We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be better Chifley”
Review of Mercure Penrith

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Penrith
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Penrith
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Should be better Chifley”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed in a family room located on lower floor. Noise from air conditioning made sleep almost impossible. Pillows rock hard. Bathroom had mould and was not cleaned properly. Dated furniture. I was extremely disappointed with Chifley for the condition of this room. Staff adjusted rate accordingly. I have stayed in a more modern twin room at Panthers and expected the family room to be similar in standard.

Room Tip: Inspect family room before staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ged4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Good afternoon,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotel we pride our on delivering an experience that exceeds our guests expectations.

I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to achieve this during your stay with us. The family rooms are part of the last block of rooms to be refurbished, and we are currently working with the owners to finalise the last stage of refurbishment. Once this is complete the room will be of the same standard as the room you had stayed in previously.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    258
    215
    80
    38
See reviews for
169
207
36
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2012

After checking into room 122, we were greeted with a stuffy room like it hadnt been aired or cleaned in a while. Mozzies filled the room, complained to Reception, and he sprayed the room with "Peabo Fly Spray", and suggested a door had been left open over night. Five minutes later whilst resting in the room a giant cockroach ran over our feet, on further inspection of the windows and curatins it was laced with cobwebs. We complained to Reception, once again, and were given another room (upgraded), however, there was no apology for the inconvenience caused. I suggest Management reviews their Front Line Staff on customer service. Housekeepiong also needs to be reviewed. Overall, a disappointing weekend stay and would be hesitant to stay again.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room on the ground floor !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Good afternoon,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotel we pride ourselves on delivering an experience that exceeds our guests expectations.

I am disappointed to hear that we could not achieve this during your stay with us. We have undertaken a review of our process here at the hotel to ensure that our handling of any guest issues that may arise is much smoother. We are also looking at permanent solutions for the bug issue that came up in your Courtyard Room.

We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central tablelands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

just stayed at this hotel, I was very dissapointed in the room, the condition of the furnishings really need to be addressed
* curtains not fitting correctly and falling of the rails.
* state of the bathroom appalling, there was mold growing on areas of the wall as well as on the shower curtain, the bath looked as though it hadnt been cleaned properly, a very rough paint job had been completed as well.
* aircon needs some attention as it was very noisy, not to mention the build up of dust etc which was visiable from a distance. it was impossible get to sleep without it, as the room became stuffy. so between the mosquitos and the noisy aircon, sleeping was virtually a non event.

as for the service,
* there where some staff at the counter that could use some training on greeting guests

so I would strongly suggest to the management of this hotel, take the time to really look over the establishment.

Room Tip: apart from inspecting prior to booking I cant suggest anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TakeTimetostop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Good afternoon,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotel we pride ourselves on delivering an experience that exceeds our guests expectations.

I am disappointed to hear about the issues you expereinced during your stay. Please rest assured that we have followed up on the ares you identified and where possible have already rectified these issues. With the air conditioning and the room, we are working on programs that will address these issues.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

the executive king room is nice, but the cleaning service not so good, I could still find hair on the floor... No 24h room service available except for breakfast...
The good sides is a buffet for breakfast... and very nice people who try their best.
Proximity to restaurants and to activity places.
Not a real king size bed, but two doubles.

Room Tip: I was on floor 2 reception level... not too noisy and easy for the luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILOVETAHITI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Good morning,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay at Chifley Penrith. Here we pride ourselves on delivering an experience that exceeds our guests expectations.

I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to achieve this in some aspects of your stay. Please rest assured I have discussed your feedback with our housekeeping team to find out why we let our standards drop on this occasion. With regards to the bed, our king beds are all zip beds, but on the back of recent feedback we are reviewing how we cover the beds to ensure the zip is not noticed.

I am pleased to hear about the excellent service your received whilst you were with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

i had previously stayed here about 2 years ago, and i have to say the last time left alot to be desired, but i have to say this time the staff were friendly, rooms were alot cleaner, Breakfast was great and you could notice alot of changes, i will be back for sure.... Go the panthers in 2012

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Good afternoon,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay at Chifley Penrith. Here at teh hotel we pride ourselves on delivering a level of service that exceeds our guests expectations.

I am delighted to hear tha tyou found your stay with us to be an enjoyable one. It is particularly pleasing to hear that we were able to provide a much improved stay from your rpevious experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Large, clean and comfortable room with lovely views of the Blue Mountains. Staff friendly and helpful, especially with regards to local travel services etc. Great start to our 3 week trip, thanks!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Good afternoon,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay at Chifley Penrith. Here at thehotel we pride ourselves on delivering a level of service that exceeds our guests expectations.

I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was a most enjoyable one, and I am glad we could get your holiday off to a great start!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

For $100 a night, I wasn't expecting much. And that was what I go.
An average room with dated decor, looked very much like a prison cell with the grey whitewashed walls. Was clean, smelt a bit odd though. The bathroom was terrible. The bed was comfortable. Close to the station, and conveniently located right next to Panthers which has a brilliant restaurant called Osso.

It was EXTREMELY basic. But the great service from the staff was a bonus - very friendly, helpful and an easy checkout.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Good afternoon,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotel we pride ourselves on delivering a level of service that exceeds our guests expectations.

It pleases me to hear that we were able to achieve this during your stay with us. I will also pass your feedback about Osso's to the restuarants owners.

We look forwward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Penrith
Quality Inn Penrith
#2 of 3 in Penrith
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Penrith Valley Inn
Penrith Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Penrith
119 reviews
9.0 mi away
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
#1 of 1 in Rooty Hill
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel Eastern Creek
Alpha Hotel Eastern Creek
#1 of 1 in Eastern Creek
292 reviews
1.0 mi away
Value Suites
Value Suites
#2 of 2 in Emu Plains
54 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Nepean River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Penrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Penrith

Property: Mercure Penrith
Address: Jamison Roads | Cnr Mulgoa, Penrith, New South Wales 2750, Australia (Formerly Chifley Penrith Panthers)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Penrith 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MERCURE PENRITH IS AT THE GATEWAY TO WESTERN SYDNEY Penrith is one of Sydney's best inland aquatic playgrounds. Have fun riding the rapids at Penrith Whitewater Stadium, visit the Sydney International Regatta Centre, paddle on the Nepean Gorge in a canoe or relax with a picnic by the Nepean River. Penrith Valley, with its beautiful rivers, national parks and lakes, is just a 55-minute drive from the centre of Sydney. It's a great escape for the whole family with plenty of things to see and do. LOCATED IN PENRITH VALLEY AT THE FOOTHILLS OF THE BLUE MOUNTAINS Explore pockets of unspoiled bush land, national parks, as well as the many treasured historic landmarks scattered throughout the region. Experience the area's lively arts scene on display at local museums and art galleries. Enjoy the beauty of the Nepean Gorge from the deck of the Nepean Belle Paddlewheeler or explore on foot. Whether you're staying for business or pleasure, for a night or a week, Penrith will exceed your expectations. A MAJESTIC PLAYGROUND FOR THE YOUNG AT HEART Next door is Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment with 9 dining options, 6 bars, Aqua Golf, Cables Wake Park, ifly and a travel shop. Panthers also offers a state of art Convention Centre, with seven architecturally designed formal and informal functions rooms, boasting an 800 delegate purpose build seminar and entertainment theatre with state of the art audio visual. Also at Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment is The Evan Theatre a first-class, purpose built entertainment venue. The Evan has been host to an array of leading entertainers including John Farnham, Boys II Men, The Wiggles and David Strassman. Adjacent to Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment and the Mercure Penrith is a 1500 seat Exhibition Marquee, one of Sydney's largest marquees. Sportingbet Stadium, home of the Penrith Panthers, is opposite the Mercure Penrith. The Mercure Penrith boasts 223 rooms featuring flat-screen TV s, cable TV , air-conditioning and WIFI Internet access. Additional facilities include a gymnasium, guest lounge, outdoor swimming pool, BBQ area and ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Penrith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Penrith Panthers Hotel Penrith
Panther Penrith
Chifley Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing