We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable”
Review of Mercure Penrith

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Penrith
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Penrith
Cobar, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed on level 3. Check in was quick and staff very pleasant. The room was spacious. I like room to move around and it was also very clean. Bed very comfortable and good pressure in the shower. While not 5 star it is certainly a great place to stay and I'd definitely return. Even though the parking wasn't undercover we weren't bothered. Just the fact that there is parking and that it was included in the price was good. Plenty of spaces available.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LnG270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where it is our aim to provide each and every one of our guests with a memorable experience.

It is fantastic for us to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back through our doors again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    258
    215
    80
    38
See reviews for
169
207
36
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Really nothing special about this hotel. Can definitely get a better deal with the price of the rooms ($200 for a room with a king size bed)

This is probably the nicer hotel in Penrith. Nice and convenient to the RSL club and aqua golf.

Carpark is a public car park and we parked quite far from the hotel as the closer spots were all taken, so that was a little inconvenient. Staff weren't rude, but we weren't greeted with a smile.

We were given a room that was newly refurbished and 'really nice'. However when we went in, it was still quite old. The room was clean, we got a room with a balcony. However you can't see anything outside as it is blocked off by a wall. It's more like an enclosed balcony for smokers.

The 'king size' bed were two beds put together and you can feel the bump in the middle which is quite annoying. After laying on the bed for an hour, you can tell the bed sinks in the middle which gave us a really uncomfortable sleep.

Bathroom was nice and big, had the amenities you needed in there. We were told we were given a bathroom with a bath however there was no bath. Not a big deal since we weren't going to use it anyway.

We stayed in May so it was really cold outside. Having the car parked far away from the entrance made us really cold when walking to the car to grab things and the heater in this newly refurbished room was broken. We turned on the air conditioning and set it to warm however it only blew out cold air and it gets really loud so we turned it off. TV was also small, we were watching shows and the tv wasn't big enough to show the whole images, text would cut off at the sides of the screen.

I liked how there were brochures in the rooms of a variety of take-out restaurants that would deliver to your hotel though. It was like having 5 different menus of different cuisine.

Overall definitely not worth the $200. Could find a hotel with better room facilities (working ones), better bed and better service with that amount of money.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cchoi93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we strive to deliver a memorable experience for each and every one of our guests.

I am sorry to hear we were not able to achieve this during your time with us. Our Courtyard Rooms were refurbished in 2010 and were given a more modern look and feel compared to our other rooms. Whilst there is no mountain view in these rooms, the private courtyards have proven to be very popular with our guests.

I am sorry to hear about the discomforts in the room. These king zip beds are meant to have toppers which conceal the presence of the zipper, and I will follow up why this was missing.

We do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

stayed with my brother at chifley.when he arrived 1st booked for two bed in room was a double got that fixed... .main problem no undercover parking fine if not wet but for such a big hotel you would think there would be some undercover parking. on several occasions when having to park outside a mile a way from hotel as 1st served get closer to hotel even those going to panthers games it seems.when come back and pouring we were nicely drenched each time not pleasant. on the good side staff tried to be helpful and were friendly. so if you dont have a huge amount of baggage and no mobility problems hotel would be ok if not raining.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where it is our goal to deliver a memorable experience for each and every guest.

It is great for us to hear that the staff were very friendly and helpful during your time at the hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were unable to find a park - we do try to ensure our guests get first priority of our carpark however this can sometimes be hard to do with the volume of cars that come in to the precinct, particularly on a game night.

We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We have stayed here often and always find the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are also very clean with all the amenities you expect. The beds do vary though, with some being very supportive and other too soft. The room service breakfast is very good value, although does not include hot food options, but there are many options in the nearby Panther's club and restaurants in surrounding suburb. Always a reliably pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Best bathrooms are on Level 2 (Ground floor). Nice pool that is never crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from the most recent of your stays with us at Chifley Penrith.

It is always fantastic for us to hear positive feedback coming from our regular guests. We are glad to hear you enjoy the wide variety of dining options next door and that the staff have always been helpful to you.

We look forard to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon!

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnedah, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We made a online Booking which they could not find when we arrived, we were told we upgraded but it was no upgrade we paid $ 178 instead the advertised price from 155. We had a normal room with nothing special to offer and a balcony still having the ashtray full of buds from any last visitors. In the morning we arrived in a total chaos empty Breakfast room, the Hanks Restaurant, dirty empty fruit bowls and a offer to have cooked eggs fried or scrambled nothing else, the fruit was eaten obviously and the staff were having their own feed behind the counters and could not care, we balanced to get a cup of tea out to the outdoor area through a hard to open door no help from the staff so after lots of opening and closing the heavy door we managed to get the plates out while the staff were cleaning all around us and outside flocks of birds ate the leftovers from the plates of already left guests and there were 4 waiters which were talking or eating, very bad Breakfast and very dirty unattended eating place. The room was not anywhere inviting only can say I never will go back, the only fun was Harry de wheel pie after a lousy meal at the main dining room

Room Tip: Can not find any tip worth while
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we pride ourselves on delivering a level of service that exceeds our guests expectations.

I am terribly sorry to hear that we were not able to achieve this during your time with us. I have investigated the issues that you have raised from your stay, and I will be contacting you directly to discuss this.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I think this is a good 3-3.5 star hotel that is what it is - a clean simple hotel that's quite comfortable and basically a bed room only hotel. All that's fine because there's a great club next door at Penrith Panthers which have a myriad of restaurants, bars and gambling facilities.
I got a pretty comfortable nights sleep in a generous sized room, and the bathroom was also fine.
True the breakfast point is next door and a walk, but you can make your own choice to walk next door or hit up Maccas if you want (also next door).
I'd stay here again, but treat the hotel as a good comfortable room with stacks of food options all round the hotel

Room Tip: maybe get a room close to the Panthers Club end if you want to save 2 minutes walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where it is our goal to deliver a memorable experience for each and every guest.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the wide variety of dining options that are available next door at the club.

We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have stayed at the Chifley a few times now.

Part of the Penrith Panthers complex with many dining and beverage options available within Panthers or grounds.

Overall, the rooms are clean, but recent stays indicate that the rooms (I stayed in) could do with an upgrade.

Improvements for the Hotel could surround the time it takes to checkin and in particular checkout...upon my most recent visit I decided to simply hand the room keys to the service staff rather than waiting in the long line to checkout (this is despite indicating upon arrival that an express checkout would be acceptable...no indication was given as to how this is done and no envelope was provided).

Upon checkin, in addition to taking a card swipe for security purposes, the Hotel actually takes a payment of $50 from your credit card...if you don't charge anything back to your room (including mini bar purchases), the Hotel credits the $50, but the timing to receive the $50 refund is Bank dependent. I would have thought this is an unusual and unacceptable policy given the usual terms & conditions you would sign upon checkin.

A few improvements and I would have no reservations staying at this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCME2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where it is our goal to provide a memorable experience for each and every guest.

It is great for us to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us. We are currently working on delivering an improved express checkout offering for our guests.

With regards to the pre-authorisation taken on check in, there are some occasions that the bank does not release the money straight away. Unfortunately we are unable to have direct control as whilst the bank is holding the money on our behalf, we do not actually have the money ourselves.

We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Penrith
Quality Inn Penrith
#2 of 3 in Penrith
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Penrith Valley Inn
Penrith Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Penrith
119 reviews
9.0 mi away
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
#1 of 1 in Rooty Hill
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel Eastern Creek
Alpha Hotel Eastern Creek
#1 of 1 in Eastern Creek
296 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Nepean River
1.0 mi away
Value Suites
Value Suites
#2 of 2 in Emu Plains
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Penrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Penrith

Property: Mercure Penrith
Address: Jamison Roads | Cnr Mulgoa, Penrith, New South Wales 2750, Australia (Formerly Chifley Penrith Panthers)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Penrith 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MERCURE PENRITH IS AT THE GATEWAY TO WESTERN SYDNEY Penrith is one of Sydney's best inland aquatic playgrounds. Have fun riding the rapids at Penrith Whitewater Stadium, visit the Sydney International Regatta Centre, paddle on the Nepean Gorge in a canoe or relax with a picnic by the Nepean River. Penrith Valley, with its beautiful rivers, national parks and lakes, is just a 55-minute drive from the centre of Sydney. It's a great escape for the whole family with plenty of things to see and do. LOCATED IN PENRITH VALLEY AT THE FOOTHILLS OF THE BLUE MOUNTAINS Explore pockets of unspoiled bush land, national parks, as well as the many treasured historic landmarks scattered throughout the region. Experience the area's lively arts scene on display at local museums and art galleries. Enjoy the beauty of the Nepean Gorge from the deck of the Nepean Belle Paddlewheeler or explore on foot. Whether you're staying for business or pleasure, for a night or a week, Penrith will exceed your expectations. A MAJESTIC PLAYGROUND FOR THE YOUNG AT HEART Next door is Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment with 9 dining options, 6 bars, Aqua Golf, Cables Wake Park, ifly and a travel shop. Panthers also offers a state of art Convention Centre, with seven architecturally designed formal and informal functions rooms, boasting an 800 delegate purpose build seminar and entertainment theatre with state of the art audio visual. Also at Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment is The Evan Theatre a first-class, purpose built entertainment venue. The Evan has been host to an array of leading entertainers including John Farnham, Boys II Men, The Wiggles and David Strassman. Adjacent to Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment and the Mercure Penrith is a 1500 seat Exhibition Marquee, one of Sydney's largest marquees. Sportingbet Stadium, home of the Penrith Panthers, is opposite the Mercure Penrith. The Mercure Penrith boasts 223 rooms featuring flat-screen TV s, cable TV , air-conditioning and WIFI Internet access. Additional facilities include a gymnasium, guest lounge, outdoor swimming pool, BBQ area and ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Penrith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Penrith Panthers Hotel Penrith
Panther Penrith
Chifley Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing