We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Mercure Penrith

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Penrith
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Penrith
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Stayed at this hotel some years ago when it was a Holiday Inn. The hotel is alongside the Penrith Panthers Rugby Leagues Club, and used to have direct access to the Club and its restaurants and gaming facilities. Now, apart from at breakfast time, the access is closed off and it requires a bit of a walk outside from one to the other. OK on a nice day/night, but would be pretty ordinary in the wet/cold. Rooms were spacious, too big even, for one person, but offered all required facilities. One intrigiung thing though was that the shower/toilet did not have a door fitted. Breakfast is a strange buffet affair at the Club next door in one of their eateries. It was much better in the past and is only just ordinary now. The Club has many restaurants to choose from for dinner. Unfotunately the choice of hotels in this area is limited. Recommend if there is nothing better.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNRMGE, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at the Chifley Penrith Panthers during your recent visit to Penrith and finding the time to provide us with your feedback,
Here at the hotel, we pride ourselves on our commitment to delivering a level of service that exceeds our guests’ expectations.To learn that we have not been able to realise this commitment is disappointing and I would like to express my sincere apologies.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused by having to walk to the Club. As the Hotel is owned by a different Organisation it is a requirement that after Breakfast any guest who wish to visit the Club need to enter via the main entrance and sign in.Regarding the quality of the Buffet Breakfast I have forwarded your fcomments to the Managment who looks after that .

Once again thank you for your constructive feedback as this assists us to continually look at how we can improve the level of service that we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    266
    214
    84
    39
See reviews for
169
212
36
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tumut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

The quality of this motel was quite surprise from the outset. Friendly, quick and informative check in was only surpassed by the rooms. We had a standard room with 2 x double beds and plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 children. The rooms were clean and felt comfortable. Despite having some age on it, the rooms, grounds and faciltiites are well maintained and very fresh. This is a very affordable motel for a family break. Being next door to Panthers Leaugues Club is not a negative in fact it is a very kid freindly club and we spent a great night there enjoing the extensive resturants and entertainment. Good work Chifley after a feww shockers over recent weeks with other motels you top the bill.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunyapine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNRMGE, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Dear Sir/Madame
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at the Chifley Penrith Panthers during your recent visit to Penrith and also for finding the time to complete our Guest Survey Form
Here at the hotel, we pride ourselves on our commitment to delivering a level of service that exceeds our guests’ expectations. To learn that we have been able to realise this commitment is highly rewarding and I would like to express my sincere thanks for your comments.

Please let me assure you that your comments are very important to us and do assist us to continually look at how we can improve the level of service that we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Hartley
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We were down in Sydney to see a play at the Opera House, and as we had an appointment in Western Sydney the next morning thought it would be more convenient to stay in Penrith. The check-in at 5pm was pleasant but we had to dash into town before checking our room. My complaints are all about minor details but the cumulative effect meant that our stay was not as enjoyable or restful as we had hoped. Issues were:
- noise from the club well into the early hours
- one tiny shampoo and conditioner bottle and one tiny bottle of body wash for two people.
- one smallish bath mat with a shower where the design meant the floor was flooded
- almost empty tissue box ( in hayfever season!)
- a mini bar that only had two bottles of beer ( was feeling like a glass of wine) and a small chocolate ( we missed out on supper in town).
- although we were back too late to expect room service availability I noted that room service seemed to consist of alcohol only and what was offered was very ordinary.
Next time, we will stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNRMGE, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, October 17, 2010
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at the Chifley Penrith Panthers during your recent visit to Penrith and also for finding the time to complete our survey form.

Here at the hotel, we pride ourselves on our commitment to delivering a level of service that exceeds our guests’ expectations.To learn that we have not been able to realise this commitment is disappointing and I would like to express my sincere apologies.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused by the shortcoming in service delivery during your stay.
Once again thank you for your constructive feedback as this assists us to continually look at how we can improve the level of service that we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Have recently stayed at Chifley Penrith Panthers midweek for the second time in as many months. Trip was a short 2 night stay, purely a mother and daughter shopping and relaxing adventure. Could not fault any aspect of the hotel - the rooms were clean, the service excellent and sleeping was made easy as it was soooo quiet. (Weekends would probably be a little livelier if you are looking for that) Location is excellent - easy to find, short drive to Westfield Penrith (one of Sydney's best kept secrets!) and a pleasant train trip to the bigger Westfield at Parramatta. We even took advantage of the free shuttle from Panthers to Westfield Penrith. Dined both nights at the Italian Restaurant at Panthers which was excellent and within a couple of minutes walking distance. Loved the fact that no car is required in the evening but safety wasnt a concern. Teenage daughter was happy that Maccas and Krispy Kremes were close by - only a short (and safe) stroll away. Excellent stay, excellent service and a definite for a return trip!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNRMGE, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, October 17, 2010
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at the Chifley Penrith Panthers during your recent visit to Penrith and also for finding the time to complete our Guest Survey Form.Here at the hotel, we pride ourselves on our commitment to delivering a level of service that exceeds our guests’ expectations.
To learn that we have been able to realise this commitment is highly rewarding and I would like to express my sincere thanks for your comments.
Please let me assure you that your comments are very important to us and do assist us to continually look at how we can improve the level of service that we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellow Rock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I stayed here 1 year ago the cleaning was 100%

But this time i would never return to this hotel: the toilet was dirty, my sheets was not change when i checked in. When i ask a cleaner.... it told me "I dont work for the hotel i work for AHS" JUST GIVE ME CLEAN SHEETS I had to make the bed myself.... What is that about

I know Nepean Shores is old but it is Clean and they are friendy

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theboysyellowrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNRMGE, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
Thank you very much feed back and comments regrading the standard in cleaning of the room.
Please accept out apologies for any inconvinience caused and we have taken steps to rectify the shortcomings.We appreciate out guestsc omments as this enables us to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past 3 years and not once have I been disappointed and my last stay was no exception.

My parter and I stayed 2 nights in room 404, a spa suite on the 2nd and 3rd of June.

Check in was fast and friendly.

When we entered the room it had a really nice smell and was very spacious. Past visits to Spa suites in the hotel it was a studio lay out but this time we had a bedroom (with a nice big king bed) which was much appreciated. The bathroom was as big as a double bedroom. The spa itself was big enough for my bf and I and he is 6ft5.

We had a great mountain view from our windows.

The hotel is joined onto the club which is great as is has a number of restaurants and lots of entertainment.

House keeping done a great job when we went out, the room was very clean and fresh when we came back. They re-stocked everything in the bathroom which was a nice surprise.

There was a lot of children staying at the time we did (I think it was a soccer team) and we expected a lot of noise but we didn't hear a thing.

We loved our stay here and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KinkyPinkyAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNRMGE, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, October 17, 2010
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at the Chifley Penrith Panthers during your recent visit to Penrith and also for finding the time to complete our Guest Survey Form

Here at the hotel, we pride ourselves on our commitment to delivering a level of service that exceeds our guests’ expectations.
To learn that we have been able to realise this commitment is highly rewarding and I would like to express my sincere thanks for your comments.

Please let me assure you that your comments are very important to us and do assist us to continually look
at how we can improve the level of service that we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Stayed here on the 31st of May with a friend for one night in an Executive Room
Room included all these things: elax in a stylish, large and luxurious executive room. Queen bed, 26' LCD flat screen TV, Foxtel, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer & iron/board (which was advertised correctly. No bath, but shower and toilet with a sliding door and the basin was outside located next to the tea and coffee making facilities. Plenty of lighting, big window overlooking the swimming pool, aqua golf and a nice view of the Blue Mountains.
With having the local club at your doorstep along with many food outlets is always a good thing. The bed was very comfortable and no noise, so I indeed had a good night sleep.
Well be staying here again, as it's good value for money, staff were very nice room was clean and spotless, quick and easy check-in

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mi33-Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNRMGE, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, October 17, 2010
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at the Chifley Penrith Panthers during your recent visit to Penrith and also for finding the time to complete our Guest Survey Form

Here at the hotel, we pride ourselves on our commitment to delivering a level of service that exceeds our guests’ expectations. To learn that we have been able to realise this commitment is highly rewarding and I would like to express my sincere thanks for your comments.

Please let me assure you that your comments are very important to us and do assist us to continually look at how we can improve the level of service that we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Penrith
Quality Inn Penrith
#2 of 3 in Penrith
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Penrith Valley Inn
Penrith Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Penrith
124 reviews
9.0 mi away
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
#1 of 1 in Rooty Hill
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel Eastern Creek
Alpha Hotel Eastern Creek
#1 of 1 in Eastern Creek
330 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Nepean River
1.0 mi away
Value Suites
Value Suites
#2 of 2 in Emu Plains
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Penrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Penrith

Property: Mercure Penrith
Address: Jamison Roads | Cnr Mulgoa, Penrith, New South Wales 2750, Australia (Formerly Chifley Penrith Panthers)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Penrith 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MERCURE PENRITH IS AT THE GATEWAY TO WESTERN SYDNEY Penrith is one of Sydney's best inland aquatic playgrounds. Have fun riding the rapids at Penrith Whitewater Stadium, visit the Sydney International Regatta Centre, paddle on the Nepean Gorge in a canoe or relax with a picnic by the Nepean River. Penrith Valley, with its beautiful rivers, national parks and lakes, is just a 55-minute drive from the centre of Sydney. It's a great escape for the whole family with plenty of things to see and do. LOCATED IN PENRITH VALLEY AT THE FOOTHILLS OF THE BLUE MOUNTAINS Explore pockets of unspoiled bush land, national parks, as well as the many treasured historic landmarks scattered throughout the region. Experience the area's lively arts scene on display at local museums and art galleries. Enjoy the beauty of the Nepean Gorge from the deck of the Nepean Belle Paddlewheeler or explore on foot. Whether you're staying for business or pleasure, for a night or a week, Penrith will exceed your expectations. A MAJESTIC PLAYGROUND FOR THE YOUNG AT HEART Next door is Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment with 9 dining options, 6 bars, Aqua Golf, Cables Wake Park, ifly and a travel shop. Panthers also offers a state of art Convention Centre, with seven architecturally designed formal and informal functions rooms, boasting an 800 delegate purpose build seminar and entertainment theatre with state of the art audio visual. Also at Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment is The Evan Theatre a first-class, purpose built entertainment venue. The Evan has been host to an array of leading entertainers including John Farnham, Boys II Men, The Wiggles and David Strassman. Adjacent to Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment and the Mercure Penrith is a 1500 seat Exhibition Marquee, one of Sydney's largest marquees. Sportingbet Stadium, home of the Penrith Panthers, is opposite the Mercure Penrith. The Mercure Penrith boasts 223 rooms featuring flat-screen TV s, cable TV , air-conditioning and WIFI Internet access. Additional facilities include a gymnasium, guest lounge, outdoor swimming pool, BBQ area and ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Penrith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Penrith Panthers Hotel Penrith
Panther Penrith
Chifley Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing