We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine, great service”

Nightingales Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Broke
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Strathroy, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great wine, great service”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The meal was phenomenal. Top 5 dining experiences we've ever had. The service was great. My mother only drinks Canadian Club and they managed to find her some. Look forward to returning for our anniversary.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jay185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nightingale to remember”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I went to the restaurant with seven other friends it was a night to remember.

I had poached pear wrapped in pochinto and placed on pear salad and sweet balsamic dressing. This was my entree and I enjoyed every bit of as it tantalized my taste buds.

I also had a entree as my main which was crispy pork belly with crackling it was to die for.

All my other friends enjoyed their meals too.

It was highly recommended by the locals and I would sing the songs of the
nightigals.

Helpful?
1 Thank Laufoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Nightingales is the holy grail”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

After some wine tasting at Nightingales (which, mind you, was good wine), we asked to book eight of us in for dinner. The gentleman who served us said there was a function on, but if we wanted to we could sit in the outside (fully covered) area. We did not make a decision there and then. We went to another winery, where we met another friendly man. He recommended Nightingales to us through local knowledge and experience there.
We promptly booked in and our booking was welcomed.
The eight of us arrived at 6pm for dinner, we were warmly greeted and promptly served. The service was impeccable with both a deep understanding of both the wine and the food.
As there was a function on at the same time, it is only fair we compliment both the quality and timing of the food. Actually, there was no out of the usual long wait, everything from drinks to food was served promptly.
The quality of the food was great and with the high quality service we all enjoyed ourselves, our meals and out experience at Nightingales. We highly recommend you both taste wines and most definitely have dinner at Nightingales.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Des M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock
1 review
“Yasas”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We walked in for dinner without prior reservations as we were sight seeing in the area. The quality of food and service were excellent. Compared to all of the other venues we had dined in the Hunter Valley this was the best. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was one of the best restaurant meals we have ever had. Hope to go back there again

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yasas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very satisfied customers”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We are returning visitors to this restaurant and this time we had friends from the UK with us. Our selection off the blackboard was beef and reef which was superb. The beef was very tender and cooked to perfection and they did not skimp on the prawns.
Our guests were very impressed with the meal and the service and we will definitely return soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margann49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nightingales Restaurant also viewed

Broke, New South Wales
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Nightingales Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing