
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We came back for our second time at the Inn - the only time in our 10 year marriage when we have stayed in a place more than once! We are so glad we did. This place is so special. It is just such a beautiful, peaceful, luxurious experience to be there. We were looking forward all year to relaxing on the porch and the wonderful little touches like the turn-down service. We cannot say enough good things about this place!

- Sarah and Daniel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We’re honored to be the first destination that you have chosen to revisit in ten years! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. We hope to see you for a third visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I needed an escape from the DC grind. She had back surgery a few weeks earlier, though, so we were looking for somewhere within two hours drive. We also wanted to check out some new places we hadn't stayed and do some sampling for planning future trips. Our journey started off a little rough by staying at the 1804 Inn at Barboursville. We were very disappointed with our two nights there so we were very relieved when we arrived at Willow Grove. Completely different experience. Michelle met us at the front desk and made us feel at home immediately. We stayed in the Weaver's Cottage with a relaxing porch to sit on and take in the beautifully landscaped grounds. The room was very clean, nicely decorated and had a very comfortable bed that we sank right into. The bath was nice too with heated tile and towel bars. To top it off there is a fireplace (being August we did not use it but it was a nice part of the overall feel). Our butler was attentive and friendly and dropped off French press coffee and beignets each morning, turn down service at night and even let my wife take home flowers from the property that he had placed in the room.
Two suggestions - the overhead rain shower was a little too much for the size of the shower. At times I felt like I was being water boarded. And the housekeeping staff didn't leave new shampoo and conditioner the next morning (something our butler took care of quickly with one call.) They also left the shower door streaked with soap residue. These were minor little problems that didnt take away from the overall experience - but things that can't be overlooked if you're a luxury property.
When you stay check out the restaurant. We ate in the bar and received excellent service from Lisa the bartender! She was very attentive and friendly despite being very busy. The restaurant manager and the general manager both came over and spoke with us and welcomed us to the Inn - the owner also stopped by as well. One of the servers, Amy, also greeted us when she picked up her drinks at the service bar. She was very friendly and helped us with a shortcut out of the bar to get back to the room.
We also took a day trip to nearby Culpepper for some shopping and stopped by Early Mountain Vineyard. Early Mountain is beautiful and only a few minutes away. The homes of Preisdents Madison, Jefferson and Monroe are only a short trip away and we spent time at each. Overall a relaxing stay that recharged our systems. We will definitely be back this Fall for a longer stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We’re so happy you were able to get away from the DC “grind” with us! We take great pride in providing a luxurious setting so guests can “escape, unwind and indulge” in luxury, and we want every guest to feel that we are a home away from home! We sincerely appreciate your feedback and will take a close look at the water pressure in our bathrooms. We want our bathrooms to feel like your own personal spa, and every little detail from the water pressure from the rainfall showerheads to the L’Occitaine en Provence verbena personal products is important to the experience. Thank you again for joining us, and we look forward to having you back for a longer stay this Fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triangle, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend the weekend in Orange antiquing and visiting Montpelier while our kids spent a week with their grandparents. We chose the Inn at Willow Grove. We realized when we arrived that a friend of ours had gotten married here 15 years prior.

We had an amazing time. I will warn you that if you are staying in the main building, there are lots of stairs to navigate, and if you stay in the loft like we did, it will be warm and if you are taller than 5'5", you will bean yourself on the sloped ceiling above the stairs outside your room or on the sloped ceilings next to the bed or in the bathroom (I'm 6' and got it on the stairs and in the bedroom... my wife is 5'7" and got it in the bathroom next to the sink). Also, no kids under 12 are allowed. Two suites allow pets, so reserve early if you need those.

Our butler was amazing, helping with the luggage, bringing us beignets and coffee in the morning and tea and cakes at turndown. There are 14 rooms/ suites in cabins, and each is very differently decorated, so look at them on the web before reserving one. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Thanks to the kid rule, it was very quiet. And they have an excellent restaurant downstairs that is open for breakfast only for inn guests and open to all for lunch and dinner. If you are staying in Orange, do yourself a favor and stay here.

Room Tip: Reserve early. Avoid main house if you can't handle stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Orange is such a wonderful destination for antiquing and history touring. Thank you for making us a part of your experience! Since our historic plantation house dates back to 1778, it unfortunately is not able to accommodate an elevator. You are correct that guests do have to navigate a few stairs inside the Manor House! Most of our cottages are free of stairs, however, and our Carriage House East is ADA-compliant for guests who need help getting around. We do encourage guests to make reservations early, particularly if you are looking to travel with furry friends. Our three dog-friendly deluxe suites in the Overlook Cottage tend to book quickly! Thank you for posting. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very nice place.. renovated with upgraded decor and fixtures as you would expect a high-end/upscale Inn. The restaurant offers contemporary American cuisine done very well, rivaling high-end DC restaurants. Great place to go with friends, have a few drinks in their bar, and then dinner. Very special services from the butler, nighttime tea in the room..

Room Tip: The "Interior" room is a great value.. its the smallest and least expensive, but still gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently spent a night at the Inn (based on other tripadvisor reviews) on our way somewhere else. We'll definitely come back when we can spend more time. I can't say enough nice things about this place. It is a beautiful, peaceful property. Our room (Carriage House East) was spotless, comfortable, well-appointed, and relaxing. We enjoyed an excellent dinner at the restaurant. The level of service here is very high - our 'butler' Phillip couldn't have been nicer. The coffee and beignet service in your room in the morning and the turn-down service at night (complete with herbal tea and desert) could definitely spoil you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirdandBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We’re so happy that your experience lived up to the high standards set by our wonderful Tripadvisor reviews! Thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

They deserve more than 5 stars. What an exquisite yet comfortable hotel. Every detail has been addressed from the very best bedding and linens to all the amenities you would ever need in your room and throughout the Inn. The service is superior and the entire staff provided a truly great experience. The Inn has combined all of the best features of a top rated hotel with true southern hospitality. I was there for business purposes but the experience was true pleasure. The food enhances the entire experience at The Inn. What a wonderful dining experience. You need to place The Inn at Willow Grove at the top of your list. I certainly will be returning and highly recommend it for pleasure and business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
21.9 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
463 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
2.2 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
318 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
3.0 mi away
Inn at Westwood Farm
Inn at Westwood Farm
#3 of 8 in Orange
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Willow Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Willow Grove

Property: The Inn at Willow Grove
Address: 14079 Plantation Way, Orange, VA 22960-2261
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn at Willow Grove 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn at Willow Grove, an elegant boutique hotel in the heart of Virginia wine country. Nestled on a private 40-acre estate in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, our historic 18th century plantation house and surrounding cottages feature a unique blend of chic and elegant “urban meets plantation” style, exceptional world-class amenities and gracious southern charm. Relax and unwind in any of our 14 luxurious rooms and suites, or join us at Vintage Restaurant for a mouthwatering farm-to-table meal. We are the perfect destination for romantic weekenders, countryside tourists, wine-enthusiasts, history buffs… anyone at all looking for a luxurious, relaxing and truly unforgettable escape.Our critically acclaimed property has enjoyed outstanding reviews from The Washington Post, Southern Living, Wine Enthusiast, Departures Magazine, DC Magazine, and Washingtonian Magazine, among others. Escape. Unwind. Indulge with us at The Inn at Willow Grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Willow Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Willow Grove Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing