We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK option set in a lovely village”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burrawang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burrawang Village Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Burrawang B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I stayed here two nights over the long weekend. It was cold and rainy but the room were not adequately heated.

My room didn't have a window to the outside, it looked out into a sitting room. I therefore find the photos on the website misleading.

The shared bathrooms were ok but didn't have a bath mat and didn't get cleaned each day. The heated floors were however a bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soretoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Burrawang Village Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 83 of 83 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2011

My husband and i visited this quaint hotel in June 2011 on a day trip around the Southern Highlands. What a treat this place is. Loads of charm, beautiful outlook from the beergarden of rolling green hills, great service, lovely food. Highly recommend this. You can stay overnight but we only stopped for a drink and lunch. Tip: Get there early or book ahead or you won't get a table. We got there at 11.30am and sat at the bar to eat, which was fine, but when we go again I will be booking a table.... Forget showing up at 1pm without a booking, you won't get in.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chopsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We are regular travellers to the Southern Highlands, and familiar with the rates charged in a wide variety of accommodation styles. We are also very experienced travellers and like to think we don't have unreasonable expectations.

There's only one other review on the Burrawang Village Hotel on TripAdvisor, and there's also an old forum topic. Both places suggest there are problems with the rooms and the hospitality. We probably should have taken that as a sign but we were looking for just a single night of accommodation over Easter, as we had family commitments in Sydney also. After many hours of internet searching and email enquiries we were surprised to find that the Burrawang Village Hotel had a number of vacancies only a week or so before Easter. So we decided to take a chance.

There are two types of accommodation available - deluxe spa suites which are located in a separate building, or hotel rooms in the main pub building. We decided to splurge, based on the pictures on the website - and paid $290 for one night which included a 'light breakfast'.

The location is fabulous. Burrawang is a picturesque little village with lovely cottages, lots of beautiful trees and the most amazing views over the Southern Highlands. Easter Saturday the village closes its main street to host markets - these are very high quality markets and it's a great atmosphere (we've been a couple of times over the years).

The Burrawang Village Hotel makes the most of its location with a fantastic outdoor area. Down the hill a bit is a fairly new, purpose-built 'barn' which has three deluxe spa rooms as well as the owners' private accommodation. These luxury spa rooms are beautifully decorated in a contemporary french country style. The views are amazing. The bed was very comfortable. There is a Japanese-style spa (ie. only one person can be accommodated at a time) separate from the bathroom. Towels, toiletries and bed linen were very good quality.

Now for the minuses. There was an iPod docking station/radio available - unfortunately the docking part is faulty and our iPod kept cutting out. The under-floor (polished concrete) heating was lovely but as the other reviewer has noted, guests have no control over this. The temperature was too warm for us, particularly overnight. We had to keep the large window at the front wide open, which ended up being fine but had there been any noise from outside it would have been problematic. We noted in the guest book at the venue that one visitor had complained the owners' dogs had barked all night and kept them awake. We were hoping not to suffer the same fate! It's also not very environmentally friendly to waste all that energy.

Inside a large ornate armoire behind the bed is a small wine fridge that cut in and out all night long, waking us up constantly. We only realised it must have been the wine fridge the following morning or we would have disconnected it. In my half-asleep state I assumed it must be the hot water system or something. Also inside the armoire was a kettle, tea bags, a small jar of instant coffee and a small quantity of UHT tea milk portions. INSTANT COFFEE? In a 'luxury' room that costs $290 a night? Luckily we had brought our own cafetiere and real coffee. No biscuits. No little chocolates. Our experience is that even in the most basic places you at least get a little packet of two biscuits to have with a cuppa when you arrive.

Because the markets were being held the next morning, the owner advised us that we should park our car in the next street either that night or before 7am the next morning - otherwise, due to the street closure, we would be stuck in Burrawang until late afternoon. We were happy to leave our car in the next street that night - however there is no lighting down the driveway to where the luxury suites are (down a hill). It was an overcast night, threatening drizzle, so there was no moonlight. As you get close to the barn building an auto-sensor bright floodlight switches on, blinding you and thus making the final part of the walk down to our accommodation even more dangerous.

The next morning we walked up to the dining room (a great, cavernous room with a welcoming fire) for our 'light breakfast'. Remember we were paying $290 a night. Breakfast was truly miserly. Two choices of cereal, each table set with one single-serve bottle of orange juice and one of apple juice. The bread was supermarket sliced bread with three small dishes offering a choice of vegemite, commercial jam and commercial marmalade. No fruit, no yoghurt, no pastries or croissants. Despite being in a huge room with lots of large tables, the bread and spreads were on a tiny bureau with no space for you to put down your plate while you served yourself. Worst of all, once again we were offered instant coffee, despite there being in plain view three different kinds of 'real' coffee makers - an espresso machine, a cafetiere (plunger) and a drip filter machine.

The owner made an appearance and after a brief conversation about where we had dined the night before and where we had parked our car, I said 'I hope you're not going to tell me that we're only being offered instant coffee?'. His response was 'Instant coffee is all I've got set out at the moment'. He then proceeded to stride from the room, feigning intense interest in his mobile phone. I called after him, saying '$290 a night and we get instant coffee?!'. I was ignored but for a scoffing laugh as he left the room.

Seriously, in all our travels, in the humblest B&Bs in the UK, remote south island NZ, far-flung corners of Scandinavia and all over Australia we have never been offered instant coffee with breakfast - at least not in the past 10 years. And certainly not in an establishment charging $290 a night and claiming to be 'luxury' accommodation.

The Southern Highlands has a huge quantity of artisan bakers, berry growers and jam makers and so on. For this 'luxury' accommodation not to take advantage of promoting the local area's produce seems criminal. The worst part, however, was the owner's complete disrespect for his guests.

This experience at breakfast - the owner's miserly refusal to offer decent coffee at a cost of perhaps a couple of dollars per person - means instead of overlooking the couple of issues with our room and giving a positive review, we are instead giving an overall rating of Poor. Service? Zero. Value? Extremely overpriced.

Go somewhere else - where the owners actually enjoy their jobs and want you to have a pleasant stay. The odd quibble with furniture or accommodation is acceptable. Complete disrespect for guests and meanness in something as basic as a 'light breakfast' is not. No wonder they had vacancies on what other local business people told us was the busiest weekend for a long time - busier than Christmas.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mareepsasja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We had an overnight stay on a Saturday night in a Spa Suite.

Received a warm welcome from all staff. When we first entered the suite, we noticed how warm it was. This was from the in-floor heating - which we later found we had no control over - leaving the room too hot for our comfort - requiring us to open the windows.

When you run the Japanese spa, this adds to the room temperature - there is no extractor fan above the spa. Also, the spa fits one person at a time - this was not apparent when viewing on the website prior to booking.

The adjacent bathroom is nicely appointed.

The fridge was a small wine fridge - holds about 6 bottles, it wasn't designed to accommodate the cheese and drinks we had brought with us.

We chose to have dinner at Burrawang General Store (more of a cafe/restaurant than a "general store") - just a short stroll away.

The pub itself is great - and the staff were very hospitable.

The light breakfast provided in the hotel's dining room consisted of toast and cereal options, juice and tea/coffee.

The room was very quiet in the morning, in a beautiful setting, with an occasional low from local cows. It would have been great if the room shutters blocked out the morning light.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ozzieflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burrawang
8.4 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
5.3 mi away
The Robertson Hotel
The Robertson Hotel
#1 of 1 in Robertson
176 reviews
9.9 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
10.7 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
6.7 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burrawang Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burrawang Village Hotel

Address: 14 - 16 Hoddle St, Burrawang, New South Wales 2577, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Burrawang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Burrawang
Price Range: $2 - $4 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing