We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, wonderful people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Willow Grove
Ranked #4 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The experience begins as your turn into the gate for this old southern estate and can see the beautifully renovated home up on the hill. From there, you walk into the lower level of the home, where there is a stunning restaurant and bar. The staff pay attention to the smallest details to make your experience simply amazing. They work as a team seamlessly to deliver an exceptional experience with top-quality service. The staff are very personable and understand what it means to be in a customer-facing role.

The food was some simply outstanding, using unique combinations of flavors to deliver a dining experience that you cannot find anyone else. There are so many delicious choices on the menu that it is difficult to make a decision. Presentation and plating of every dish definitely show the Inn's attention to detail.

The balance of the antiquity of the home and decorations with the modern conveniences create a truly unique experience that I would recommend to anyone again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Willow Grove
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 361 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed the schoolhouse for our mid week 10th anniversary. It was wonderful. The service was incredible -- Steven, our "butler" has great recommendations for local places to see, in the restaurant Lisa and Carlos were great -- with wine suggestions and service. The grounds are lovely and I really recommend taking a walk around to see the other cottages.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stacey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

We’re so happy you enjoyed a special anniversary with us. Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

From the moment you pull up to the lovely renovated inn, you can't help but smile at the beauty and anticipate what lies within. Upon entering the Main House quickly lose yourself in the fabulous balance of high end luxury details mixed with just enough rustic charm to keep it from becoming uncomfortably stuffy. The staff was charming, knowledgeable and could not do enough to make sure our stay was anything but perfection.

We were situated in the Butler's Cottage which was a private oasis unto itself between private porch and patio to enjoy the wonderful Virginia weather, amazing bedroom with king sized bed adorned with only the best of linens and brick fireplace, gorgeous bathroom with a soaking tub and comfortable but beautiful sitting room. Our days began with our personal butler bringing us French pressed coffee and warm beignets and ended with a tray of tea and sweet treats when we retired for the evening. From décor to service, Charlene and Dave made sure that there was not one detail that was not top shelf and that you left feeling nothing but pampered.

The grounds were impeccably maintained with an air of romance making it easy to see why it is a popular wedding venue. Yet, it is was comfortable and elegant making it the perfect setting for the corporate retreat we were attending as well. It isn't often that you attend a corporate event and make your spouse promise to bring you back for your anniversary which speaks volumes. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our adult children gave me a surprise retirement party June 1st. The dinner for approximately fifty guests was so well orchestrated from start to finish. The staff at the Inn were friendly, caring, and paid attention to every detail. Chef Jason Daniels' menu selection was excellent; our friends are still talking about the delicious dinner, complete with a beautiful strawberry shortcake. Many thanks to Alice, Michelle, Cody and the entire team for making this a very memorable event for our family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHS1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

We’re so pleased to hear that you enjoyed a special surprise for this wonderful occasion! Congratulations again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

As you drive up the driveway to The Inn at Willow Grove, you cannot help but be awed by the beauty of the inn, the landscaping and the surrounding countryside. You really feel as though you are stepping back in time and may wish you were in a horse drawn carriage and hoop skirt rather than an SUV and yoga pants! The sincerely friendly and welcoming staff makes you feel as though they've been waiting all day for you to arrive and are thrilled to have you there. When they show you to your room, it is truly with a sense of pride. Inside the inn you'll find surprises everywhere, with lovely little nooks and charming alcoves. But the most extraordinary aspect of the inn is the perfect balance between historical and modern. In renovating the inn, Charlene and Dave really and truly blended the best of both worlds. While maintaining the traditional beauty and integrity of the inn, every imaginable modern and luxurious amenity has been added...marble bathroom floors with radiant heat...huge deep soaker tubs...sumptuously upholstered chairs and chaises...fantastic meeting space for corporate retreats. And everywhere you look you'll find adorable whimsical surprises...antique wooden shoe forms used as door stops...rooster and frog fountains...and a clock which reminds us that it's always 5 o'clock somewhere. While my reason for going to the inn was a corporate retreat, I will return for pleasure (and hope to return for future corporate retreats). The Inn at Willow Grove is a very special place and a wonderful place to spend a few long, lazy days.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Our “urban meets plantation” signature style truly is a unique mix of modern and antique. We are so happy you enjoyed a special experience for your corporate retreat! We look forward to seeing you again for next year’s retreat – and for any time that you feel like getting away for a weekend indulgence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We are ....
Rested and relaxed....
Have a new appreciation for attention to detail
Awed by the personal and personable service and the non-stop desire to please

They are....
The most gracious hosts/owners and staff
And they pampered - but did not impose

It is...
A lovely setting
Intimate, friendly, cozy and private
Elegant yet relaxed atmosphere
The perfect wedding venue
Surrounded by scenic farmland and hills

Nearby...
History abounds
With vineyards, art and interesting places to see
And quaint little towns in which to roam...

We have already booked our return trip in the fall - need we say more?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for posting! We couldn’t be happier that you enjoyed a restful, relaxing stay and we can’t wait to see you back this Fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Really beautiful place (looks like one of the Presidents' plantations we visited!) which seems to be popular for weddings. The rooms, food, etc were all as expected for a relatively expensive B&B. Amenities were very good as well. The only complaint (and it's a fairly minor complaint) is that it is a rather large place, with weddings, lots of rooms, many other guests and people walking around, so it's not the absolute best if you're looking for a small, private experience. It's also about 15 minutes from the nearest town (Orange, VA) which itself is very small. As long as it's you're looking for a quiet getaway, it's perfect, but the nearest city with any sort of nightlife (Charlottesville) is about 45 minutes away. All in all, it was very nice. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kafftraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Make no mistake, we are a boutique hotel, not a bed and breakfast! With 14 luxury rooms and suites in our historic 18th century plantation house and surrounding cottages, our property is certainly larger than a typical B&B, but our accommodations are no less private. Each room and suite is designed to be a private oasis for guests to enjoy the ultimate luxury getaway. Our 60-seat fine dining restaurant and Pub are a sociable atmosphere until 11:30 on weekends, and entertainment and live music is available most Fridays and Saturdays in downtown Orange. However, you are right that night owls looking for a late-night scene would be best suited to look elsewhere. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
21.9 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
466 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
2.2 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 mi away
Inn at Westwood Farm
Inn at Westwood Farm
#3 of 8 in Orange
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Willow Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Willow Grove

Address: 14079 Plantation Way, Orange, VA 22960-2261
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: $294 - $1,608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn at Willow Grove 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn at Willow Grove, an elegant boutique hotel in the heart of Virginia wine country. Nestled on a private 40-acre estate in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, our historic 18th century plantation house and surrounding cottages feature a unique blend of chic and elegant “urban meets plantation” style, exceptional world-class amenities and gracious southern charm. Relax and unwind in any of our 14 luxurious rooms and suites, or join us at Vintage Restaurant for a mouthwatering farm-to-table meal. We are the perfect destination for romantic weekenders, countryside tourists, wine-enthusiasts, history buffs… anyone at all looking for a luxurious, relaxing and truly unforgettable escape.Our critically acclaimed property has enjoyed outstanding reviews from The Washington Post, Southern Living, Wine Enthusiast, Departures Magazine, DC Magazine, and Washingtonian Magazine, among others. Escape. Unwind. Indulge with us at The Inn at Willow Grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Willow Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Willow Grove Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing