We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific - food, hosts, ambiance, location”

Ambermere Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Hartley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Head chef Oliver Roberts brings extensive experience to the plate having worked under several renowned chefs in some of London's leading Michelin star restaurants. With a French and Italian Influence the menu has been created to reflect the abundance of quality fresh produce that is available from our local growing regions and is complimented by a fine wine selection
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stopped at AR Inn on our way back from Jenolan Caves to Sydney, after doing a quick search on Trip Advisor for somewhere nice (and close) to eat. It was a terrific find, a lovely heritage inn, beautifully decorated, with a roaring fire, friendly and amenable host and chef (despite our appearing at 2.30pm on a Monday asking for lunch), really good food, and to top it off, a great cup of coffee (apparently the owner is also a trained barista).
All the food including terrines, chutneys, pickles, pies, cakes and desserts are all apparently made on site and are all therefore super fresh and tasty - I particularly loved the rhubarb and frangipani tart (with cream, strawberries and shredded mint to decorate, it was both visually appealing and delicious).
Despite there not being anything on the menu that specifically catered for children our host offered to make us something appropriate (such as chicken tenderloins and chips) if we wanted - we didn't, as our children happily ate the ploughmans lunch and chicken and leek pot pie from the adult menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 97 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

A group of us went here over the weekend and what was to be a quick coffee turned into a bottle of wine with some fantastic food around one of their open fires. The girls who run this place definitely know how to make their guests feel at home! We have told all our friends about this and we can't wait to see you two again over the long weekend with some new friends for you to treat to your superb venue

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Loughlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Wow, what a find. We went to this Restaurant on our way back to Sydney from a weekend break and were extremely excited by what we found. The young lady who greeted us was so friendly and the food was just beautiful. They have kept the decor as old world and was so in keeping with the history of the building - being a Cobb & Co Inn. The fires were burning and the atmosphere was pleasant, to top it all off the food and wine was certainly something to recommend. We will certainly return to this restaurant as service like this place offers, is far and few between.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Good food, good service and great location
What more could you want!
Stumbled on it on the way back from the Jenolan Caves and it was well worth eating here and not down by the caves
Lunch is served until 3.30 which is useful

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Become
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very disappointing food and over priced .... Arrived at opening time 12 noon - first customers - 45 minutes later finally got our meals. Salmon was raw inside, politely asked waitress to re cook the piece, she stated we had asked for rare.... 'yes but not RAW'. Potatoes were not slow roasted. They were par-boiled and fried in a pan..... Not going back there. Looks nice but would try somewhere else first.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona R, Owner at Ambermere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Kath,
I thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us which was most unfortunate. This particular dish is one of our most popular dishes at our cafe and was cooked to "Rare" as requested. As you were unhappy with your dish we did provide you with a discount as we take great pride in providing not only lovely food & good service but an overall dining experience of which we have built a good reputation on.... Our lunch prices start from $12 - $25 which I think is fair to say - reasonably priced.
Once again I thank you for your feedback and have taken your comments on board

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambermere Restaurant also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Mount Victoria, New South Wales
 
Kurrajong Heights, Hawkesbury Valley
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Ambermere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing