We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penrith's Best Kept Secret”

The Union: Cafe, Restaurant, Bar
Ranked #14 of 318 Restaurants in Penrith
Price range: $16 - $79
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Penrith's Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is one of those places where you're walking along one Saturday night and you faintly hear the sound of glasses clinking, yarns being exchanged and the occasionally loud fellow with that infectious chuckle. Following the sounds of a great night, you come across a place that you had no idea existed...even though you walk past it at least 3 times a week.

The Union is a small tapas restaurant with an industrial/rustic theme and warm lighting. The environment is cozy and welcoming and staff are happy to see a new face. The menu is a fairly large chalkboard with quite a range of culinary delights. Loosen the purse-strings and get at least 4 items between two and pair it with one of their craft beers on offer. If you're ever unsure, just ask!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank User12304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    33
    17
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lautoka, Fiji
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best spot to be with friends on a nite out!!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Like everything about it, atmosphere, people, crowd..Fantastic..will be back guys!!!
But hopefully I remember to bring my ID with me this time...lol.. as they don't ask me in Fiji...
But thank you, you make feel like an underage...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 12Bill_m16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Secret Space”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

A wonderful, funky out of the way restaurant. I have been there for the Tapas and on a Sunday morning for the yum cha. In both cases the food was fantastic. I prefer the tapas over the yum cha as it is a nice change from the Asian foods. Well worth a visit with friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FishWife64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Truly Penrith's best kept secret spot.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

First time I went (it was the second night after opening) I had to search to find this gem...it was worth it. Every visit provides a new culinary experience. I have taken many friends and family members from gourmet diners to pub meal fanciers and they have all raved....and returned. The menu changes often enough to be interesting but still retains favourites - the cauliflower is a must. Tapas style food at an average of $15 a serve - suits 3 or 4 people per dish. The service is friendly, efficient but not ïn your face". It is great value for money. Now for the negatives...can be noisy (if the people near have had too much sangria) and is so popular that you need to book ahead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GourmetGal53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Just go”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Dined at the Union last night with a group of 7 for the first time.I cant believe it has taken me so long to try this.The restaurant is pretty much hidden and unknown by many.You need to access from Union lane which runs parallel with High st,The entry gates are just after the Union car park ramp that goes over Union lane just past Sams warehouse,Into the carpark then up some metal stairs to the Restaurant.The decor really suites (old rustic peices & light bolbs with long wiring draping from the ceiling.) I must say we didnt find the metal chairs all that comfortable,felt like you were slipping out but not unbarable.The Tapas menu Had a good variety and most dishes in the $10 - $20 mark.Most dishes can easily be shared in a group or eaten individualy.Portions i found to be off a reasonable size.We Shared approx 10 different dishes of 2x lots and this was plenty for the 7 of us,Would have liked a meat (beef) dish on the menu.Choose of Desert menu wasnt much to our liking ,a bit rich (mainly pudding -mouse etc)but i suppose light after a big
meal.The Staff and service were great and beleived in what they have created.The restaurant was full although i doent look big ,fits approx 30+ people.So for a wednesday night is a good sign.Suggest booking. Its just great to have a restaurant like this in the area,a breathe of fresh air from all the steakhouses -indian-thia etc.JUST GO but dont compare as tapas is different to other dining experiences. ENJOY im sure you will.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank everywhereman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Union: Cafe, Restaurant, Bar also viewed

Penrith, Greater Sydney
Orchard Hills, Penrith
 
Penrith, Greater Sydney
Penrith, Greater Sydney
 
Penrith, Greater Sydney
 

Been to The Union: Cafe, Restaurant, Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing