We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Starline Alpacas Farmstay Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hunter Valley Resort(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$113
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort(Pokolbin)
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$169
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$201
$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estate Tuscany(Pokolbin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Guest House(Pokolbin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveler rating
69
29
7
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
29
7
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater viewalpaca farmtwo nightsyoung childrenair conditioningcollecting eggsbedroom cottagedown the roadminute driveawesome placeperfect familynice areacheck in was easygroupon voucherfun feedingstayed longerbaby alpaca
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 118 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have just returned to Sydney after a long weekend stay at the Starline resort. We have 2 young children and looked at a number of options before deciding to stay with the Alpacas in Broke.
It may have been more luck than judgement, but we feel we landed at the perfect farmstay! The Farm is under new management Geoff and Kelly who were absolutely wonderful hosts.
We stayed in a waterview cottage which was beautiful, modern, spotless and very well catered for a young family. Beautiful deck, swing chairs, BBQ and wildlife everywhere you turn.
In addition the swimming pool, tennis courts and Jacuzzi were an absolute added bonus which the kids loved.
In 2 days we fed the Alpacas, goats, chickens, ducks and pigs. It really was a holiday filled with activities from the minute we arrived until the very minute we left.
All this and only 20 minutes away from the heart of the Hunter.
Without a doubt we will return to Starline at the first opportunity. If you are considerering a stay, book and enjoy all that this wonderful farm has to offer...

Room Tip: Water cottages were lovely and also safe for kids. Cottage D was the last in a row so extra privacy and quiet if that's possible.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil-Marnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our two nights with the alpacas was really enjoyable. This was a great option for a young family in the Hunter Valley. The alpacas and warm swimming pool provided long hours of entertainment for our 5 year old daughter. It is well located near lovely restaurants and attractions. Sasha's cottage was spacious, clean and well air conditioned. The amenities provided were more than enough for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in a private 2 bedroom cabin. We really enjoyed the place. It is on the quiet side, but that was what we were after. The pool area was nice with a tennis court. The animals were really cute and added to the experience. The owner even offered to drive into town to get me some panadol. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked in here for a week late August, my wife & I staying in a family cottage.
The cottage itself was wonderful - it had pretty much everything we needed, very comfortable bed, well appointed kitchen, comfortable lounge and a large verandah - perfect for relaxing evenings with a bottle of local wine watching the Alpacas, bunnies and bird life, and listening to the frogs!
It being off-peak we virtually had the resort to ourselves making it incredibly peaceful, so for these city folk the quiet, clean air and clear skies (the stars, my god the stars!) were perfect for relaxing and recharging.
There are plenty of vineyards in the area if that's your thing and Singleton, Pokolbin, Wollombi, Cessnock etc are all within comfortable (and picturesque) driving distance. Otherwise just relax, explore the farm, make friends with the Alpacas, wander into Broke....

We loved it so much we booked another stay as we checked out!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweatyorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our visit was ok but not what expected. The family cottage was very clean, tidy and comfy. However the staff were not very friendly or helpful - they may have been exhausted after school holidays I guess. Also there is lots of opportunity to improve the alpaca experience - no information or tours to learn about these lovely animals. Recommend spending a bit more and getting one of the newer units on the same property if looking for a special experience away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaDR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews