We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up close with the animals and well worth the visit.”

Featherdale Wildlife Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.96*
and up
Featherdale Wildlife Park General Entry Ticket
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Blacktown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Featherdale Wildlife Park is Sydney's ultimate hands-on wildlife experience! We're located just 45 minutes drive from Sydney and en-route to the world famous Blue Mountains. With over 1,700 mammals, birds and reptiles, our comprehensive collection of Australian species awaits your visit. You can meet a Koala, feed the Kangaroos and Wallabies, admire the size of our enormous Saltwater Crocodile "Ngukkur" and loads more! There's a Kitchen and Cafe on site with an abundance of great food and beverage choices for the whole family, and a HUGE retail store for you to find the ultimate keepsake from your trip to Featherdale! We also offer FREE WIFI to visitors throughout the main facilities in the park. There is FREE onsite vehicle parking and we're easily accessible by public transportation. Simply catch a train to Blacktown and board Bus #729 to Featherdale.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I loved this little Wildlife Park. You could mingle with the Wallaby and Kangaroo, meet the Koala, roam with the Peacock, be amused by the wonderful little character: Tasmanian Devil (not a devil at all... so clever with its food) and become acquainted with the most amazing variety of birds and reptiles.... there's even a little farmyard area. A long way out of the City but well worth the visit.

Thank Dragonram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie A, Manager at Featherdale Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for visiting Featherdale and for sharing your experience. Its great to see you enjoyed your time meeting all of the animals and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"blue mountains"
in 185 reviews
"australian animals"
in 163 reviews
"feed kangaroos"
in 43 reviews
"tasmanian devils"
in 71 reviews
"hand feed"
in 18 reviews
"overseas visitors"
in 39 reviews
"take pictures"
in 38 reviews
"souvenir shop"
in 26 reviews
"animal lovers"
in 22 reviews
"free roaming"
in 19 reviews
"scones"
in 31 reviews
"feeding times"
in 20 reviews
"sydney zoo"
in 18 reviews
"public transport"
in 24 reviews
"train and bus"
in 25 reviews
"entry fee"
in 18 reviews
"ice cream cones"
in 29 reviews
Filter

1,429 - 1,433 of 2,100 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

We called in here for an hour whilst on our trip to the Blue Mountains. I personally was not bothered about visiting because I do not like to see animals in confined spaces etc. HOW WRONG WAS I ?
This has to be the best place I have seen animals "up close and personal". The premises were clean and well maintained, with plenty of staff around. The animals all looked in great condition, not stressed out and some happy to interact with the crowds. I shall not bore you with naming a load of animals and birds etc, ( have a look on their web-sight). But all Australia's species are represented here, even the large salt water croc, which leaps high for a piece of chicken. The small birds are stunningly coloured and worth spending time with.
This park will delight both children and adults alike, we could have spent much longer here quite easily.
The park really is a "must place to visit" and is only a very short drive from the centre of Sydney.
YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!

Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie A, Manager at Featherdale Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi stephen j,

Thank you for spending time at Featherdale during your tour to the Blue Mountains. The Park is a great midway stop from Sydney and you'll certainly get the opportunity to meet a variety of iconic Aussies. Its great to see you were able to fit in the Croc feed and hope you get to spend a longer visit with us next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I really enjoyed Featherdale and getting to be so close to the animals was awesome !! We spent about an hour here as part of a Blue Mountain tour. I could have spent more time there watching and interacting with the wildlife. The Koala's and Kangaroo's were my favorite. The staff really ensures the visitors have a chance to touch the animals/birds/snakes. I love Taronga Zoo but I think Featherdale is a must.

Thank suzysuzzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie A, Manager at Featherdale Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi suzysuzzer,

Thanks for sharing your experience at Featherdale. Its great to see you enjoyed getting up close to and meeting all of our Aussie Wildlife. We hope to welcome you back for a longer visit next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stopped here as part of our day trip to the Blue mountains. The park has wallabies freely roaming around they are really friendly and you can hand feed them if you purchase the special food for them which was really nice they are so gentle. I am always worried about visiting such attractions but all the animals here looked happy and very well cared for.

You could have your picture taken with a Koala but not holding it as I understand that the attractions that you can hold them they squeeze the koalas tummies to make them wee before you hold them so they don't wee on you, so this is the better way to get close and have your photo taken with these docile beautiful animals without causing them any distress.

A lovely visit and worth seeing all the different native Australian animals in a lovely setting.

Thank elaine&ivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie A, Manager at Featherdale Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi elaine&ivan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Featherdale. It's great to see that you enjoyed getting up close to our Aussie Wildlife. Our keepers are passionate animal lovers and the animals welfare and happiness is certainly their top priority. Whilst we don't allow visitors to hold the Koalas in NSW, they will happily sit on perches and chew gum leaves whilst visitors meet and interact with them. This allows a once in a lifetime opportunity for visitors to meet these iconic species whilst not placing undue stress on the animals.

Once again, thank you for visiting our beautiful animals at Featherdale and we hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014

What a great way to spend the day outside of Sydney. We were up close and feeding the kangaroos. Saw a joey in its Mom's pouch. The birds were quite funny and actually saw a peacock in full bloom!!
there is a huge croc that for a few minutes thought was a statute until I noticed an ever so slight 'blink' of the eye. A little unnerving since the pen gate was about 3 feet high. This is a huge croc!!!
I walked the whole park twice and took so many photos of animals and birds I never saw before I also had to take a shot of the name to remember.
The park is a short trip from Sydney and easy to do in a day. If you have the time it is a must do.

Thank Michele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie A, Manager at Featherdale Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi Michele O,

It's great to see you enjoyed visiting with all the animals at Featherdale. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. So many visitors think that Ngukurr, our 4.5 metre Saltwater Crocodile is a statue when they first see him. It isn't until he blinks that they realise that they are standing right up close to one of the World's oldest living predators! You should see him catch his breakfast....he can certainly move very quickly when he wants to.

Once again, thank you for visiting Featherdale and we hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Featherdale Wildlife Park also viewed

Mosman, Greater Sydney
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Featherdale Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing