We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Australian Experiance”
Review of Comet Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Comet Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hartley B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Real Australian Experiance”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you're from overseas and you want a real australian experiance you have to stay here. It's a lovely quiet valley surround by national park. You'll see kangaroos grazing at dusk among other animals not to mention the resident kangaroo, Boomer who likes to play, (maybe not for the littlies), he's a real character just like the owners of the Comet Inn, Kathy and Greg. Kathy made us feel like family when we stayed overnight last weekend. She's such a warm friendly lady, I can't imagine anyone not warming to her. There were 4 of us she looked after and we didn't want for anything. We were the only guests that night but that's not unusual because they are semi retired and the hotel is really for guests only. They keep it that way for a more personal touch and to keep a nicer clientele. It's so fascinating walking around a place that's got so much history. There are fires burning everywhere so you won't get cold and it's really cosy. There is a story behind every articfact and Kathy is more than happy to tell you about it, and there are loads of them. We had the best night there, we're all still raving about it. It's not advertised that much because I only found out about it through trip advisor and I'm an aussie and only live an hour away. So it's not at all touristy and if anyone from overseas is coming to visit, I'll be bringing them here, to see the kangaroos, the cockatoos, and all the other critters, the beautiful scenery and the nostalgic history of hartley that's at the bottom of the very famous blue mountains. The best thing though I must tell you is THE FOOD!!!!!, OMG you must get the 'butterscotch pudding', best thing I've ever tasted. Everything was made so fresh, the pumpkin soup was to die as were all the meals we ordered, "manufique".I don't know what MrsDaisyP is on about, she must be hard to please because Kathy is an amazing cook. Anyway I've ranted enough, Just do yourself a favour and go, go, go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniemisssunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Three fabulour nights submersing ourselves in a totally unique experience of Aussie heritage, charm, quirkiness, discovery, fun and amazing hospitality from Kathy and Greg. A true country guest house experience with genuine caring hosts. Add in feeding Peter the Kangaroo, Boomer the inquisative kangaroo, the friendly dogs, friendly locals, stunning escarpment - made this the perfect base for a relaxed exploration of the natural attactions of this district. We included visits to the Wolgan Valley, Newnes, Dunns Swamp (25 km west of Rylestone in Wollomi National Park) - highlight of our trip. Hired a 4WD for 2 days to get up the more rugged trails.
Hearty country guest house meals. We had great dinners and huge full cooked breakfasts, plus a lunch pack to our order for each day's excursions. Most enjoyable hospitality with real character that we have experience for a long time. A real gem and labour of love.
4 double rooms with period furniture. 2 bathrooms, dinning room, sitting room, library, amazing bar. Living museum restored and collections by Greg & Kathy over 16 years.
We had the advantage of a mid week stay from Tues to Thurs nights which meant we had the whole place and the hosts to ourselves... Just wonderful way to celebrate my partner's 50th birthday week.

Room Tip: Go mid week and have the place as your own private retreat. Weekends often booked out Fri to Sunday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citfancier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stopped for lunch at The Comet inn at Hartley Vale. It is a lovely building and obviously very historic. The bits of memorabilia are lovely to look at. Although the hosts were very friendly, being served only when she could be bothered to stop talking to her other guests made us feel as though we were intruding. The biggest let down however is the food. The prices for lunch were at the high end of what is acceptable at most restaurants, and the food was unappetising all round. In fact we were burping it up for hours afterwards which just kept us thinking about how awful it was. Next time will head to Lithgow for Macca's rather than pay through the nose for canned corn in a stew which was served up as 'pie'.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsDaisyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at the comet Greg and Cathy always provide a home away from home country experience. We enjoyed walking around the grounds looking at railway memorabilia and the spa before drinks in the bar later.some people may find the hotel old fashioned but that is the character of comet inn . Thanks again for a great weekend Cathy and Greg

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Kathy & Greg are the most welcoming, accommodating hosts. Comet Inn is a beautiful old lady, and has been restored with lots of love. Kathy & Greg's love of antiques can be seen throughout the Inn. The gourmet 5 star cooking is a real treat and not to be missed. A walk around the grounds introduces you to dogs, a joey kangaroo, birds, ducks and horses as well as a wonderful display of plants. One of our couple had to leave very early on the Sunday morning and Kathy got up at 4.30am to make sure they had a cooked breakfast before leaving. How can you match that for generosity and caring!!!! Thankyou Kathy & Greg for a wonderful weekend, never to be forgotten xxx Lee & Tony

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeho2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Comet Inn in Hartley Vale, in the Blue Mountains. Kathy and Greg are wonderful hosts and, now, friends. The Comet Inn is not only a B&B, but also a museum displaying collections of things that interest one or both of them. Since they are interesting and fun people, many things are on display to peak your curiosity.

They also collect animals in need of a home and tourists in need of food, housing and kindness. Their kindness and personal generosity was unmatched and will both touch you and stay with you when you arrive home from Australia. I felt at home and taken care of at the same time. As a bonus, Kathy is an excellent cook, some of the best food we had in Australia.

The scenery is breathtaking. Be sure to get up very early one morning and take a quiet walk past the kangaroos and the incredible birds that inhabit Hartley Vale. Thank you Kathy and Greg.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We stayed at the comet for only one night as we were passing through to the interior of NSW. The hosts were great, Typical Aussie humor and hospitality. The food was superb, and they even "burnt" our bacon. (Americans should watch australias habit of serving limp bacon) these folks know what the average american breakfast should be. The scenery around the place is breathtaking. We stayed there because we were making our way to Mildura in the center of victoria/NSW on the murray river. the drive is long, and we wanted to get out of Sydney as fast as possible, particularly since we were driving on the wrong side of the road. The Comet is a great place to relax after the long flight from the US. We slept like logs, but we had 2 rooms, as the beds are double, not king size, and Sleep was a priority.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geboyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comet Inn

Property: Comet Inn
Address: Hartley Vale Road, Hartley, New South Wales 2790, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Hartley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hartley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing