We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Great park for the family. Massive oval in the centre of the park and situated on the river. Camping from the river side is a bit of a trek to the amenities but the cabins are in a great position. 2 jumping pillows a pool and a little splash zone so none of the family misses out. Has a pub directly across the road. Wood fire pizzas and a kids play area out the back. Only downside is the coin operated showers. Apart from that great place to stay

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BeccyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 76 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed in three bedroom riverside cabin. It was enormous and immaculate. We loved it so much we tried to book a few extra nights but the cabin was booked solid. The kids loved the pool, kids wash and jumping pillows

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danlover1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

After recently spending a few days at Nelligen Holiday park, i would highly recommend it to others. After having some caravan troubles on the way down, the staff couldn't of been more helpful and friendly with helping us out with some other accommodation while our van was getting fixed. The facilities are fantastic and clean, plenty for the kids to do and great finding a Caravan park with all great facilities and being still able to have a camp fire. Great family park and will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkn0wles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The septic tank has a major problem and absolutely stinks the park out! We had to leave early it was so bad and so did three other families when we were there.

The lady at the desk didnt care one bit, didnt apologise and then said she can't smell it and knows nothing about it! Yet she told another person they had been having problems... Complete liar! She should have called those staying near it before arrival.

The male owner yelled at everyone in the pool to check you were wearing your 'camper tag'. Complete inappropriate way to behave in front of kids and could have just asked nicely.

No phone coverage at all for any service provide! They do not advise you of this....

River is tidal, so only have water for part of the day.

I will never stay here ever again, and recommend you do not go! Horrible place.

Stayed: January 2013
6  Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela R, Manager at BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Kirsty,
BIG4 Nelligen is located in an idyllic position beside the Clyde River and Nelligen Creek, just out of Batemans Bay. We pride ourselves on providing a safe, friendly and fun park for visitors and families.
Such a great location however comes with its challenges. Ours is water management. During busy periods such as summer we bring water into the park on a daily basis for our guests. We have our own water treatment plant and are very conscious of water management and protection of our unique natural environment.
In January we did have some issues as our treatment plant worked to cater for all our summer visitors. We apologise sincerely for any inconvenience or discomfort this caused. We have since made a number of improvements to our system and have engaged waste water management consultants to monitor and report on our system on a regular basis. We are keeping a close eye on this to ensure our water is used efficiently and our guests are happy during their stay.
Mobile telephone reception is also a challenge for us, as it can be for smaller communities in other parts of rural Australia. We encourage our guests to enjoy a break from their mobile phones. For those who suffer phone-withdrawals, it’s a short drive into Batemans Bay for a coffee at a waterfront cafe and a phone check.
Should anyone like additional information on our park and our water management program, please telephone me personally and I would be happy to tell you more.
Kind regards
Pamela Reseigh
Manager, BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The campground is really nice the staff who run the place are very friendly, helpful and professional. The setup for kids is really really good. With an indoor playground, outdoor playground, jumping pillows for both bigger kids and smaller kids, a pool, a toddler pool with water play and massive green playing field.

The park is obviously aimed at the boating crowd with its location and I must say that if you are not part of a larger group occupying multiple sites - staying up drinking till the early hours of the morning, it might not be your thing. I think it peak holiday times it can be a noisy place - heaven forbid you have to ask a group to keep it down after midnight and get threatened as we did. While management was very apologetic and concerned by the events the next day, on duty staff overnight not able to control noisy crowds.

Aside from our (hopefully) one off incident, the only other complaint was the surprise at checking that you had to pay for showers. While understandable given they work on tank water, the frustration is that you cannot adjust the temperature of the shower as there are no taps. You put in your 2x 20c and you get a hot shower - too hot to comfortably stand under for my wife and I. If you love your shower, this is not the place for you.

Last but not least, be aware there is NO mobile phone coverage at Nelligan. If you want to stay in touch with the outside world you have to purchase wireless Internet access. This may be a good thing for some!

Big camp sites and great range of accommodation types.

Room Tip: If you are staying with kids, good campsite can be chose against the huge green grass playing field...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkKristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We arrived late but the recetionist helped us out, which was lovely. I asked for a kids club program and she mentioned that there wasnt anything organised, which was really dissapointing considering it was school holiday time and we hadnt planned much. I was informed ontop of my nightly fee i had to pay for showeres (40 cents for 3 mins) due to being on town water. But those who have showers in there caravans wouldnt have to pay, so i thought that was a little checky. Would have prefered that we all pay a little more of a nightly fee, and a 3 minute timer be out on in the shower.
The night we arrived i tried to do some washing and found that the washing machine needed the money to be slambed into it to work. But with the help of the after hours people, they got it working.I thought that having one of the two washing machines up one end of the park, not working at peak times was a little silly. The pool is lovely and the jumping castle was great too.
Very dissaponted that our mobiles had no covereage (telstra), so we had no internet. You could purchase the internet wirelessly, but at an hourly fee (cant remember what they asked),
The first night we got there, there was a group of noisy campers, but they seemed to zip it the next night.
Due to the fires we choose to pack up and leave, but this was in no way a reflection on the park. Ideal for someone who loves boating. (not me)

Room Tip: Kides might get bored if not into boating, or going with friends.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We camped for 5 nights with a large family group. Booked the creek front with the fire pits and really enjoyed our stay...except for the Saturday night. Beware the deafening thrash band (warming up late afternoon and roaring into the wee small hours) playing at the pub across the road from the campsites. The children had a great time, bike riding, swimming, jumping pillows, movies in the games room, marshmallows round the fire. Loved the powered site. The less than three minute showers for 40 cents were not an issue - no wasted water and no queues. Forgotten supplies were only a short 8km away at Bateman's Bay and the town of Nelligan just a 15 minute walk. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend for families.

Games room and adjacent kitchen could do with an update.

Room Tip: Powered sites along the creek front have fire pits. Gorgeous views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annabellequinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelligen
6.6 mi away
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 18 in Batemans Bay
270 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lincoln Downs Resort Batemans Bay
4.8 mi away
BIG4 Batemans Bay at Easts Riverside Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Big4 South Durras Holiday Park
5.9 mi away
Coachhouse Marina Resort
Coachhouse Marina Resort
#9 of 18 in Batemans Bay
258 reviews
7.8 mi away
Caseys Beach Holiday Park
Caseys Beach Holiday Park
#4 of 14 in Batemans Bay
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park

Address: 970 Kings Highway, Nelligen, New South Wales 2536, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eurobodalla > Nelligen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Nelligen
Price Range: $59 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our team at BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park look forward to welcoming you to our very special location on the shores of the Clyde River, just out of Batemans Bay on the beautiful South Coast of NSW. Our beautifully located park provides a wealth of activities for all the family and is in a perfect location for boating and fishing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing