We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Mercure Penrith

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Penrith
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penrith
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was very disappointed in my stay at the Chifley Hotel. My visit was from the 10/12/12 until the 14/12/12. During this time reception staff were consistently rude and unwelcoming. Also the room televisions were slow and had limited television channels (no digital channels). When I wanted to check how much the "movies on demand" were I unwittingly purchased a movie, only to find out that the recent release movies were 14.95... Thinking I would be able to watch the movie I had purchased on another night, I was disappointed to realise that there must have been a time limit, when I phoned reception I was rudely informed that there was a 24hr limit to watching the movie. No apology was given. Perhaps the icing on the cake was when the room cleaner tried to walk into my room at 9am (1hr before final check out time) before I had checked out when I was still packing- luckily I had the chain on the door. This was followed by an embarrassed sorry from a maid who did not reappear. A very poor experience.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank traveller8025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Good morning,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotel we pride ourselves on making every guest's stay with us a memorable experience.

I am disappointed to hear we were not able to achieve this during your stay with us, and am particularly disappointed to hear that it was the easiest area to get right where we have not met your expectations - that is warm and friendly customer service. I will be speaking with the Reception and Housekeeping staff to remind them of their commitments to deliver top level service to our guests.

With regards to the TV and movies, our current setup has not allowed us to access the new Freeview channels. However, we will be changing this in early 2013 with all Freeview channels available, and movies that will be priced according to the market standards.

We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 737 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here on Sunday night 9th December on a girls night out. The hotel was conveniently located next door to the Penrith Panthers Leagues Club. The gentlemen on the reception desk overnight we really friendly and helpful - nothing seemed to be a problem for them to make our stay enjoyable. The room we had (516) was very clean and well laid out. We had two double beds which were very firm and comfortable. The shower was hot and the water pressure was excellent. We ate at the Leagues club so I can't comment on the food at the hotel, however we were informed there was 24 hour room service available if required. There were tea and coffee making facilities or we had a choice from the minibar - $3.50 for a long neck, or two cans of coke for $3.00 which I thought were quite reasonable. I would definitely recommend this hotel both for price and convenience.

Room Tip: I would opt for two doubles (it was only $5.00 more per room) rather than a queen and single. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Good morning,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotel we pride ourselves on delivering a meorable experience for every guest.

I am delighted to hear that you found your stay with us to be an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here because it was close to where my meeting was the next morning. The check in staff were rude and unhelpful, the room was basic and trying to find the breakfast was a 30 minute process. and it was not worth it - terrible all round. My advise stay somewhere else!!

Room Tip: dont have breakfast here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank craigsmithdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Good morning,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay withus at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotel we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable experience for all of our guests.

I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to achieve this during your stay with us. I am very sorry to hear about your check in experience and I will be following this up with our Front Desk team.

With regards to breakfast, I am delighted to say that from Novbember 27th we will be providing a new alternative for our guests. This will be located in the new restaurant in the club, which is located right at the entry between the hotel and the club, and will provide a high quality buffet.

We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

It comes across as flashy but when you get to the room its down hill the bathroom tiles have been painted and the paint is peeling off, the bath was slippery and $30 for a sixpack really? would not recommend unless no where else and dear for what you get, the smoking room was above us so we found out latter and people up all night moving chairs around

Room Tip: stay away from lifts and smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malmono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Good afternoon,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotel we take pride in making every guests experience a memorable one.

I am disappointed to hear we could not achieve this during your stay with us. We are currently looking at other options for our bathrooms that will provide a high quality finish. We are also now looking at the furniture up on the Level 5 courtyard and will ensure that we make the necessary modifications to ensure there is not a repeat of the disruption that you experienced during your time here.

We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my 3rd stay at the Chifley Penrith. There is not much choice around this area and my work requires me to be local when I am there. The rooms are clean and comfortable - nothing special but does the job. I found it strange there is no room service dinner - which is what you often want if you're on your own and very tired! You can order from a local resturant & have it delivered though. I do not recommend the local chinese. There is room service breakfast. The internet is expensive and very slow - if it works at all.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank lillystu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Good afternoon,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your most recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotel we pride ourselves on making every guest's stay with us a memorable one.

I am pleased to hear that you have found your stays with us to be enjoyable thus far. With regards to the room service, this has come about due to the hotel lacking its own restauyrants, a legacy of teh previous ownership by the Leragues Club. We have engaged the local restaurants as they are more flexible to our needs, however we will look at the Chinese restaurant we use if the quality is not what is expected.

With regards to the internet, we are currently reviewing all options as our current agreement is about to end, and the new option will be much more cost effective and reliable.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The facilities weren't great - there was hair on my pillow that did not belong to me. The hotel has a dated look, the bed was hard and overall it was very average.
The positives included easy access to a range of restaurants within the Panthers Club, and the price was fine.
We only stayed one night, which suited us, however, if we needed to stay for longer we probably wouldn't stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Good afternoon,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotel we pride ourselves on providing our guests with a memorable experience.

I am sorry to hear we could not quite provide that for you on this occasion. We are currently soucing some mattress toppers and back boards for those who might find our bedding a little to hard or soft for their liking.

With regards to the rooms, we have refurbished a number of rooms, but still have some that we are hopeful of refurbishing in the not too distant future.

We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed two nights recently with family and whilst impressed with size of room and very comfy beds, was a little bit dissapointed with reception. We were early and advised it was a 3pm check in but not in a friendy smiling manner, more like thats the rules, see ya later...No helpful hints on what to do for a few hours. Older woman at desk needs to learn she is in a service industry and a smile goes a long way. When my 2 daughters comment on it when we went outside shows me it was not just me who noticed her rudeness and abruptness..She could have advised us where local shops were, the Leagues Club next and what it had to offer, but Nothing as we had no idea as we are from Qld..!!. We did eat on site and it was lovely, so not all bad...

Room Tip: Ask for the family rooms - quite large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve-70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Good morning,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotel we strive to make every guests stay with us a memorable one.

I am pleased to hear that the majority of your stay with us was enjoyable, and that you enjoyed the size of our family rooms, which do prove quite popular. I am disappointed to hear that your stay was somewhat soured by the poor service upon check in. I can assure you that this is not the standard we set for ourselves, and that I will be following this up with the staff member in question.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Penrith
Quality Inn Penrith
#2 of 4 in Penrith
102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Penrith Valley Inn
Penrith Valley Inn
#3 of 4 in Penrith
132 reviews
9.0 mi away
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
#1 of 1 in Rooty Hill
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Atura Blacktown
Atura Blacktown
#1 of 2 in Prospect
478 reviews
1.0 mi away
ValueSuites
ValueSuites
#2 of 2 in Emu Plains
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Nepean River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Penrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Penrith

Address: Jamison Roads | Cnr Mulgoa, Penrith, New South Wales 2750, Australia (Formerly Chifley Penrith Panthers)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: $109 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Penrith 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MERCURE PENRITH IS AT THE GATEWAY TO WESTERN SYDNEY Penrith is one of Sydney's best inland aquatic playgrounds. Have fun riding the rapids at Penrith Whitewater Stadium, visit the Sydney International Regatta Centre, paddle on the Nepean Gorge in a canoe or relax with a picnic by the Nepean River. Penrith Valley, with its beautiful rivers, national parks and lakes, is just a 55-minute drive from the centre of Sydney. It's a great escape for the whole family with plenty of things to see and do. LOCATED IN PENRITH VALLEY AT THE FOOTHILLS OF THE BLUE MOUNTAINS Explore pockets of unspoiled bush land, national parks, as well as the many treasured historic landmarks scattered throughout the region. Experience the area's lively arts scene on display at local museums and art galleries. Enjoy the beauty of the Nepean Gorge from the deck of the Nepean Belle Paddlewheeler or explore on foot. Whether you're staying for business or pleasure, for a night or a week, Penrith will exceed your expectations. A MAJESTIC PLAYGROUND FOR THE YOUNG AT HEART Next door is Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment with 9 dining options, 6 bars, Aqua Golf, Cables Wake Park, ifly and a travel shop. Panthers also offers a state of art Convention Centre, with seven architecturally designed formal and informal functions rooms, boasting an 800 delegate purpose build seminar and entertainment theatre with state of the art audio visual. Also at Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment is The Evan Theatre a first-class, purpose built entertainment venue. The Evan has been host to an array of leading entertainers including John Farnham, Boys II Men, The Wiggles and David Strassman. Adjacent to Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment and the Mercure Penrith is a 1500 seat Exhibition Marquee, one of Sydney's largest marquees. Sportingbet Stadium, home of the Penrith Panthers, is opposite the Mercure Penrith. The Mercure Penrith boasts 223 rooms featuring flat-screen TV s, cable TV , air-conditioning and WIFI Internet access. Additional facilities include a gymnasium, guest lounge, outdoor swimming pool, BBQ area and ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Penrith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Penrith Panthers Hotel Penrith
Panther Penrith
Chifley Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing