We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good food!”
Review of Pioneer Tavern

Pioneer Tavern
Ranked #109 of 318 Restaurants in Penrith
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Pioneer Tavern is a family friendly venue situated at the foot of the Blue Mountains. We pride ourselves on outstanding service, food presentation, good value and quality offers. We treat all our guests with an experience to remember. We are famous for our Schnitzels! With 21 topper varieties to choose from plus the option of regular, big bird or huge the choices are endless! Our Bistro is open every day for lunch and dinner, and on Saturday and Sunday from 9am for breakfast. Boasting both indoor and outdoor seating you are able to dine anywhere throughout the venue. There is always something going on with live entertainment, trivia plus great family entertainment on our Family Fun Days. Check our What's On page to keep up to date with what's happening. If you are looking for a function space we are the ideal location! Whether it be a relaxed get together, birthday, engagement or any type of special event we will be able to cater for your needs. We host a wide range of facilities including TAB, VIP Lounge and Keno along with two easy accessible bars to choose from with ice cold beer always on tap. We are open to until the early hours of the morning, so you can come nearly any time and relax! The tavern is located on the Cnr Maxwell & The Northern, Penrith, adjoining suburbs include Orchard Hills, Jamisontown, Glenmore Park, Emu Plains and South Penrith. The tavern is just minutes from the M4 and easily accessible via public transport with buses frequently stopping just minutes away.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always good food!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Been here quiet alot recently, I get the shopper dockets online.(6 bux for 2nd meal) The steak is awesome and melts in your mouth. You have to order the right cut though, a thick steak, not a budget deal one! Schnitzel is great and very fresh. The only thing is the garlic bread is very thick style and the butter does not penetrate so it is always dry, this aside, great pub food.

My suggestion order a thick steak not a deal like surf and turf..........

PS they do a very late night menu and also take away.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachaeldoesbette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I have been to this pub a number of times for lunch and dinner.
I have always been amazed by the size and quality of the meals provided.
There are 27 chicken schnizels to choose from, and you can also choose the size of the schnitzel. While I have not tasted all of them, I certainly have had a variety and have always walked away stuffed.
The schnitzels seem to be crumbed and cooked fresh and this is something that I love about the bistro meals.
They have a $12 'tradies lunch' deal with a variety of choices of meals, but have noticed that the meals are smaller than the meals ordered off the menu at other times.
For a pub it is pretty basic and there is not much atmosphere.
I would reccommend this place for a meal but its not to great for general chilling out with friends.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CestLeVie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“FOR A LOCAL PUB BARN THE FOOD IS PRETTY GOOD”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Only been for lunch its a big pub but getting rave reviews for the food and the value $12 steaks etc
Pub style go and order, get a buzzer - go collect your food - pretty good for a pub and tasty fresh food of a good standard but no pretence about it

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank our001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food great price”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We went to the Pioneer Tavern as part of a birthday celebration. It was very busy but service was quick. It was Surf and Turf night and I had rump steak and gralic prawns for $12. It was fantastic food and fantastic value. My husband had schnitzel. It was great as well. Dessert was great and the coffee fantastic. I have eaten at many great up market restaurants and was really impressed by everything at The Pioneer

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raels216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penrith
1 review
“YUCK!”
Reviewed September 21, 2009

a pub trying to serve restaurant priced food and fails miserably. I ordered the whiting fillet fish ($18) and chips, my girlfriend ordered steak and calamari ($28). The fish was tasteless and the steak has the dubious honor of being the worst steak Ive ever eaten, ordered medium rare which it was, but the char was over powering and bitter. AVOID this pub for food

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pommymafew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer Tavern also viewed

Penrith, Greater Sydney
Penrith, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Pioneer Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing