We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the coffee but not the service”

Old Hartley Post Office Cafe
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Hartley
Price range: $7 - $17
Description: We are a small family run cafe providing good home style cooking at a reasonable price.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small family run cafe providing good home style cooking at a reasonable price.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

Good coffee but service a bit surly. Great eggs!
Cold inside as café had just opened and not warmed up yet so we sat outside where my tea went cold pretty fast. Now this is not "the cafe's problem" but most places would understand and supply without question a pot of hot water to heat up the pot but while we got there in the end, it proved to be a difficulty, unbelievably.
The surrounding historic village, dating from the 1830's is very interesting.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ros D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 36 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2018

Driving down the Great Western Highway and pulled in. It was a beautiful Autumn day and we sat in the garden out the front for lunch -The food is as authentic as you can get. The service was great and the prices very reasonable. It's located in a cool little historic village and it's worthwhile having a poke about. The old courthouse across the street is worth a visit as well

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MartinConboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2018 via mobile

Had a perfect coffee/tea spot in this idyllic historic cafe. Enjoy a lovely sunny spot on the verandah in view of historic court house, autumm leaves and rocky cliff face in the distance. We'll be back. Don't miss it.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Rosemary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

We stopped for coffee and a late light breakfast. Coffee was great and the food was good. Gocd place to stop and break your journey and stretch your legs. All lot of interesting things to see in Hartley

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2018 via mobile

Stopped in on a bike ride over the Blue Mountains as I have always driven past. I should have kept riding. Ordered a latte which came out as a watery skim latte. Bla.. give me real milk. Also an iced chocolate that came out as a watery cream filled ice coffee. Any other people's orders were all over the place. Nice scenery but find somewhere else! !!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Glenn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Hartley Post Office Cafe also viewed

Lithgow, Blue Mountains
Lithgow, Blue Mountains
 
Hartley, Blue Mountains
Hartley, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Old Hartley Post Office Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing