We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis by the Murray”
Review of Tooleybuc Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tooleybuc Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tooleybuc
1 review
“Oasis by the Murray”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in the early evening after a long drive from Sydney. We'd booked a room in advance from Hay (via the marvel of smartphone technology). Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was excellent (plenty of hot water and good pressure in the shower).
A good night's sleep and an excellent breakfast added to our feeling of wellbeing.

As recommended by our host, and several previous reviewers, the pub next door is a great place for dinner. It is now under new management and their country friendliness and hospitality augments the quality of their meals. We sat close to a wood fire and thoroughly enjoyed the legendary lamb shanks, washed down with a couple of glasses of very reasonable local reds, a shiraz and a merlot. It would be hard to find a better cooked version of the lamb shanks. The managers/staff go out of their way to ensure that their guests are well looked after. A choice between complimentary port or liqueur muscat completed a lovely meal.

Tooleybuc really is a quiet, friendly oasis by the Murray.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
19
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clovelly Park, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed in a family room which was spacious for a 1 room family room and was clean and comfortable. Great as a final stop over on our way back to Adelaide. The pool was a welcome relief also. In walking distance to the playground and great views over the Murray river.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The motel is fantastic, the room was very clean and a great size. We stayed in room 1 and had a brilliant view of the banks of the Murray river and of the bridge. The motel is in a great position with the shops next door.

Ron was a wonderful host, he made us feel most welcome and he really did want to ensure we had a lovely time. We would strongly recommend having breakfast at the motel, it was cooked to perfection and a great size. Yum !

The pool is so lovely and in a great position. Would thoroughly recommend staying there.
Anne and Alan

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 4 have great views over the banks of the Murray river. All other rooms are good too as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan554832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanthorpe, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

we stayed here because we wanted to near a golf coarse and motel close to each other with great value and it was. The owners we most hospitable, in helping with golf cart fees.
There was a club right next door as well so only a few minutes to walk-

Room Tip: Rooms that over look coarse
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miriam061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

after a busy day at Swan Hill Cup, we decided to spend a relaxing night at Tooleybuc, before our 2 1/2 hour drive home. was well worthwhile, the motel, whilst not the trendy, is clean, comfortable, and has all the facilities needed, fresh milk on arrival to make a coffee, lovely outlook over park and river, just like a painting of rivergums and the old liftspan bridge. Geat breakfast, but a word of warning, the pancakes with bacon and eggs could feed a team of lumberjacks! Next door the Tooleybuc hotel provides a great pub meal, with good wines and a warm atmosphere by the fire.
would certainly stay again, and maybe fit in a round of golf at the Tooleybuc Sporting Club close by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyneblee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed for one night on my trip to Adelaide from Canberra but it was so comfortable and i was so tired that I stayed for two. They were welcoming of my dog (gave me a back room so I could tie him up outside the room - he slept in the car in his cage) who enjoyed the long walks along the riverside tracks and quiet back streets. I had a room with a kitchenette so was able to fend for myself on the second night. I had the most delicious meal of lamb shanks at the pub next door on the first night, with a doggie bag for the dog because the serve was huge! A lovely little village on the banks of the Murray. Will definitely stay again on the way back and all my future trips.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in Toolebuc on numerous occasions. This Motel is the best. It's clean, comfortable and most importantly the host, Ron, does all he can to make your stay a great one.

You couldn't do better than to choose the Toolebuc Motel, right on the river.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tooleybuc
0.6 mi away
Tooleybuc Club Motor Inn
Tooleybuc Club Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tooleybuc
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tooleybuc River Retreat Villas
0.0 mi away
Tooleybuc Country Roads Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Lazy River Motor Inn
Lazy River Motor Inn
#13 of 13 in Swan Hill
72 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tooleybuc Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tooleybuc Motel

Property: Tooleybuc Motel
Address: 43 Murray St, Tooleybuc, New South Wales 2736, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tooleybuc
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tooleybuc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tooleybuc Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the tiny and tranquil town of Tooleybuc, Tooleybuc Motel is set just off the historic Tooleybuc Bridge, right on the state border by the banks of the Murray River. We offer travelers affordable lodging within a village atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Tooleybuc Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing