We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food big serves”

Sutton Forest Inn and Bistro
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good food big serves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We were on a winery bus tour and this lunch stop was included in our tour. We pre ordered our meals. We arrived and almost filled the whole place. I was wondering how they were going to deal with our large group. They had no problems with this. Meals were all brought out quite quickly considering the number of people. The serves were generous. My steak was cooked beautifully. The pesto pasta was the only meal that was not good but the staff happily replaced those meals without incident. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissPixieLix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    23
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“My buffalo wing man's the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

My partner and I will be going to this little find often now that I've discovered my wing man of the highlands.
Thank you Nigel for being the best wing chef, waiter, maitre d, all rolled into one....and smiling while under pressure..
This chef is unique. He not only gave this buffalo wing connoisseur one of the best I've tasted in the world but he was alone in his restaurant bistro to cook, serve and with charming wit. Thank you for going out of your way to make me wings when you had taken it off the menu that night.
But that's not all, he served us with perfectly cooked medium rare sirloin and rump as mains. But beware the servings are BIG. Making them excellent value.
My partner (the new weird word for a girlfriend) never eats chicken wings. She tasted one of mine and booked her own plate back on a Friday after dining there Wednesday night.
Pub prices for drinks but it looks like they have found a great chef to add a new spark to what was the beginnings of a fading pub.
Keep it up, we're hooked!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Madala53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Luxury escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were staying at a local resort and were pining for a decent pub dinner. The Sutton Forest Inn had been recommended to us by friends. We were not disappointed with the steak nor the chicken. We would recommend it to anyone staying in the Moss Vale area. Paul and Lorraine S.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Holy wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Even if you aren't hungry, do yourself a favour and have the buffalo wings! We were fighting each other for them, they were amazing!! Aside from the wings, our mains were great, the staff were super friendly and it was a great place to sit and chill for a few hours. The wrap around balcony was relaxing with a nice view over the country. Definitely worth the two SMH schooners they've been awarded.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank esgln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wlked in and walked out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

This place was recommended. On arrival we found a long line of tradies' trucks in the car park, many of the tradies were sat on the door step smoking. Nothing wrong with tradies but they were filthy.
We went through to the Bistro. It was dead with no staff, no customers, no menu but plenty of litter etc on the floor.. No-one came to see us There were no trading hours displayed but I would have thought that 6.15 pm would have been OK. Not even the barman noticed us, let alone giving us a welcome. Steer well clear. Our visit was on 11th December 2013

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sutton Forest Inn and Bistro also viewed

Sutton Forest, Southern Highlands
Sutton Forest, Southern Highlands
 
Sutton Forest, Southern Highlands
Moss Vale, Southern Highlands
 
Sutton Forest, Southern Highlands
Moss Vale, Southern Highlands
 

Been to Sutton Forest Inn and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing