We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Starline Alpacas Farmstay Resort
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really special”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I must say, a farmstay is not something I'd normally go out of my way for, but I'm converted. We stayed in a stockyard suite and inside it was so clean and modern, with a lot of thought having gone into little details. It was split level with a big king bed that we could lie in to look at the huge TV or out to the alpacas. At one stage I could see more than 30 alpacas quite close up as I sat and ate at the dining table. Kitchen was well equipped and the giant shower in the modern bathroom was fantastic. Stepping outside the room and the squealing pigs and very friendly and excited goats really kept us amused.
As a couple, we went for a concert and wine, but enjoyed so much more! We didn't have time to make use of the pool and spa, but will save that for next time when we hope to stay longer.

Room Tip: If you're a city type couple, go for a stockyard suite. I think rooms 1 and 3 have extra light a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wetter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwoodclan, Manager at Starline Alpacas Farmstay Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thanks for your review - we are so happy you enjoyed your stay! We love the stockyard suites too! They are surprisingly modern inside and have great interaction with the animals. Hope to see you again! Kelly & Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    22
    6
    8
    2
See reviews for
43
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Stephens, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Perfect location for a relaxing getaway. Our cottage was clean, modern, well equipped with comfortable beds. Interaction with animals was great. Being able to collect fresh eggs for breakfast was a real treat. Facilities are numerous, pool, tennis, spa, sauna & bbq areas. All the staff were very friendly including Amy the cleaner who was willing to stop & chat.

The new managers, Jeff & Kelly along with there sons were extremely friendly and welcoming. Even though they were busy making many changes to the property, they were always willing to stop & chat & made us feel like part of the family. In fact we were only meant to stay 5 nights but extended it to 8 nights because we were having such a great time.

Will definately be a place we will return to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwoodclan, Manager at Starline Alpacas Farmstay Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thanks Gloria for your review! We loved that you stayed longer and brought your family along. I think the goats loved you too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Let me start by saying Geoff & Kelly were amazing, they were so kind & friendly & on hand if we needed them anytime. We stayed in the 'Lucy Cottage' & it was great, full of that country charm with something extra special with in the house. The cottage was set back from the more modern cottages on the water but that was good as it allowed us to walk down & visit all the animals on our way to the pool or the tennis court. Never in my life did I ever think I would hand feed Alpacas or sit on the balcony & share some carrots & celery with the most friendliest goats around. The pool area was really nice I only wished we were their longer so we could take full advantage of the BBQ area.
I cant wait to return but with the whole family so they too can experience this wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YVONNE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwoodclan, Manager at Starline Alpacas Farmstay Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thanks Yvonne. So happy you enjoyed your stay !Its perfect for couples who want to chill out and for families wanting to get away form the city. We look forward for your return! Kelly & Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have just returned to Sydney after a long weekend stay at the Starline resort. We have 2 young children and looked at a number of options before deciding to stay with the Alpacas in Broke.
It may have been more luck than judgement, but we feel we landed at the perfect farmstay! The Farm is under new management Geoff and Kelly who were absolutely wonderful hosts.
We stayed in a waterview cottage which was beautiful, modern, spotless and very well catered for a young family. Beautiful deck, swing chairs, BBQ and wildlife everywhere you turn.
In addition the swimming pool, tennis courts and Jacuzzi were an absolute added bonus which the kids loved.
In 2 days we fed the Alpacas, goats, chickens, ducks and pigs. It really was a holiday filled with activities from the minute we arrived until the very minute we left.
All this and only 20 minutes away from the heart of the Hunter.
Without a doubt we will return to Starline at the first opportunity. If you are considerering a stay, book and enjoy all that this wonderful farm has to offer...

Room Tip: Water cottages were lovely and also safe for kids. Cottage D was the last in a row so extra privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil-Marnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our two nights with the alpacas was really enjoyable. This was a great option for a young family in the Hunter Valley. The alpacas and warm swimming pool provided long hours of entertainment for our 5 year old daughter. It is well located near lovely restaurants and attractions. Sasha's cottage was spacious, clean and well air conditioned. The amenities provided were more than enough for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathroy, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in a private 2 bedroom cabin. We really enjoyed the place. It is on the quiet side, but that was what we were after. The pool area was nice with a tennis court. The animals were really cute and added to the experience. The owner even offered to drive into town to get me some panadol. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked in here for a week late August, my wife & I staying in a family cottage.
The cottage itself was wonderful - it had pretty much everything we needed, very comfortable bed, well appointed kitchen, comfortable lounge and a large verandah - perfect for relaxing evenings with a bottle of local wine watching the Alpacas, bunnies and bird life, and listening to the frogs!
It being off-peak we virtually had the resort to ourselves making it incredibly peaceful, so for these city folk the quiet, clean air and clear skies (the stars, my god the stars!) were perfect for relaxing and recharging.
There are plenty of vineyards in the area if that's your thing and Singleton, Pokolbin, Wollombi, Cessnock etc are all within comfortable (and picturesque) driving distance. Otherwise just relax, explore the farm, make friends with the Alpacas, wander into Broke....

We loved it so much we booked another stay as we checked out!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweatyorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broke
11.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
839 reviews
13.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
15.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
704 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nightingale Wines Luxury Villas
10.4 mi away
Estate Tuscany
Estate Tuscany
#6 of 15 in Pokolbin
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starline Alpacas Farmstay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starline Alpacas Farmstay Resort

Property: Starline Alpacas Farmstay Resort
Address: 1100 Milbrodale Rd, Broke, New South Wales 2330, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Broke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Broke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starline Alpacas Farmstay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starline Alpacas Farmstay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starline Alpacas Farmstay Resort Greater Newcastle/Broke, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing