We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thrilled with our stay”
Review of Mercure Penrith

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Penrith
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Penrith
Central West NSW
Level Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Thrilled with our stay”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I booked a nights accommodation with trepidation (previous reviews) as the location was perfect and I'm pleased to say that we ended up having the perfect experience.
Everyone we dealt with from booking over the phone with requests (which were all met) to check-in (Welsby is a credit to the Hotel) to housekeeping we passed in the corridor (full of smiles and greetings) to questions asked at reception (I didn't get names but they were lovely) and to check-out (Welsby again) were fantastic. We were made to feel very welcome.
The room was more than adequate for our needs, clean, spacious and uncluttered. The only thing I felt was missing was a small bin near the sink area, other than that, perfect!
We did do the breakfast next door at Hanks and loved it. It was a special occasion, so we splurged.
All up, you helped make this weekend away from the kids something to remember and we will return.

Room Tip: I asked for Non Smoking (They all are anyway), away from the lifts (I think the central lift gets th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julpat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where it is our goal to provide a memorable experience for each and every guest.

It is delightful to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us, and that we could make your weekend away so enjoyable. It is particularly pleasing for me to hear about the wonderful service that you received from Welsby and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next getaway.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    254
    213
    80
    37
See reviews for
168
202
36
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Chifley Penrith Panthers, as it was close to the Penrith Panthers Leagues Club next door where we were seeing a concert. It was much better than I expected, having booked a 'revitalised' room at a very good rate. Bed was only a double and very hard, but room had been refurbished so was more than adequate. Not luxurious but quite good for the price. Location couldn't have been better in terms of proximity to Club. Didn't have the breakfast at hotel, but walked to nearby fast food place for a cheap breakfast. All in all, would recommend if you want good value, without luxury. Suited us, as we were hardly in the room but wanted somewhere clean and modern.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AandKCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we strive to provde a memorable experience for each and every guests.

It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the room you were in. We do have mattress toppers available for our guests if they do find our mattress to be too hard for their liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as I was attending a conference at Panthers for 2 days. The reception staff were very unfriendly and unwelcoming to the point where when in our conference at least 6 other people commented on it and we all just had to laugh. My room had 2 beds in it and in the morning I turned one on to read but it didnt work, so I changed the bulb with the one that did work, but it still didnt work, then I tried the 3rd lamp and it did not work either. Other than that, the room was clean and presentable and the bed quite comfy.
Upon departure I ran into the room cleaner and she was just lovely, she was friendly and cheerful, my colleague and I both commented that she should be given a job at reception!!

Room Tip: Try to avoid anything near the lft as I did hear the ding so many time through out the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where it is our aim to provide every hotel guest with a memorable experience.

It is terribly disappointing for me to hear that we were not able to achieve this during your stay, and even more so to hear that it was the service side of the stay that was the let down. This is a totally unacceptable level of service, and I will be addressing this issue with the team. It is pleasing to hear that you did get friendly service from the housekeeper, and that you enjoyed the comfort of your room.

We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was here for a total period of about 2 month for work. I found the rooms to be generally clean and quiet. The rooms near the elevator can be a bit noisy.
The location is good and close to the panthers club where I had most of my meals. Due to my early starts in the morning, I had mostly in room breakfast around 6am, and for the duration of my entire stay, I can count on one hand how many times they actually got my order correctly.
The staff were friendly, and obviously knew us by the end of our stay. The barman, Paul, was amazing. He was friendly, and his service was predictive and unobtrusive.
On another note, the air condition was terrible, it was either boiling hot (i.e. heater comes on), or freezing cold.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee24k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we strive to provide every guest with a memorable experience.

It is pleasing for me to hear that you were able to enjoy a number of teh feacilities and features here in the hotel, but it is particularly pleasing for me to hear that the staff, in particular Paul, were so warm and welcoming and made you feel at home while you were here with us.

I am sorry to hear that there were some issues with your air conditioning, and that there were repeated errors with your room service breakfast. Rest assured that these issues will be followed up with our Maintenance and Reception teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back through the doors of Chifley Penrith again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Right from the start of checking in I was extremely dissapointed the front reception lady was horrible and didnt even want to be there.. when I entered the room it was out dated and a basic "motel room". The shower was nothing but a dribble of water. I reached breaking point when I noticed which looked like blood dribbled on the wall. I've never had such a terrible experience for $150 a night this was hardly worth it. The only thing this place has going for it, is location. I would think after so many bad reviews this place would improve!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where it is our goal to provide every one of our guests with a memorable experience.

It is disappointing to read that we were not able to achieve this during your stay with us. I am partciularly concerned with some of the issues that you experienced with the bathroom in your room and would like to discuss these matters further. Please do not hesiate to contact me at manager.penrith@chifleyhotels.com for futher discussion.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Sandwiched in between a couple of pretty awful, overpriced hotels, this stay was much appreciated. Clean, quiet, fairly good sized rooms. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and nice. Loved that we could go next door for great food and entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akaall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotel it is our aim to provide each and every guest with a memorable experience.

I am delighted to hear that you found your time with us to be enjoyable, and that you were able to make the most of the facilities next door at Panthers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Penrith
Quality Inn Penrith
#2 of 3 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Penrith Valley Inn
Penrith Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Penrith
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
9.0 mi away
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
#1 of 1 in Rooty Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Value Suites
Value Suites
#2 of 2 in Emu Plains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Nepean River
1.6 mi away
Astina Serviced Apartments - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Penrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Penrith

Property: Mercure Penrith
Address: Jamison Roads | Cnr Mulgoa, Penrith, New South Wales 2750, Australia (Formerly Chifley Penrith Panthers)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Penrith 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MERCURE PENRITH IS AT THE GATEWAY TO WESTERN SYDNEY Penrith is one of Sydney's best inland aquatic playgrounds. Have fun riding the rapids at Penrith Whitewater Stadium, visit the Sydney International Regatta Centre, paddle on the Nepean Gorge in a canoe or relax with a picnic by the Nepean River. Penrith Valley, with its beautiful rivers, national parks and lakes, is just a 55-minute drive from the centre of Sydney. It's a great escape for the whole family with plenty of things to see and do. LOCATED IN PENRITH VALLEY AT THE FOOTHILLS OF THE BLUE MOUNTAINS Explore pockets of unspoiled bush land, national parks, as well as the many treasured historic landmarks scattered throughout the region. Experience the area's lively arts scene on display at local museums and art galleries. Enjoy the beauty of the Nepean Gorge from the deck of the Nepean Belle Paddlewheeler or explore on foot. Whether you're staying for business or pleasure, for a night or a week, Penrith will exceed your expectations. A MAJESTIC PLAYGROUND FOR THE YOUNG AT HEART Next door is Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment with 9 dining options, 6 bars, Aqua Golf, Cables Wake Park, ifly and a travel shop. Panthers also offers a state of art Convention Centre, with seven architecturally designed formal and informal functions rooms, boasting an 800 delegate purpose build seminar and entertainment theatre with state of the art audio visual. Also at Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment is The Evan Theatre a first-class, purpose built entertainment venue. The Evan has been host to an array of leading entertainers including John Farnham, Boys II Men, The Wiggles and David Strassman. Adjacent to Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment and the Mercure Penrith is a 1500 seat Exhibition Marquee, one of Sydney's largest marquees. Sportingbet Stadium, home of the Penrith Panthers, is opposite the Mercure Penrith. The Mercure Penrith boasts 223 rooms featuring flat-screen TV s, cable TV , air-conditioning and WIFI Internet access. Additional facilities include a gymnasium, guest lounge, outdoor swimming pool, BBQ area and ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Penrith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Penrith Panthers Hotel Penrith
Panther Penrith
Chifley Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing