We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Powered site with ensuite for a week Park is both well equipped and maintained and very clean. Refreshing to see recycling facilities (unlike other parks) Staff friendly and obliged us with a free late checkout (wet tent). Would recommend and stay again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela R, Manager at BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for leaving such a great review. All our team members work hard to ensure all our guests have a memorable experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 77 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

I cannot begin to express how lovely and beautiful this place really is. We stayed in Villa No.1 and it was lovely, very clean and very comfortable. The view from the cabin was amazing. I could have sat there all weekend and not moved. The kids were so excited when we drove in seeing a double jumping pillow, water park and beautiful pool. The games room with movie night was great too. We hired a buggy (which did kill the legs!!) and the kids loved it. We loved everything about this holiday park. It may be a little bit more expensive than other holiday parks but I must say that it is definatley worth every cent. We have stayed in cheaper places and all we saw were rowdy, unruly people who you wouldn't want your kids near. Being a little bit more pricey keeps out the unwanted people. And the amenities were spotless. The cleanest holiday park I have ever seen. My 7 year old started crying when we left cause he loved it so much.Thanks for a lovely stay. We will be back sooner than later.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadiaAndrewReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela R, Manager at BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for leaving us such a glowing review. When we received it we passed it onto the staff. You made their day! It was very much appreciated and we hope you do return to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed for two nights in a riverside cabin and had a very relaxing time here. The cabin was well equipped and very clean although like other reviewers we too found that the table tops were really sticky.We did mention the sticky tops to the staff in reception and were told that they were aware of the problem and were waiting for an opportunity to re varnish.
The position of the cabins is idyllic and we enjoyed sitting outside in the evening and when the tide was out and the river low we watched the kangaroos come down to the river to drink.
It is possible to fish from the river bank. There are many birds to spot including pelicans.
There is no free wifi and to access it you need to buy a package from reception which is quite pricey.
This is the sort of place where you put your phone away and chill out!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Teddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela R, Manager at BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us and others know how much you enjoyed your time with us. I have also taken note of your mention re the Sticky Table, this will be addressed.
We hope to see you back here again where as you say "you can chill out".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Camp sites powered and unpowered are huge. Enough room for van annexe tents car and boat. Open fires allowed on the river front sites are great. Plenty of fire wood to be collected along the river and road site. Pub opposite park with pizzas and bistro. Only negative is the ammeneties, not quite enough. Ill go back. 10kms north west of Batemsns Bay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coastrunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela R, Manager at BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience when you stayed with us, yes the sites are big, we always have guests telling us how much room they have on their sites, nice not to be cramped in. Fires certainly add to the camping experience, pleased to hear you will come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were a bit tentative about staying here after reading previous reviews but it is one of the nicest we have ever stayed at. We were met by the nicest young staff member who told us everything we needed to know, including taking 20 cent coins over for showers. Considering they have to truck their water in, it is not unreasonable to expect people to lay for their water. The cost of the site was $72 for 2 nights and well worth it. There is a terrific camp kitchen, games area for children, immaculately clean and modern amenities, children's swimming pool and separate adults pool.
There is a huge grassy area for children to kick a footy and play on.

Dogs are welcome but are restricted to one area of the park which us a great idea. You may love your dog, but not everyone wants to holiday with them. As the photos show, our powered site is right on the river which includes a beautiful sandy beach area. We are so sorry we can only stay 2 nights this time, but we will definitely come back for a longer stay.

Please come and give it a try yourself, don't take any notice of the lies and spiteful reviews that have been put on trip adviser. People should not be permitted to put such lies on this site. The parks are regularly checked to see if they are up to their usually high rating.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MaddieDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela R, Manager at BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Firstly sorry for not responding earlier, we printed your review and showed it to all our staff. You gave us such a glowing review we just felt great when we read it. It was so refreshing to read your encouraging words of support for our staff, they all work very hard to please all guests.Thank you for choosing our park for your couple of days break. Looking forward to seeing you next tine, when we hope you can stay a little longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We have stayed a few times here over the last couple of years - in cabin accommodation.

The positives: staff are friendly - never been rude to us. Easy check-in procedure. Cabins have enough car park room for 4m boat plus car. Views of the river are really nice (make sure you get a river front cabin). BBQs on cabin verandahs are very simple to operate, but make sure you watch for the light going out - need to keep it lit. Park is directly opposite a good pub and just down the road from the Nelligen general store that sells some general supplies, take away food, bait etc. Fishing on the river is excellent. Great boat ramp for park customers.

The negatives: Firstly, the most significant drawback is lack of mobile telephone reception. With Batemans bay just 5km down the road and better reception available at the top of Browns Mountain (where nobody lives!) this is a real setback when you need to keep in touch with people. Yes, the park offers wifi - but it is extremely overpriced, hard to use (the webpage keeps you logged in and chews up all of your time!), the wifi reception drops in and out of range and free wifi really should be included in the price with a lack of mobile reception! Secondly, at the time we stayed (early Feb 2014), our cabin had a cockroach problem - which extended from the BBQ to the bedroom. Thirdly, the pool and games room were very tired and outdated - they need a update. The pool was small - and on a hot summer day quickly filled up so there was standing room only. Fourthly, the tables in our room were constantly 'sticky' - cleaning staff seem to be using an incorrect cleaning solution on the wood that was dissolving the lacquer.

In summary - it was ok, the views and location are the saving point for this place. The park really does need an upgrade if it wants to keep winning awards (it won an award in 2008-9 and still keeps a link to it on its website - that was 5 years ago). The park seems to have become a bit complacent - and is now starting to show its age.

Room Tip: Cabins by the river offer the best views and seem to be a bit quieter than cabins on stilts back fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here back in 2009 and we loved it a lot and we recently just got back from a 7 day stay here at big4 Nelligen Holiday park and I didn't enjoy it much.

The kids waterpark gives you a wow factor the first time but then you realise how "outdated" it is. Most parks these days have Wet n Wild type water parks at their resorts. 2 of the features do not work either.

Reception ladies were lovely so that's great I guess but we were angry that there was NO phone reception or internet at all unless you buy internet. It's also a HUGE rip off because for 1 hour it's a little over 7 dollars but you can only use 300mb per day... What of I brought 20 hours for 70 dollars... Total scam. We started to feel cut off from the outside world. Most parks have free wifi.

The main pool is way to small. Yeah back in the 90s it would of being considered "huge" but you can barely dive in, it could use an update.

The cabin had ants in it. We tried to get rid of them but next day ants would appear on the kitchen benches again. The cabin was really clean though which is good. The park is a bit boring to be honest and we won't be coming back here for a while if we ever do come back..

Stayed: January 2014
Thank LaraSueS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelligen
6.6 mi away
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 18 in Batemans Bay
275 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lincoln Downs Resort Batemans Bay
4.8 mi away
BIG4 Batemans Bay at Easts Riverside Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Big4 South Durras Holiday Park
6.0 mi away
Coachhouse Marina Resort
Coachhouse Marina Resort
#9 of 18 in Batemans Bay
261 reviews
13.1 mi away
Barlings Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park

Address: 970 Kings Highway, Nelligen, New South Wales 2536, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eurobodalla > Nelligen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Nelligen
Price Range: $76 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our team at BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park look forward to welcoming you to our very special location on the shores of the Clyde River, just out of Batemans Bay on the beautiful South Coast of NSW. Our beautifully located park provides a wealth of activities for all the family and is in a perfect location for boating and fishing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing