We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're definitely coming back here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Willow Grove
Ranked #4 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

As seasoned travelers, we have stayed in many wonderful places. We just spent two nights at The Inn at Willow Grove and it has moved to the "top" of our repeat destinations. The staff, the owners, the beautiful rooms, the delicious food . . . all great reasons to stay and dine here. Our room, The Loft, was very spacious and quiet. We felt like we were at home. Everyone goes above and beyond to make sure your every want or need is met. The staff became friends to us and we look forward to our next visit from North Carolina. You're the best!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Born2lovesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 370 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our stay at The Inn at Willow Grove was nothing short of outstanding! The service was fantastic, the accomodations (we had the Butlers Cabin for our anniversary) were terrific, the found exceeded all expectations. Our butler, Steven was great and a huge help in making other suggestions about places to visit, etc.
We'll be back!

Room Tip: We did not see rooms in the Inn but the cabins are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Happy Anniversary! We're delighted you enjoyed a special stay to celebrate, and we look forward to having you back here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Spent a night at the Inn after a day of wineries. One of the prettiest places we've stayed. Our butler Steven was so accommodating, making every last detail perfect. The grounds were beautiful and all was decorated for the holidays. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murrayravnfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for sharing! We're delighted you enjoyed your experience. The Inn is truly spectacular during the holiday season! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Wife and I went here for a weekend getaway. This place exceeded my expectations. The room was great, service was awesome, and the food was one of the best I ever had. I have been to many different places and this is one best. You will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Master Suite is where it is at!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjl6086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

We're always so happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their experience. Thank you for staying and dining with us. We hope to have you back here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just about the most fabulous Inn we have ever been to. We went with another couple to visit some wineries, and arrived late (although I wish we arrived earlier). Every corner was beautifully decorated for the holidays and the staff couldn't be more friendly and accommodating. Our butler Steven was wonderful, great personality and very professional. Everything was great down to the last detail. Can't wait to return and spend more time. We also had dinner with our own room in the restaurant. Both delicious and original. What a find!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladieg49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed a special experience, and we can't wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

What a beautiful Inn! My sister, who lives in Orange, and I, a Richmond resident, have wanted to visit the Inn for quite some time. We watched the renovations taking place and found it truly was a transformation! We arrived on Sunday, December 9th, wanting just to look around and have a glass of wine in the Pub. Upon arriving, we found the Inn about to close, they had a special visitor that day! Seems Santa was in town. The staff graciously allowed us to sit by the fireplace and order a glass of wine - while the Redskins won over the Ravens (sorry Niki, my Baltimore loving daugher!). We finished our wine and Lisa, the wonderful bartender, asked if we wanted a tour! We are still reeling over the wonderful rooms, the beautiful landscaping, the great hospitality! We are coming back for more! Lisa, thank you for the great tour!

Room Tip: Lisa was an excellent tour guide! We could tell she was so proud to be a part of such a wonderful f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you so much! We're happy you and your sister enjoyed a wonderful evening and we can't wait to have you back for more soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

After visiting for business on a couple of occasions, we were eager to stay at the inn for a little time away from it all. Because of our familiarity, it was hard selecting the room we'd want (they're all great in their own way), but ultimately decided upon the Master Suite (why not go big?). The on-call butler Steven helped us with our luggage, and got our preference for when we'd like our complimentary beignets to arrive the next morning. I had sent ahead flowers for my wife earlier that day, and the staff graciously unpacked them and placed them on the bed for when we arrived.

We enjoyed drinks with other guests we had just met in the cool night air by the awesome fire pit prior to dinner. Dinner itself was amazing. Creative, yet tasty, our tapas-style meal hit all the right notes and finished with fried pie of the day, in this case apple & cheddar. Too often you find creative chefs who make dishes for creativity's sake and less for the taste. Here it was in perfect balance. As if that weren't enough, upon returning to our room we found a sweet treat, along with Forte tea and hot water in a thermos waiting for us.

The next morning right on schedule Steven delivered several beignets covered in powdered sugar in a brown paper bag along with coffee and green tea for my wife. We requested the green tea the day prior when we were asked what time we'd like our beignets and coffee, and it was a great wake-up. The only way this could have been better the second morning is if they had remembered that and delivered green tea again with the coffee, but we had to ask for that separately. Even better will be if they keep our preferences on file for an inevitable return visit. Every single staff member was very gracious and professional.

The staff alerts guests to available information only when that information might be needed. This is helpful to avoid information overload, trying to remember everything told all at once, but at the same time we didn't realize the kitchen was open for a full breakfast if we wanted it. After asking, and not yet wanting to get out of our PJs, we eagerly took advantage of room service.

We had dinner off-site our second night and while the meal was fine, we immediately regretted our decision, wishing we were back at the Willow Grove Inn. So we did the next best thing and, since the pub was pretty crowded when we arrived back, ordered dessert for room service and ate it on the leather rug (seriously, you need to see this thing) next to the gas fireplace. The fireplace did a good job of putting out adequate heat, but not so much that we felt overheated.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay and, because we didn't really want to leave, had a lunch of burger and battered (yes, battered) grilled cheese, tomato, and bacon sandwich. Decadent? Yes. But that's what the Willow Grove Inn is all about and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Loved the Master Suite, especially with the private access to the entire 2nd floor porch. One tip fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your special getaway. We invite all our guests to "escape, unwind and indulge" when they visit us, and we're delighted you enjoyed a relaxing and decadent stay. We're always looking to improve our guests' experience, and your suggestion is a great one! Thank you so much for the feedback, and we can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
21.9 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
474 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
320 reviews
3.0 mi away
Inn at Westwood Farm
Inn at Westwood Farm
#3 of 8 in Orange
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Willow Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Willow Grove

Address: 14079 Plantation Way, Orange, VA 22960-2261
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: $294 - $1,609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn at Willow Grove 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn at Willow Grove, an elegant boutique hotel in the heart of Virginia wine country. Nestled on a private 40-acre estate in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, our historic 18th century plantation house and surrounding cottages feature a unique blend of chic and elegant “urban meets plantation” style, exceptional world-class amenities and gracious southern charm. Relax and unwind in any of our 14 luxurious rooms and suites, or join us at Vintage Restaurant for a mouthwatering farm-to-table meal. We are the perfect destination for romantic weekenders, countryside tourists, wine-enthusiasts, history buffs… anyone at all looking for a luxurious, relaxing and truly unforgettable escape.Our critically acclaimed property has enjoyed outstanding reviews from The Washington Post, Southern Living, Wine Enthusiast, Departures Magazine, DC Magazine, and Washingtonian Magazine, among others. Escape. Unwind. Indulge with us at The Inn at Willow Grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Willow Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Willow Grove Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing