We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising oasis in Orange County VA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Westwood Farm
Ranked #3 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed at the Inn on a weeknight to celebrate our anniversary. The innkeepers, Jay and Elizabeth, are warm, inviting people with a marvelous ability to make you feel at home. They know the history of the house, and can tell you what they did to make it the comfortable, relaxed place it is now. The Inn's decorations and ambiance are subtle and very well-appointed. They fixed us a snack and a drink before we left for dinner. Our room had big beautiful windows, a very comfortable bed, and the shower had fantastic water pressure (and lots of hot water!!!) Our breakfast included fresh eggs from their hens, a really nice fruit and yogurt parfait, and great coffee. I would stay here again and again, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling through this part of Virginia. Thanks, Jay and Elizabeth, for such a nice evening!

Room Tip: All rooms are corner rooms so pick one with a bathroom configuration you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 264 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2012

Beautiful house and grounds, extremely gracious and welcoming hosts, tasty food--we will definitely return.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We have just returned from our Golden Wedding celebration trip to Virginia. We stayed at Westwood Farm and so enjoyed it. Although we had only one night (our only regret!) we left feeling we had been friends with Elizabeth and Jay for years. The situation of the Inn is perfect for country lovers, and Montpelier is a short walk up the road. Orange itself is a lovely little town , and only a short drive from Dulles Int. Airport.
If you get the chance, please visit this wonderful, wonderful Inn and the lovely Elizabeth and handsome Jay !,

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed for two weeknights in mid-March and had an absolutely lovely time! The property is beautiful, and attention to detail is immaculate—from the pillows to morning breakfast service. Elizabeth and Jay make the place feel like a home away home and Porter (the dog) adds another layer of charm. Elizabeth has great recommendations on restaurants (from upper scale French to backyard BBQ), tasty vineyards, and insight on local vintage/antique shops in the area. Treat yourself to relaxing escape in the country—you won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed at the Inn at Westwood Farm just one night as we travelled back up to Dulles to take our return flight to the UK. How we wished we'd booked to stay longer. Elizabeth and Jay are wonderful hosts and they have renovated their home to a fabulously high standard. Nothing has been overlooked including delicious food, their own free-range eggs, gorgeous hand-made soaps and body lotions which are locally made in all the bathrooms and the beds and bedding which are so comfortable you could stay in bed all day. Even though they offer top-end facilities and have obviously spent loads, both in time and money, on renovations, Elizabeth and Jay are warm and charming and not at all stand-offish. They welcomed us into their home as though we had known each other for years and yet, they weren't in your face. I think they should run classes in how to get the B&B experience totally right - there are many other innkeepers around the world who would do well to take a leaf out of their book. We intend to return as soon as we can and I can't recommend this experience highly enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms are top notch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaghetti16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed here for one night with my family at the end of my holiday in Virginia. It couldn't have been more perfect and we were all very sorry that we had to leave. Elizabeth is a perfect hostess. Everything had been thought of to make the stay just perfect. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough and very much hope that I will return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: I saw 3 of the rooms and could not choose between them. They are all clean, spacious and have beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

More than 100 years old, this important local house has been redone with care and attention and made fresh and nostalgic at the same time. Jay and Elizabeth are Innkeepers of the highest standards of the calling and so very much the perfect ambassadors of Orange County. The ease and grace of life at the Inn, surrounded by beauty indoors (omg the rugs) and out, restful sleep (fabulous bed and bedding), and oh la la breakfast, for a few days midweek soothed our overworked souls. There is so much in the area, you don't have to wonder what to do (as a Virginian, I am amazed that I have not known much of this place). The location of the Inn is ideal for all things, in particular after being out for the better part of a day, good food (in the case of Elmwood at Sparks - excellent food) is very close by. Thus starts a love affair with the Inn and Orange County!

Room Tip: Loved room 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
13 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
3 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
2.4 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#4 of 8 in Orange
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
2.6 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Westwood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Westwood Farm

Address: 12256 Montford Rd, Orange, VA 22960-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: $197 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Westwood Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun-filled, elegantly appointed 1910 farmhouse on 15 lovely acres with barn, paddocks, gardens and woods, makes staying at this inn a unique experience. This bed and breakfast features four guest rooms with amenities such as whirlpool tubs, flowers, exquisite linens, antique oriental rugs, early morning coffee in the library, and a gourmet breakfast in the dining room or on the porch. The inn offers perfect respite from urban stress. Conveniently located one mile from James Madison's Montpelier, and easily accessible to Charlottesville, Monticello, and wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Westwood Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing