We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal, idyllic, exceptional experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Westwood Farm
Ranked #3 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ckeese40
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal, idyllic, exceptional experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2009

There are times, and places, that stand out like islands in time. This inn is one. We were attempting an anniversary get-away during busy lives and family illness. We could not have chosen better. Although we live only 45 minutes away, it felt as though we had arrived on another, idyllic, continent. From the moment we pulled up, we felt warmly welcomed into a serene, painstakingly created, elegant environment where every detail had been carefully looked to. The house beautifully blended the best of old architecture with an elegant, modern sensibility - from the contemporary decor to the muted warm colors that echo those of nearly Montpelier, to the truly gourmet food prepared from local sources and augmented by their own garden... all work together to create an exception experience of contemporary simplicity and luxury. We arrived late, and were shown to a room with sprays of heirloom hyacinth from the garden, and a high four-poster with exceptional Yves Delorme linens, goose down and duvet. I have to say, although we did make it to Montpelier (a mere 1 mile away) the highlight of the next day was returning to the understated luxury of our room, climbing back into that incredible bed for a good novel and a nap. Each morning was an experience in culinary delight - from the subtle touch of a squeeze of fresh orange in the ice water, to the truly memorable Eggs Westwood - a construction (as I recall) of grilled french bread, pancetta, poached eggs from their own hens and a Bearnaise sauce, set off by sprigs of rosemary and pear tomatoes (again, from their garden). The upstairs library - intimate, fun but also quietly modern - was the setting for more late-night conversation than we have had the opportunity for in years.
Most lovely of all were our gracious innkeepers, who are clearly inspired to create something exceptional. In a part of the country filled with historic country inns, they have managed to elevate a B&B to an elegant, refined but relaxed, five-star experience. Their warmth, humor and attention to detail are outstanding - these are truly people you would be delighted to spend a day with, have over to dinner, or spend time discussing the finer points of everything from world events to business to keeping of hens. The only downside ? This will be the standard to which all your future B&Bs (and hotels for that matter) will be judged. We are already planning for the next time we can get away to the inn at westwood.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckeese40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
185
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vemont
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This was our third visit to the Inn at Westwood Farm. Whether for business or pleasure, Elizabeth and Jay will take care of you. Perhaps its hot coffee at your door first thing in the morning or the wonderful breakfast. The front parlor is great for relaxing after a long day. The grounds and deck are great for evenig nosh before heading out for dinner. All of the rooms are simple, yet elegant and do feel like home. The location is perfect for anybody touring Montpelier or the rich history found through the greater Charlottesville area. We will continue to stay at the Inn and would higlhy recommend this to anybody wanting a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBCVemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, VT
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We consider the Inn at Westwood Farm the only place to stay in the Charlottsville area. Elizabeth and Jay are warm and welcoming with a sixth sense to anticipate all of your needs.
The Inn is neat, clean and very tastefully decorated. They are commited to local, fresh and organic food, producing much of what they serve right at the Inn, and it is delicious! The setting is peaceful and the grounds are a joy to explore.
We would highly recommend a stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZestVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHarlottesville, VA
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2009

This was the most wonderful little get-away we've had in a long time. The setting was absolutely lovely - beautiful countryside and mountains nearby - and the atmosphere at the inn was very relaxing, warm, and comfortable. It was so peaceful that I would have been happy sitting on the back porch, strolling the property, or just chatting with the innkeepers the entire weekend (although there is lots to do in the area too). Yet, even though the pace and atmosphere were very low key, the accomodations and care given by the innkeepers was five star! The rooms were very well kept and tastefully decorated and the breakfasts were fresh, healthy and delicious. The innkeepers, Elizabeth and Jay, were also kind, funny, and attentive and went out of their way to make sure everyone had an memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motherofthree85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, MD
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2009

My girlfriend and I are graduate students.
We decided to go to bed and breakfast for spring break and stumbled onto the website of the Inn at Westwood Farm. The quality website was a factor in us booking.
Our stay was wonderful. Everything was really perfect.
The place is impeccable and our host Elizabeth was wonderful.
It's the accumulation of the small little touches that add up to a truly quality experience.
Make sure to visit the ruins at Barboursville winery. Tickets were provided by the Inn.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Our hosts, Jay and Elizabeth, were gracious and welcoming. Our room was lovely with a view of the gardens, paddocks, trees and rolling hills was peaceful and beautiful. We enjoyed the other guests at five with wine and bruchetta, and breakfast was fabulous and included eggs from their own hens and berries from their own bushes! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this Inn; we sat on the front veranda to read and chat, and we relished the quiet of the countryside. It is perfectly located - close to Orange, VA, by many different vineyards, near both Montpelier and Monticello; it's a lovely drive to Charlottesville. Really, it is the perfect place for a mini-vacation; we can hardly wait to go back. It's a B&b worth visiting again and again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DcPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We could not have had a more wonderful stay. The home is very country on the outside from a distance, but from the moment you pull up, you see how maticulous the restoration on the house was done. The more modern and clean touches of this B&B really set it apart from others in the area. The home is just a few miles from Montpelier and is also very close to the Barbousville Winery. The property and home are just beautiful. We stayed in 204, the blue room, which was large, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The attached bathroom was very nice as well. There is high speed internet throughout which made it great for planning are daily outings. Breakfast every morning was stellar using only local ingredients, including eggs from the farm's own chickens. The innkeepers, Elizabeth and Jay, are so incredibly nice and full of information. You would make a big error not taking their advice on some of the things to do and places to see.

I could write for page after pages but I can sum it all up by saying I can't recommend this B&B more. Spend a few more dollars then some impersonal hotel and stay here to turn your trip into a truely memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VCUHokieFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
318 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Westwood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Westwood Farm

Property: Inn at Westwood Farm
Address: 12256 Montford Rd, Orange, VA 22960-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Westwood Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun-filled, elegantly appointed 1910 farmhouse on 15 lovely acres with barn, paddocks, gardens and woods, makes staying at this inn a unique experience. This bed and breakfast features four guest rooms with amenities such as whirlpool tubs, flowers, exquisite linens, antique oriental rugs, early morning coffee in the library, and a gourmet breakfast in the dining room or on the porch. The inn offers perfect respite from urban stress. Conveniently located one mile from James Madison's Montpelier, and easily accessible to Charlottesville, Monticello, and wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at Westwood Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing